Customer Reviews


293 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, a Coldplay album, and not just singles with filler tracks
Coldplay have without doubt produced some of the most euphoric and uplifting songs, those which raise the hairs on your arm to those which bring a tear to your eyes. On listening to their first three albums, however, it soon becomes clear that if you take away the tracks which were released onto the global audience as singles, and study what is left, the material is...
Published on 7 April 2011 by CrazyStreak

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cold playgiarism
Look the album's not as good as some of their other stuff and the title and cover are as pretentious as Hilda Ogden at a Sushi bar, but hey no problem, they've done great things in the past and they've got a bit of credit in the bank, but that's not we want to talk about, what we want to talk about is, did Chris nick the tune of Joe Satriani's 'If I Could Fly'? You know,...
Published on 12 Oct 2008 by J. A. Harvey


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, a Coldplay album, and not just singles with filler tracks, 7 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends (Audio CD)
Coldplay have without doubt produced some of the most euphoric and uplifting songs, those which raise the hairs on your arm to those which bring a tear to your eyes. On listening to their first three albums, however, it soon becomes clear that if you take away the tracks which were released onto the global audience as singles, and study what is left, the material is distinctly average, and three or four great tracks don't make for a five star album.

On Viva La Vida, however, they have addressed this issue, not only do we have the uplifting crescendo singles we instantly recognise, but the tracks inbetween are also worthy of note and recognition. A mature album that takes one step forward from the others in its experimental ways, and is all the better for it. A crisp production really takes you into the heart of the Coldplay sound, unlike X&Y, where the sound production lost the euphoria that should have been felt when listening to 'Fix You' for example, and, as such, led to the albums detriment.

So, probably the first Coldplay album that you can tolerate from start to finish, without having to skip two tracks or more, (well one isn't that bad).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva Coldplay, 1 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a big Coldplay fan and basically got this because of the hit singles on it. But surprise, surprise the rest are good as well. Well done Coldplay - I will be sampling more of their work on the back of this. The only slight downside (slight enough not to loose a star) is the packaging. I would have preferred a sturdy plastic case but as for the songs themselves, fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total awsome forgot how good vinyl really is !!!, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Mark Hopkins "hoppy871" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everybody thinks digital is the way forward but you can not beat the tune playing through a needle in your very own eyes specially listening to this fantastic album like this Amazzzinggg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, 25 Mar 2010
By 
L. Roche (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends (Audio CD)
Coldplay have been a band that has perhaps become more distinctive as the years have passed, and their latest offering is perhaps the most original of their albums to date. These days, I rarely want to listen to an album very often, but this is an exception, and still remains enjoyable. Perhaps the most distinctive sound on the album, and a favourite of mine, is the tack piano prominent on "Lovers in Japan". Chris Martin says the band constructed this themselves because they liked the sound so much, and I can understand why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends, 9 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. J. A. Frayne "J Frayne" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends (Audio CD)
Plain and simple - I've never been a big Coldplay fan but this is honestly one of the best albums I have ever listened to and I have listened to thousands and thousands - most of which have been over-rated. This is a must buy for both the hardcore Coldplay fans and for anyone who respect and enjoy quality music.

Give respect where respect is due!

Jamie Frayne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good effort., 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends (Audio CD)
I listened to this on a long car journey and was impressed how good it was, so good in fact that i didn't change the cd going there or coming back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Listening Experience !!!!!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends (Audio CD)
an incredible listening experience the band and the band's singer contribute well to a wonderful piece of music, I don't own any of the other albums but may purchase them in future, but would definitely recommend you buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to Coldplay, 16 Sep 2010
By 
G. D. Busby "Cornish Graham" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends (Audio CD)
Although I've been aware of this band for some time, it was listening to Michael Caine on Desert Island Discs that alerted me to just how good they might be (he selected Viva La Vida). Received the disc yesterday and it sure is good - Brian Eno influence noticeable. I cannot recall the last time I purchased the work of contemporary bands and if this is the 'state of the art', it really means I must listen to more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Played this album more than any other, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends (Audio CD)
Highly recommend this album, every track is amazing. Covers every mood. Its been played over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 28 Dec 2008
By 
This Album is the best from coldplay
its amazing defintly worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends
Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends by Coldplay (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews