Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product
I have had this grinder for about three weeks. It is solidly built and has a quality feel to it.

It takes me about a minute to grind a double espresso so that is just about on its finest, and therefore slowest, grind. If you are wanting a coarser grind for a cafetiere it will be quicker. The grind is consistently excellent. I am very pleased with the price,...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by TerryDox

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the porlex alu grinder
one main reason - the plastic body creates some static for the coffee grinds not a major problem

Where it fails majorly on the Porlex - is that the screw base gets contaminated by grinds as you tip out the coffee once ground.
So your constantly blowing on the thread of the bottom to clear it when re-attaching the bottom to the top.

The Porlex...
Published 15 months ago by M. Ahmed


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
I have had this grinder for about three weeks. It is solidly built and has a quality feel to it.

It takes me about a minute to grind a double espresso so that is just about on its finest, and therefore slowest, grind. If you are wanting a coarser grind for a cafetiere it will be quicker. The grind is consistently excellent. I am very pleased with the price, quality and ease of use.

The order was processed and delivered very quickly, the grinder was very well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this mill a few months ago, together with Aeropress, hoping to make excellent coffee without breaking the bank.

My expectation were fulfilled - this is an excellent grinder, and does everything exactly as you would want and expect.

1. Build quality: second to none, 5/5
You can really tell this thing is made in Japan and not in China. All parts fit together perfectly, the finish is flawless and the operation is smooth. Ceramic burrs will never rust and wear extremely slowly.
The person mentioning nut failures must have used it to hammer nails or something because this is a VERY SOLIDLY made item. Only way to improve it, would be to use wood or toughened glass instead of plastic (I am no fan of plastics in general) - but at this price you really couldn't ask for better.

2. Ease of use: very easy, but instructions are in Japanese, 4/5
It will take you a while initially to figure out how to use it, because it comes with no instructions in English. But because it is a very simple device, there is not a lot to figure out, really: the top handle comes off, the clear top cover comes off, the clear container screws on and off, and the adjustment nut is under the burrs. That's it.

3. Practicality: Very good 4.5/5
Let's start with the grind adjustment: the adjustment nut has locking "steps" and because of that it takes a bit of effort to turn it - but on the other hand it always stays in position, so this is a good thing. Also, the steps make it easy to aim for the desired grind coarseness.
Grinding itself is easy and only slightly tedious - will usually take between a minute and four minutes, depending on your coarseness and quantity and size of your beans (bigger will take longer). It can be quite fun too, and my guests (especially children) often enjoy grinding as a kind of novelty.
One very minor problem I have is that because the container is plastic it accumulates static charge, which often causes grinds to stick to walls. A strong tap usually helps, but occasionally I have to resort to a spoon to get all of them out.

4. Coffee quality: Excellent 5/5
Some people suggest that manual grinding is better as it doesn't heat up the beans, which harms flavour. I am not sure if this is true, but I always find coffee ground manually to be slightly better than the same coffee ground in an electric mill. It might be purely psychological (i.e. "I put a lot of work in it, so it has to be better"). But one certain fact is that the grind is very consistent, which is certainly paramount to achieving good coffee.

All in all, I am very happy with this mill. I consider grinding to be one of the cornerstones of great coffee (the other being beans, water and the brewing process), and this mill certainly fulfils its purpose well. Five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb little grinder, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
After a week with my new Gaggia Classic of pulling slightly disappointing shots of espresso using shop-bought ground coffee, I decided to team it with the Hario Slim after reading the positive reviews on here. Everyone in the know seemed to suggest that not only is a decent grinder of paramount importance when attempting to make quality coffee, but that this hand grinder is of superior quality to several electric models more than 5 times the cost.

The Hario is easy to use and simple to adjust. Just measure your beans in the cup, pour into the top section, screw into the cup, attach the lid/handle and you're good to go! The main issue I had was that it took a while (and no small amount of beans) to get the Hario dialled in - this however is to be expected as instructions are minimal. I am currently using Lavazza Black Espresso beans and have found that the 6th finest setting produces a perfect 25 second double shot of lush, thick black espresso with a generous head of luxurious crema - certainly vastly superior to anything offered by any high-street coffee chain. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous starter grinder for coffee connoisseurs!, 27 May 2013
By 
Darren Green (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
I recently invested in a Gaggia Classic espresso machine and was struggling with pulling a perfect shot even with ground beans from Hasbean (if you haven't tried them then your missing out, best coffee on the Internet or indeed anywhere!) as the Gaggia is pretty fussy about its grind.
I would have liked to buy an electric grinder for ease, but having been advised that for an electric grinder to be any good your looking at a minimum of 200 I looked around for a temporary solution.
I bought this on the recommendation of Steve at Hasbean and numerous other interviews and am delighted! Grind is controlled with the dial at the bottom of the machine and even on the fiest grind, enough for a double shot is ready in a couple of minutes. And the taste of the resulting coffee is AMAZING!
I don't find hand grinding a chore at all, it's actually quite therapeutic. Ok, so you wouldn't want to be making coffee for more that 2 people or making ten cups a day, but for my cup or two a day it's perfect.
I certainly won't be replacing it with an electric grinder any time soon! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice product, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
This is a very nice and lightweight coffee grinder. The only thing I miss about it is some form of visible indication of how it's setup. With my aeropress I go for maximum fine position and then "a bit back with the screw". It's ideal when you're making coffee just for 1 person. I would recommend looking for electric grinder though if you're planning to prepare coffee for 2 (or more) people, as hand grinding takes quite some time - but this is a general downside of all hands grinders I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars coffee the slow way, 14 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
A neat product that grinds coffee thoroughly and with perfect consistency.
The ceramic blade contributes to my attempt at coffee purity.
The four stars for me are because this is not a product for coffee in a hurry,(I revert to untidy electric metal on those occasions!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My housemate hates me., 28 Jun 2013
By 
Abrar Ahmed (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
This grinder is great and it's made by the original Hario brand rather than the almost identical third party manufacturers out there (that said, after a bit of reading, all of them seem to originate from China so you might be paying a few quid extra for the satisfaction of a label).

It grinds fairly well for the price - yes it's a laborious manual process and it doesn't produce enough to serve a party unless you're hell-bent on getting carpal tunnel syndrome but the even grounds compensate for the cons.

It to pull apart and clean out, unless you have issues with logic.

Nowadays, the flat's full of the aroma of freshly ground coffee every morning; it teases my housemate out of bed but he's only left disappointed when he realises there's only enough coffee made for one: me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little device..., 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
This is an easy to use and clean coffee grinder. The quality of the components is self evident and the design is simplicity itself and well made. It maybe a tad on the small size, but if you're not producing a brew for more than two or three people its certainly adequate. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very simple and does the job, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Y. Syed "Musashi" (Somewhere in Internet Land) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
It is a very simple product.
Easy to put together.
Easy to adjust.
Easy to use.
If you want very fine grounds, it does take time...
Shame it doesn't have instructions in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, easy to use product, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder (Kitchen & Home)
I just got it several days ago, and managed to prepair about 20 cups of coffree with my stove top Bialetti (for 2 cups).
Very easy to use thing. Only minus is that instruction is japaneese, but bless Internet - it can give you english translation if you ask :)
I found that i like 3 click setting most of all. It takes about 2.5 minute to prepair enought coffee for my double "espresso".
I just watch some youtube video in the morning and rotate hand of the device.
Just perfect for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hario MSS-1B 1-Piece Coffee Mini Mill Slim Grinder
17.53
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews