Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Science-Fiction classic on DVD at last
My old VHS tape can now rest in peace, at last we have a widescreen DVD version of Logan's Run with remastered sound.
It's one of my favourite movies of all time. It has a great fast moving story, lots of beautiful people intent on living their alloted 30 years to the full but living alongside a darker underclass, the cubs, and an underground movement that helps...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by I. R. Kerr

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for a good Region 2 DVD release (When...?)
This previously much-maligned movie was made in the very last days of Time Machine style visual effects. They are quite crude but nice to look at, and the film is now more popular. The plot is never forgotten, and now that people are used to visual perfection, the obvious flaws are more welcome.
I own the Region 1 DVD which is a vast improvement on VHS but still not...
Published on 17 Dec 2002 by James Withington


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Science-Fiction classic on DVD at last, 27 Sep 2008
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
My old VHS tape can now rest in peace, at last we have a widescreen DVD version of Logan's Run with remastered sound.
It's one of my favourite movies of all time. It has a great fast moving story, lots of beautiful people intent on living their alloted 30 years to the full but living alongside a darker underclass, the cubs, and an underground movement that helps "runners" try and find Sanctuary. The special effects are great and won a Special Achievement Award at the 1977 Oscar's and Jerry Goldsmith's music, a mix of orchestral and electronic is superb, I have the OST on vinyl' and to top all that off it has Jenny Agutter.
I agree that the effects do look dated now but bear in mind that at the time their use of lasers was ground breaking. I saw it when it first came out and have watched it countless times since and it has never lost its appeal to me.
On the extras front the commentary by Michael York (Logan), director Michael Anderson and Bill Thomas the costume designer is very informative, the costumes played an important role in portraying a society where pleasure appears to be the sole purpose. The featurette on the making of the movie has a quite grainy quality to it but still gives a reasonable deal of information and is a nice addition.
Now how about someone releasing the Logan's Run TV series with Heather Menzies?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, region-free Blu-ray for classic Logan's Run, 19 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Blu-ray is a US import. It is region-free. The extras are standard definition, from what I can tell, but also play fine in the UK.

The picture transfer is quite good. It's variable throughout but the colours are vibrant and there's some good sharpness here and there. In fact, you can tell the opening shots are models more so than before - and can spot some of the special features (like during the Carousel) with actors on wires. As has been said in other reviews, the sets themselves are quite plain which hampers the overall effect a bit. The overall effect is solid and faithful rather than outstanding.

The sound is quite good - although there's a lot of directionality applied to the voices (if someone's speaking from one side, the sound follows them rather heavily). This does not affect things too badly, but is noticeably.

The film itself is a classic. I must say it drags a little bit towards the end upon repeat viewings though. Still well worth seeing and a good one for the collection.

Lastly, there's a nice period documentary about the film. It's a bit OTT but informative and amusing nonetheless. There's also a commentary track - with lead actor, Michael York. I've not had time to listen to it yet but it's good to know it's there for future viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For a movie that was made 24 Years ago , it doesn't age., 14 Dec 2000
By 
Pos-Apocolyptic thriller.Superb Film, brought back memories of the TV series on BBC (Which I can't find video's or dvd's of anywhere).
The story set in the future where once you hit age 30 it's time for the Carosel (sic) - Renewal is promised but only electrocution awaits. Based on this concept some people take offence and decide to "Run". Enter the Sandman (No metallica pun intended ;-) ) who's job it is to track down and eliminate the runners. A story then surfaces about "Santuary" where all may live until old age and natural death. York , converted into somewhat of a spy by the powers that be, has to infiltrate those who support and provide help to the runners, effectively becoming a runner himself.
York is in outstanding form as the Sandman turned Runner. Agutter is ample as his fellow runner. The special effects while obviously dated are not cheesy and one is not offended by them.
In the end this was a very tidy film, way ahead of it's time and still very enjoyable to watch to this day. Now if only I could get my hands on the videos of the origional TV series :-((
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It may be old but it's brilliant, 29 April 2004
By 
Sarah Chalmers (Eastbourne, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Although this movie was filmed before I was born, I thoroughly enjoy itand recommend it to anyone, sci fi lover or not. It makes you realise howdifferent our world could be if there were but a few changes. Not everknowing your parents nor living past 30 seems almost alien to us, but tothem it is normal, and the natural order of things. The inclusion of T.S.Elliott's Old Possum Book Of Practical Cats made this film for me.Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great escape of the future, 15 Sep 2011
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
It has been 30 years or so since I last saw this. As a mere teenager it had a long-lasting impact on me. Getting to age 30 always struck me as end of (young) life ! I am glad to say that having made it past 30 that life is good, if not better than twenty-something! This movie is an underrated classic. I watch it now without the trepidation from when I was 14. The film is about young men and women enjoying themselves until they reach 30 when they are called to carousel... which is a ritual for so-called renewal but basically kills them off. Logan 5 (Michael Yorke) is a sandman who terminates 'runners', people who want to live beyond 30. He finds the truth that no one is renewed and he himself goes on the run. I seem now to be watching alot of the scenes in the film with new eyes. I don't remember many of the scenes. This is a highly enjoyable film, Michael Yorke is a fine actor and he definitely makes the film watchable. So if you like futuristic films this is a great film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jenny Agutter naked? Yes! Peter Ustinov hairy? Check! Michael York young and lean? You got it!, 14 Aug 2011
By 
G. Chung "chungking888" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Logan's Run is set in a post-apocalyptic future where human beings lead a hedonistic life-style involving lots of orgies and wearing dodgy toga-type clothing. The one minor problem is when you reach 30 years of age you have to go to Carousel, an arena-type stadium, where you find yourself floating up in front of a baying crowd and basically exploding to death. Obviously some cats aren't too happy about this and decide to escape this fate by running away. This is where the sandmen come in (basically the enforcers of Carousel whose one great advantage is they get to wear neat black uniforms instead of a bedsheet) and start hunting down runners blasting them to death with equally neat guns which make a "BWAP" sound.

Logan (played by Michael York) is one such Sandman who finds himself having to infiltrate Sanctuary because the master computer has prematurely aged him to 30 years.

That's about it really but the film really is good. You've got Michael York looking young and thin (and amazingly he still looks the same 30 years later) and you've also got Jenny Agutter taking off her clothes (again). What more can you ask for?? Peter Ustinov looking hairy? Yes ... it's got that too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time we had Logan's Run on dvd!, 27 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite si-fi films from the 1970's with only Alien and Star Wars being better around that time. The story of Logan's Run is that humans live in a massive city which is inside a dome, and they go to a better place when they reach the age of 30. You have people who are called the sandmen and they are like law enforcement bounty hunters. When people become 30 some try to runaway as they are unsure what is going to happen to them. Logan is a sandman and now his time is up too, so the hunter becomes the hunted. The sets and vision of Logan's Run are very good for when it was made. I read somewhere that they might be doing a re-make which could be interesting maybe. I thought the film The Island took ideas from Logan's Run a little but added it's own twist too. I wonder how long we will have wait for a Blu-ray release maybe 10 years lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally fantastic, 4 Dec 2008
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
love this film- delighted to now own it on DVD a true 70s classic- love it to bits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for a good Region 2 DVD release (When...?), 17 Dec 2002
This previously much-maligned movie was made in the very last days of Time Machine style visual effects. They are quite crude but nice to look at, and the film is now more popular. The plot is never forgotten, and now that people are used to visual perfection, the obvious flaws are more welcome.
I own the Region 1 DVD which is a vast improvement on VHS but still not a very good transfer, although the commentary is interesting.
A good new Region 2 DVD would be great. The cast and director were almost all British!? Possibly it looks too dated to bring out with a fanfare, or else would make no money being sneaked out quietly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More to the story than just action, 26 Aug 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Logan's Run is a film version of the story of a futuristic environment that Renews (yeah,,, right) or recycles people after 30 years.

Logan (Michael York) is a Sandman (similar to police), who enforces the rule and chases down people that "run" from Renewal, a system where people that reach the age of 30 are reborn and prevents anyone form becoming too old. The computer that runs the facility charges him with finding the location that the runners go to called "Sanctuary." To do this he must become a runner him self.

Some people who watch this like to be critics. They pick on costumes and actors etc. Well it is evident that they do not have the DVD version. There is an optional parallel audio commentary. This commentary explains why things are designed the way that they are. Also the buttons on Peter Ustinov's coat were pennies to be symbolic; yet they were too small to film properly.

According to the commentary, it was easier to stick everyone in pantyhose than try to find monotone makeup for everyone like was done in Ursula K. Le Guin's "The Lathe of Heaven" (1980). The buttons on Peter Ustinov's close were pennies. Best of all, the Renew scene was shot upside down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Logan's Run [DVD] [1976]
Logan's Run [DVD] [1976] by Michael Anderson (DVD - 2008)
5.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews