Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master class
Really love this album - love the beats - the sound - the energy and vibe given from the artist - must have for collection
Published 15 months ago by H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars overated!
most hip hop heads have high hopes for weezys carter 3 l.p. cause its been a while commin,but this is not the great rap classic it should have been.
Published on 8 Jun 2008 by G. M. Mascot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master class, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Audio CD)
Really love this album - love the beats - the sound - the energy and vibe given from the artist - must have for collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 17 April 2009
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Dlx) (Audio CD)
Wow i thort the normal version of this was HOT but this deluxe edition is extra special not only do you get Tha carter 3 in its best form ie taken out the weaker "playing with fire" and replaced it with the excellent track "pussy monster"the tittle speaks for itself,then you get the the extra disc with 5 earlier leaked tracks which are all great and could have easily been on the normal version "im me"lyrically is one of waynes best ever.So if your going to buy Tha carter 3 then take my words and pay a little more and get this version youll realise how special and great it really is.I bought around 15 albums last year and i have to say this was the best,also Nas's album and Game's album are super dope but this gets the crown great work mr weezy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Audio CD)
Classic Rapper. My brother recommended this album and I must say it's dench!.. If you like the greats, such as Biggy, 2pac and eminem.. you'll like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Audio CD)
What can I write? My daughter asked me to buy it, she was listening over and over again, so it could be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars overated!, 8 Jun 2008
By 
G. M. Mascot "mascot44" (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Audio CD)
most hip hop heads have high hopes for weezys carter 3 l.p. cause its been a while commin,but this is not the great rap classic it should have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a classic but close, 25 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Audio CD)
I can't say i'm a die hard hip hop fan but i found myself listening to this album quite a lot recently. My problem with hip hop albums is that they all seem to be very similar. What distinguishes rap albums these days is if the rapper has a unique voice or style which i feel Lil Wayne possesses. He's got heavy weight producers on this album and i don't feel he let anyone down. He's very witty in songs such as Lollipop and the Let The Beat Build. The track with Robin Thicke - "Tie my hands" is very insightful and shows a rare side of the rapper which is very welcoming. 'Misunderstood' samples the same title track by Nina Simone and he pours his heart out with the prejudice in the States. He attacks Rev Al Sharpton on this track and i can understand where he's coming from due to recent attempts in the U.S to 'cancel' the 'N' word from hip hop artistes. Tracks like Mrs officer and 'Dr Carter' displays his creativity and word play
and the babyface featured 'Comfortable' can be deemed as a cheeky response to Beyonce's irreplacable. Mr Carter with Jay Z is a very good track with Lil Wayne displaying his word play again and the on form Jay Z does not dissapoint either. Some tracks are your usual hip hop tracks with no real substance or meaning but in an album with eighteen tracks and no skits, it's to be expected. All in all, in these days of repititive albums by people like 50cent, this is a welcome addition to the hip hop genre. Not a classic, but a damn good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars truly terrible artist, 6 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Audio CD)
To anyone out there who is considering buying lil wayne material ... DONT! it is the most mind numbingly awful rap iv ever heard in my life, i dont even know where to start! if ur looking for real hip hop go and buy mobb deep "the infamous" or HELL ON EARTH" or CNN " THE WAR REPORT" these are are no cardboard gangstas on here and more importantly the music is excellent! people are being brainwashed into liking this horrible music...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring Back The Old Carters, 20 Oct 2008
By 
Ms. Alison J. Matthews "BowlHead" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Audio CD)
The Carter 3 is a good album , but is Waynes weakest by far.
If you havnt heard the old Carters then i suggest that you listen to them before claiming C3 is Waynes greatest album.
Dont get me wrong C3 is still a top album ( 5 Stars ) but i think it is highly overated.
Most Recognisable Tracks include Lil Waynes hit Lollipop Ft Static Major.
A Millie
And Got Money Ft T-Pain
Artist such as Juelz Santana, Fabolous, Bobby Valentino and Jay-Z also feature among others.
I recomend this album to anyone but suggest that listeners also listen to Waynes early work Eg. The Carters 1 & 2 , 500 Degreez.
Also Waynes Mixtapes Eg. The Droughts , Dedications , The Leaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of Lil Wayne's best work, 30 Sep 2010
By 
G. Pardesi (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Audio CD)
This is a sikkk album. Some of lil wayne at his best. Would recommend it. Nice job Weezyy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the hell is wrong with people?, 16 July 2008
By 
Giordano Bruno (Rome, February 17, 1600) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tha Carter III (Audio CD)
A powerful rich white man sits in his leather chair atop his huge music empire. Prising a Cuban cigar from his mouth, he smiles as he approaches the young black man who has just entered his office. The young black man awkwardly accepts the rich white man's offer of a handshake. The white man excitedly urges the young black man to sit down. His excitement increases upon the sight of the loose-fitting apparel and silver chain donned by the young black man.

"So how are you going to make us richer?" the powerful white man asks, aroused now as he notices a bullet scar on the left side of the young black man's neck.

"Well, I want my lyrics to inspire kids to stay clear of guns, drugs and violen..."

"Get out."

The next day, the same powerful, rich white man is smoking his cigar. Another young black man enters the building. Awkwardly dressed in a suit, the rich white man offers a less-than-enthusiastic handshake. The young black man seems uneasy with the gesture, but eventually unfolds his arms and reaches out his left hand. The rich white man surveys the black man, noting with dismay a lack of scars. He asks the same question as they both sit down.

"So how are you going to make us richer?"

The young black man thinks for awhile, before answering:

"Well, I want to rap about bitches and killing niggas and shi..."

"I'll have you on MTV this afternoon."

The sad fact is, record company execs do not want to distribute to the mainstream audience hip-hop that is thought-provoking and intelligent, free of violence, doused with hope. Those artists that do convey such a message are relegated to smaller labels or merely recieve limited exposure. The argument that they are simply supplying to the demand of their audience is not a valid one. These people have the power and influence to control what the audience demands. Were labels, radio and music-channels to continually expose the likes of Common, Immortal Technique, Lyrics Born, Atmosphere, Talib Kweli, The Roots, Jurassic 5, Blackalicious, Nas etc. to the same extent that they do the likes of Soulja Boy or Lil Wayne, there is no doubt that the audience's demands would change.

Unfortunately, that is not, and possibly never will be, the case. Instead of offering young kids positive role models, inspiring aspirations that do not involve bitches, guns and violence, the people with the power continue to put their backing into illiterate dumb thugs. We don't want to see black people as intelligent and inspirational! No, we want them to continue appearing as violent and uneducated, as a threat to our society.

This guy Lil Wayne is just another example of this racist mechanism that continues to pump out mind-numbingly awful black musicians. He has the lyrical writing ability of a 5-year old; lines about bitches and not being "no homo" are constantly ended with swear words, such is his inability to rhyme properly. The generic Southern beats do nothing to set him apart from his equally-moronic peers Lil Jon and T-Pain. Yet, he recieves the exposure and all the hype. That this album could even be considered the finest of the year, a year in which sees Nas return to form with his incredible Unitled album, simply highlights how widespread this problem has become.

Hip-Hop is not dead. Behind the morons parading on TV with their bling-out teeth, intelligible lyrics and booty-shaking "ho's", there is a huge base of intelligent, conscious rappers. Hip-hop is alive and well; unfortunately those that continue to breathe new life into it are cast aside, labelled "left-field" and "underground", ignored by the powerful rich white people who define the demands of a dumbed-down generation. You can help however by ignoring this terrible artist and his ilk, and searching for the aforementioned talents that are so abundant within this genre. Good music does not have to remain underground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tha Carter III
Tha Carter III by Lil Wayne (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews