Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everlasting refill
This is a refillable ink cartridge for all Sheaffer fountain pens. It enables you to fill the pen from a bottle of ink by turning the end of the device like a screw(on some models there is a slide action)and drawing ink into the tube.
I find it less messy to remove the converter from the pen to fill it and then just wipe the end before reinserting it in the pen but...
Published on 12 Dec. 2011 by Ms. J. A. Russell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great
I have several Sheaffer fountain pens and I'm a bit of an ink addict, so using converters allows me the use of a greater range of inks. They fit well into most of the Sheaffer branded pens.

To use you dip the nose into your ink, wind the screw at the end up and down a few times and then tap the nose against the side of the ink bottle to remove any loose drips...
Published 11 months ago by boots-2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everlasting refill, 12 Dec. 2011
By 
Ms. J. A. Russell "Jan R" (Birmingham. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
This is a refillable ink cartridge for all Sheaffer fountain pens. It enables you to fill the pen from a bottle of ink by turning the end of the device like a screw(on some models there is a slide action)and drawing ink into the tube.
I find it less messy to remove the converter from the pen to fill it and then just wipe the end before reinserting it in the pen but you could use it attached to the nib for filling. Either way works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston, 16 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
Works fine. I abandoned ink cartridges 25 years ago in favour of refillable reservoirs so that I could use a variety of inks (and save money). The early reservoirs were of the squeeze variety and were a little awkward to use. However, the latest generation use a screw to extend/retract the piston (and so draw-up the ink) - this ensures a good fill every time with no mess. Cartridges may still be more suitable for younger ink pen users though as there is less chance of major spill accident (and can be changed easily at school).

I'm a little annoyed at Amazon's postal policy though. This item took a week to arrive even though £1.00 postage was taken in lieu of p&p. It is rather naughty of Amazon to give you the option of either paying several pounds for ordinary first-class delivery (ie 'express' delivery - where a major profit is made on p&p) or standard/economy delivery, where a stamp is applied and then the item put on a shelf for several days in order to cause a delay (and so, presumably, punish the customer for not paying for the express delivery service?!). I really think that they need three postal options... 'Express' for those who are really desperate, 'First Class' with the item being posted in reasonable time without deliberate delay and 'Horse & Cart' the present economy service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
I have several Sheaffer fountain pens and I'm a bit of an ink addict, so using converters allows me the use of a greater range of inks. They fit well into most of the Sheaffer branded pens.

To use you dip the nose into your ink, wind the screw at the end up and down a few times and then tap the nose against the side of the ink bottle to remove any loose drips of ink. This is nice and easy and preferable to some other branded converters I've used.

However, these converters leak, just a little, but they do leak, and they also don't fill up the entire way not matter how many times I try. They only fill up about 2/3's of the way which means I'm always refilling because the converters hold less ink than a standard cartridge anyway, so when they're not full they hold much less. My pen also seems to use more ink when I use these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
had this for a few months now, as i prefer to write reviews after having tested the item i purchase, no worries here it is working well and is superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well designed and works well, 16 Mar. 2012
By 
Graham Taylor (Surrey,GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
There is no doubt that this filler is very good and it works very well in my 20 year old pen. There is a warning for older pen owners: the filler and the barrel are not a good match and the two halves of the pen do not close fully after fitting the filler. This is not a huge problem, just a little tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crap converter, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
Don't work, leaks everywhere. Don't bother. Better off with cartridges, which, unfortunately, cost an arm and a leg. However, check out youtube and refill them yourself - which is what I intend to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
I bought this for a 20 year old Sheaffer pen. I was concerned because some reviewers complained of a loose fit. However, in this particular pen, it has a good tight fit and works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ink cartridge, 16 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
An excellent little device - much better design than the old fashioned rubber reservoirs. I will never go back to using ink cartridges. It was delivered promptly, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars That was a big disappointment for me as it is now no longer possible ..., 16 Nov. 2014
By 
Scottie (East Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
My Sheaffer pen model is a Targa 1003 but although 2 previous purchasers said in reply to my query that it fitted their pens, it didn't fit mine, presumably because mine is an older model (1988). So, if yours is the same model vintage, don't buy it as it is too fat to fit the pen body. That was a big disappointment for me as it is now no longer possible to get ink cartridges for that pen either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars INK, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheaffer Fountain Pen Piston Convertor (SR/86700) (Office Product)
Yes, I think this is a good piece of pen and ink kit. It is confusing because there are no instructions as to the action of the piston. Usually a piston pushes up and down but this has a screwing action so it would be easy to lose your temper with it - force the issue and break the piston which would be a shame because when used correctly it is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews