Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd
Really brilliant cd that i can't stop listening to! Came in great time in secure packaging for a good price. This CD includes the number 1 hits "I kissed a girl" and "Hot 'n Cold" Would definitely recommend this, regardless of whether you're a Perry fan
Published on 7 Jan 2012 by apleximus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected
The album is Ok but I find the songs a bit too similiar and the same stuff as other current artists.
Published 14 months ago by hellyp57


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good marketing, 2 Aug 2008
This review is from: ONE OF THE BOYS (Audio CD)
I heard the kissed a girl song in the car the other day and it was very catchy, I looked it up on the web and listened to her other tracks. I think it is graet that it has caused so much controversy and very clever marketing on the names of the songs, I can't believe that so many people are in uproar about it, it just shows what the world has come to.
All in all a good, easy listening album, one I will be keeping in the car for a little while.
Be warned girls it is catchy and you will be singing 'I kissed a girl' down the road shopping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not an original debut album,but..., 12 Dec 2008
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of The Boys (Audio CD)
Katy Perry's debut album is far from perfect,2008 saw the rise of the now fabulous Lady Gaga with her fantastic(hasn't left my CD player since)debut album The Fame(which i recommend), Britney,Madonna,Cyndi Lauper and Christina Aguilera are a handful of amazing artists that managed to accomplish the perfect material for their debut albums,...Baby One More Time has sold 28 million,Aguilera has sold 14 million,Madonna has sold 10 million,and She's So Unusual has sold 11 million.
here Perry hasn't quite got the compatibility of the aforementioned debut albums which is where One of The Boys fails,nevertheless Perry has mastered the idea of bad taste with her songs here,at the end of the day it is questionable if she is taking everything seriously,Perry is of a similar level to the great Lily Allen who conveys a similar attitude to her music with the release of Alright Still(another great debut album).
One Of The Boys is not a perfect album...in fact it has placed itself as one of the lowest rated of 2008,it will struggle to master high sales but she has gathered a cult following.
her sound is similar to that of the (far superior) P!nk, her style here is evidently from experiences but is certainly not entirely original.
all in all i am very mixed with this album with a select handful that holds this mediocre monstrosity together-
Hot N Cold is my favourite song by Perry at the moment,it has a style that i find amazing.
Ur So Gay is a questionable track,yet is NOT homophobic in any sense which is what i was anxious about, instead it is presumably about an ex that she is poking fun to.
Waking Up In Vegas is a good son with a rhythm that is very nicely paced.
One of The Boys is a retro feel track on the album that sounds something of Cyndi lauper(but not quite obv.).
and finally,If U Can Afford Me is an original song that really is more full of life than any other track on the album.

Mannequin is an atrocity and the far superior titled song Mennquin(lyrically different and better) can be found on the best album of 2008,Britney's CIRCUS!!

overall it is alrightbut certainly far from great,i wish her success in the future and with hopes on developing as an artist.
plus i love the watermelon vibe she has with her clothing and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katy Perry CD, 23 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of The Boys (Audio CD)
I was very pleased with the fast delivery and the product. As it was a gift for my granddaughter I haven't listened to it so can't rate the music...But she was very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Betty Grable (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of The Boys (Audio CD)
Another purchase for a friend. I did a search and found this product cheapest on Amazon including delivery. The item arrived promptly and my friend was delighted with the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need ur opinion, 31 Oct 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: One Of The Boys (Audio CD)
Ok, this is gonna say KIDS REVEIW i am not a baby goat and don't act like an 8yr old! lol coz im not 8! duh!
I havent heard all the songs on this album but I've heard "I Kissed A Girl" and "Hot and Cold" I Loved Both The Tracks! I'm just a little worried that if there are explicit lyrics, i mean i don't mind some swearing on some good tracks but i don't want to buy this CD and find out that there is some sexual/rude lanuage that should be taken into account or just a little rude and just ignored!
Plz inform me wheather I should buy this because I Like katy Perry's singing and want the CD but dont really want to be listing to sexual lyrics too much......I don't mind 1 or 2 songs that are have a bit of sexual language but not sure if all of them are to be advised
Thanks, leave a comment telling me advice(if u can)
Anyway You Should Defenatly buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A novelty soon wears thin, 24 Sep 2008
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: One Of The Boys (Audio CD)
Does it really only take a song about dissing an ex-boyfriend for being metrosexual (Ur So Gay) and one about secret sapphic lust (I Kissed A Girl) to become a star these days? Well it's certainly enough to get Perez Hilton excited and to take Katy Perry towards the top of the charts on both sides of the Atlantic.

Of course one can understand Perry's desperate sounding attempts to garner attention when one considers her childhood; the daughter of two pastors, Perry's first musical venture was a Christian gospel record, released in 2001, and indeed Gospel was the only music she was apparently allowed to listen to. Perhaps the music world would have been better if she'd taken the traditional British route of rebellion, hanging out on the street corner drinking White Lightening.

Make no bones about it, much like with Ida Maria's "naked" lyrics, Perry's global airplay has nothing to do with musical talent, more to do with the idea that her girl-on-girl imagery is funny or in someway shocking, surely passe notions in 2008. Most observers would see the song for what it is; a novelty record. And don't get me wrong, as a novelty record it's good, but that's all it is.

Things don't really get any better either. There's no doubting that there are a handful of catchy tunes on the album but even those are ruined beyond comprehension by inane and/or ridiculous lyrics that most of the time stirred up nothing other than complete and utter boredom for this listener.

On Fingerprints, Perry says she wants to "break the mold". She hasn't even come close. For all her record company's talk of her "zeitgeist-capturing sassiness" there's nothing on display here to suggest that she's anything other than the novelty one-hit wonder I Kissed A Girl would have you believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sing a lickle tune for da yout dem, 2 Jan 2009
This review is from: One Of The Boys (Audio CD)
People's enjoyment of this woman's music has cheapened my opinion of humanity and from now on I will do my best end the world. On further listening I found tracks 5 and 7 annoyingly similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars i kissed a girl, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Miss E. Chambers "Atheistic Pagan" (Newcastle upon Tyne, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Of The Boys (Audio CD)
just the one memorable song on here really, the rest of them are mostly just depressing. proves these 'popstars' are just one trick ponies :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent album, 12 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: One Of The Boys (Audio CD)
This is a good listen, not the best album out there and after a while all the songs start to sound the same. But highly enjoyable especially if you just want to dance :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where are my albums?, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of The Boys (MP3 Download)
Just paid to download 2 albums worth of HTML forms - does anyone at Amazon care to explain what I just spent 14.98 on exactly? Where are my albums?!!

Teenage Dream
One Of The Boys

If someone would be so kind as to explain what has gone wrong here I'd greatly appreciate that.

I'm not new to Amazon MP3, so downloaded the .amz file, opened with the downloader, which downloaded the 'tracks' extremely quickly... then I opened the folder with the 'tracks' in to find a dozen HTML files with the same name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ONE OF THE BOYS
ONE OF THE BOYS by Katy Perry (Audio CD)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews