Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A Must-See Film'
Having watched the film on Satellite TV, I was so touched by this movie - I almost cried!

Caitlin, a disturbed child is destined for a mental institution, until she is put in a Special Needs Class.

Her teacher manages to reach inside this child's mind and heart, to discover a genius with an unusually high I.Q. Caitlin soon opens up to the trust and...
Published on 20 July 2006 by Earthangel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A story drenched in sentiment
Six-year-old Caitlin is a deeply disturbed child whose violent and disruptive behaviour prevents her from attending school or day care with other youngsters. However, special-education teacher Maggie Barnard (Cathy Lee Crosby) senses that there is a great intelligence in Caitlin, and she believes Caitlin can be taught if someone can find out how to reach her...
Published 2 months ago by Pyke Bishop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A Must-See Film', 20 July 2006
This review is from: Untamed Love [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched the film on Satellite TV, I was so touched by this movie - I almost cried!

Caitlin, a disturbed child is destined for a mental institution, until she is put in a Special Needs Class.

Her teacher manages to reach inside this child's mind and heart, to discover a genius with an unusually high I.Q. Caitlin soon opens up to the trust and love of her teacher, bringing out the best in her. By the end of term, she has moved on enough to go into a normal class. The bond between Caitlin and teacher was so strong, it will have you reaching for some tissues.

With different characters and names to the book on which it was based on, I recommend seeing the film first, before reading the book! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A story drenched in sentiment, 12 Mar. 2015
By 
Pyke Bishop (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamed Love [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Six-year-old Caitlin is a deeply disturbed child whose violent and disruptive behaviour prevents her from attending school or day care with other youngsters. However, special-education teacher Maggie Barnard (Cathy Lee Crosby) senses that there is a great intelligence in Caitlin, and she believes Caitlin can be taught if someone can find out how to reach her.

However, not everyone Maggie works with agrees with her assessment, and as she attempts to break through the walls of anger and abuse that surround Caitlin's mind, she must also do battle with a system that sometimes does more harm than good to kids. Based on a true story, Untamed Love also features John Getz (Men at Work) and Jaime Gomez (Nash Bridges) .

Although there was nothing outstanding in terms of filming, this is a heart-warming story which is drenched in sentiment. And director Paul Aaron supplies standard pacing to the drama.

Maggie (Crosby), living happily enough with devoted lawyer Dan (John Getz), begins working on a new pupil in her class, disturbed, dirty 6-year-old Caitlin (Ashlee Lauren).

The film coasts along, measuring Caitlin’s emotional growth, Maggie’s growing dependence on the girl and her backing-away from any commitment with Dan. The story entails attempts to keep Caitlin out of a state mental institution: Maggie has brought her out of the darkness, discovered her to be a normal child with a high I.Q. and lots of emotional knots that Maggie deftly unties.

Crosby moves methodically, if not mechanically, through the role. Young Lauren is satisfactory as the tortured child, and Getz gives his thankless part a surprising lustre. Gary Frank (who plays Caitlin's brutish father) seems rightfully to be searching for characterisation, and Gomez, as Maggie’s assistant who has to do most of the work, is solid.

The film is broadcast periodically on the 'True Movies 1' channel which has been heavily edited due to censorship. However, the DVD version remains intact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have you read the book?, 16 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Untamed Love [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film for all those who are touched by true stories. When I brought the film as soon as I watched it I realised it was based on the book I was also reading at that time by Torey Hayden called "one child". I was so glad I read the book before I watched the film as it was more detailed and made me cry my eyes out. I think the film was brilliant and also made me cry, and at the end you just wanted to know what happen to that precious little girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving real-life struggle for hope and acceptance, 21 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Untamed Love [DVD] (DVD)
The first time I saw it, which was a few years ago I was silently amazed at this film. Now a few years down the road, after having worked with a child like that in the film I can see a whole new perspective to the film.
The casting is perfect, and this portrayal of a real life story of a teacher's struggle to convince people that this screaming wretch of a child just needs to be shown real love and shown how to love instead of locking her away for the rest of her life never fails to touch me.
This is a moving film that should give hope to anyone, and also teach us a thing or two about what love really is about. Well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A disturbed family movie, 25th august 2004, 25 Aug. 2004
By 
Kathryn Pointon "Kat" (Staffordshire(England)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Untamed Love [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A young disturbed girl who's supposed to of hurt someone is in need of someone to love. The class at school hates her always picking on her. She kicks up and screams in class when she feels anger in herself. Her teacher[cathy lee crosby] is determined to do everything she can to help her and really come close to her. As the disturbed child gets closer to the teacher she learns how to not kick up and become a young child that likes people. A feel good movie,with that help of love from her teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 16 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Untamed Love [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Of course one should never get one's hopes up about a film based on a beloved book. But I was still disappointed. The acting was fine (not always the case with made-for-TV movies), but somehow the elements they chose to include just robbed the story of all its magic. You lost all the charm and wonder of Sheila's (in the book -- her name in the film is Caitlin) self-taught language with its grammatical quirks, her self-taught reading and near-genius IQ, and were left mainly with the abuse and the court case. Making it no different than any other abandoned-child story. Possibly interesting if you haven't read the book, but just the shell of the story if you have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamed Love [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Read the book got 2 copies 1 for my niece & 1 for myself i love true stories always on a look out for true stories on dvd but have to be certain ones
would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having seen this heart wrenching film before I knew I ..., 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamed Love [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this heart wrenching film before I knew I wanted my own copy, it arrived on time and is a welcome addition to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why are the books always better?, 20 Feb. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untamed Love [DVD] (DVD)
I could not wait to see this film after reading the book, but its true what they say the film never matches the quality of the book.
If i was Torey Hayden I would have been bitterley dissapointed with this dramatisation.
Misses masses of information and does not really touch on the child at all, it has all the gripping parts the abuse etc but it never really catches the magic of Torey's and Sheilas relationship.
If you are thinking of buying it don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but the book 'One Child', 6 Aug. 2014
By 
Scott (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Untamed Love [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, but the book 'One Child', of which this movie is based is much more enjoyable and in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Untamed Love [1994] [DVD]
Untamed Love [1994] [DVD] by Paul Aaron (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £1.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews