Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
38
3.1 out of 5 stars
Size: Youth|Colour: Pink|Change
Price:£11.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2010
Great product.

I bought two of these for my daughters, who play hockey and once moulded they are fantastically comfortable.

Two things:

Don't be put off by the size of the shield when it arrives, the moulding process means that the shield expands and squashes quite a bit even to fit a very small jaw.

Don't bite too hard. My youngest, who is interminably enthusiastic crunched down on hers and went through at the back.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
this product is perfect for me and i am a 20 year old due to the fact that it is not too too big like most mouth guards and is quite comfortable, definitely recommended even for a adult, perfect after moudling
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
These gel mouthguards are much easier to mould into shape than the type with fins when you are dealing with a mixture of baby teeth, adult teeth and wobblers - recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Way too small for my 10 year old and she has a tiny mouth (I.e will need braces next year as her mouth won't fit all of her teeth in!!!). So a great product but their sizing is totally wrong so had to return it. Proper sizing would be useful!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
This is easy to mould and just the right size, i'm very happy with my purchase. Don't be put off by the small size when inside the packaging, it does stretch out to your child's mouth size during moulding, but the small size means it's easier to actually get it in their mouths compared to other brands.
I'm completely new to this, so had to do quite a bit of research in buying for my 7-yr old. From reading the amazon reviews i ended up initially buying another brand that also offered a youth size. However, i was concerned it would still be a bit too big for her mouth. After a visit to a local hockey shop and getting advice from people there, who actually looked at her face and jaw size, i opted for this because the profile is lower on the sides, which makes it so much easier to mould and much more comfortable to use for a young child.
We followed the directions and got it right the first time, even though her front teeth are in a state of complete disarray, with gaps and new ones coming out and what not. I was fully expecting to have to redo it a couple of times, but it wasn't necessary at all! The tip they gave us at the shop was to suck some cold water through a straw right after biting as this creates pressure from the tongue, which is needed to get the fit right.
Of course, kids come in all different shapes, so although the recommended age is 10-, this might be too small for some, all depends on the kid's mouth/jaw size. As much as I love shopping on amazon, this was one occasion where visiting a store really paid off even if the actual product was a bit more expensive there. My child reported enthusiastically after using that it was comfortable and stayed on, so it seems we did get it right on the first try!

Overall, easy to use product, good quality and truly made for young children.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
As always any shock doctor product is extremely good, moulds round the teeth perfectly and doesn't need boiling water to soften, have been using shock doctor mouth guards for 5 yrs and haven't found any better !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Size was far too small - it said 10 on it but it was far too small for my (very small) 10 year old.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Please be aware that the size advertised as youth would only be suitable for an average child under the age of 9, for anyone else buy the adult size. If you order this & have to return it then you have to suffer a £6 postage cost for the return.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Extremely disappointed with this. The product looks to be a good quality, but there is a problem with the size/age guide on Amazon. I ordered a Youth size for my 12 year old Son. When it arrived it was far too small and the packaging indicated 10- as the age range. This was not made clear in the advert, or the reviews that I read. I should have ordered either the "Junior", or the Adult size. Parents please be aware of this!! It will save you £13.00 in the long run. Bought an equal gum shield at a local sports shop which was cheaper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
This gumshield/mouthguard is perfect.

Procedure to apply it and gain a snug fit couldn't be any easier and the end result is spot on!

Worth all of the 5 stars.. highly recommended!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.