Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars incredible hulk season 5 dvd review
I was delighted with the 5th season dvd box set of the incredible hulk.i was always a fan of the tv show and now I have all 5 seasons to watch whenever I like.very please indeed.
Published 4 months ago by ian kelly

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the incredible disappointment
Having bought the other 4 series this was an inevitable purchase. What a con! Seven episodes!! When I opened it, I thought it was missing some discs. What happened? I watched this show as a kid and read once that it commanded an audience of 13million at its peak in the UK. The episodes themselves are of typical standard but I cant help thinking the studio pulled the plug...
Published on 12 Oct 2008 by Mr. R. A. Fenton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the incredible disappointment, 12 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. R. A. Fenton "richie rich" (Devon U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Fifth Season [DVD] (DVD)
Having bought the other 4 series this was an inevitable purchase. What a con! Seven episodes!! When I opened it, I thought it was missing some discs. What happened? I watched this show as a kid and read once that it commanded an audience of 13million at its peak in the UK. The episodes themselves are of typical standard but I cant help thinking the studio pulled the plug during production. After 82 episodes the formula was looking repetetive and tired. I think the hulk himself deserved more screen time at least. There's certainly no indication of an increase in the budget year on year. This final series didn't even offer a two parter. Having to pay the same ammount for a third of the action is a bit of a liberty. Still, if like me you're a hulk nut, you have to own it I suppose. In hind sight, I'd wait for a price drop!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Hulk-Season 5, 17 Oct 2008
By 
David Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Fifth Season [DVD] (DVD)
Much as I love The Incredible Hulk as as a series, I think the producers of this DVD should be utterly ASHAMED at the absurd pricing for just a mere seven episodes. If it had contained some extras and perhaps the three tv movies, it would be justified, but as it doesn't, paying nearly 30 for this DVD is totally and utterly OUTRAGEOUS and a complete rip-off!!!! As previous mentioned in the other review, it may well be worth waiting until the DVD comes down to a reasonable price more suited to it's content. As Al Murray would say, DVD producers, SHAME ON YOU!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic series but disappointing final boxset, 4 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Fifth Season [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series and so bought this to complete my hulk collection, but agree with the other reviewers it is definitely not worth the price. I also agree that they should have put some extras on. I was hoping they would have put the three tv movies with this so I wouldn't have to buy them separately. What's even more cheeky is that this doesn't even give you a brief description of each episode like the previous seasons. They really should have put season 5 together with season 4 because combined that is only 25 episodes. Also because there is only seven episodes, they have had to put the two discs in two larger cases to fill the outer box up. It's a shame because it doesn't quite look right next to the others.

Five stars for the entire series but one for this final season boxset at full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars incredible hulk season 5 dvd review, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Fifth Season [DVD] (DVD)
I was delighted with the 5th season dvd box set of the incredible hulk.i was always a fan of the tv show and now I have all 5 seasons to watch whenever I like.very please indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Green giant goes out in style!, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Fifth Season [DVD] (DVD)
This gets 5 stars because it's a timeless series 5 with lots of excitement and some good episodes, esp "Triangle", & "Veteran"

Delivered on time and packaged well.

Recommend to all Hulk (original) fans as will bring back memories, esp from the days it was on TV and not repeated that regularly anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Game over!, 18 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Fifth Season [DVD] (DVD)
The Incredible Hulks final season consists of only 7 episodes instead of the usual 18-22 etc. After the ratings for the 4th season continued to be impressive, CBS initially renewed The Hulk for a full season 5 to begin airing in the fall of 1981 but with 7 episodes shot and in the can the president of CBS decided to cancel the show after all citing the show had run it's course. Series creator Kenneth Johnson and star Bill Bixby both approached CBS to try to convince them to change their minds but this proved to be futile and CBS eventually ran the 7 episodes sporadically over a period of a year. Johnson and Bixby then approached CBS with the offer of a 2 hr TV movie which would have wrapped up the story with Banner finding a cure and going on trial, this was again turned down by CBS and so the conclusion never happened.

Then in 1983 Bixby tried to resurrect the show as a series of TV movies and approached Nicholas Hammond who starred in CBS other unfortunately short lived superhero show "Spiderman" to see if he would be interested in reprising the role of Peter Parker/Spiderman in the production. Hammond agreed but CBS said that Lou Ferignno was unavailable for the production so the project stalled. As a side note Ferignno commented years later that CBS never approached him about a Hulk revival ! Seems CBS were just coying with Bixby!

Of course Bixby did get the TV movies off the ground a few years later, this time for the NBC network and 3 TV movies were produced, all on very modest budgets.

I can see why CBS cancelled The Hulk, the show never really progressed and by the time the 5th season rolled on by the formula was looking a bit stale. Still if you like The Hulk in general then you'll love the last few eps of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent finale series to The Incredible Hulk, 29 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Fifth Season [DVD] (DVD)
After four successive seasons of The Incredible Hulk, it has sadly come to fifth and final season of the great television series. Yet again Bill Bixby plays the role of Dr David Banner, who is trying to find the cure of stopping him transform into the angry Hulk, played by Lou Ferrigno.

For only watching four episodes so far, I have to say that I enjoyed three episodes that were shown on disc 1, which included, The Phenom, Two Godmothers and Sanctuary. I didn't really the episode known as Veteran, which I wouldn't say was a ***** episode. Yet I have to watch the three episodes on disc 2, but I am enjoying seeing season five for the very first time.

Overall season five of The Incredible Hulk is looking good and cannot wait to see the rest, but overall a decent set of episodes to finish off the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pricing, 14 Jan 2010
By 
P. Hodgson "pah25" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Fifth Season [DVD] (DVD)
The pricing is the only thing wrong with this.

Universal at the time didn't want to do a series 5 so they just did some for series 4 & put them in series 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most human, feeling drama comes back for a final time., 18 Jan 2009
By 
Bj Lucas "saculnamron" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The 5th season of The Incredible Hulk may be the shortest,but it still packs a punch.I would particularly point to veterean as a marker for the season. Suspenseful, gritty and with a great guest star in Paul Koslo as disturbed Jack Hewitt.

The Phenom which is the season opener is often railed against but I think it is a decent episode with a decent supporting cast (Anne Lockhart in particular)about a struggling young baseball player who really connects with David.

another stand out is two Godmothers in which David is taken hostage by three female convicts who use him to escape.

All in all still very decent charming stuff with pathos and feeling pure joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Incredible Hulk: The Complete Fifth Season [DVD]
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews