Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars134
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2015
Classic film in Blu Ray, good price excellent delivery
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Great sci-fi film one of my favourites from the 70's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2010
This is another of Michael Crichton's tales brought to the silver screen. I'm so pleased it's become available on dvd over here, as it's long been a favourite film of mine.

Set in a future where it's possible to go on a holiday designed to allow the breakdown of social norms without any consequences, because the 'people' are androids, the holiday makers get a choice of different 'worlds' they can holiday in, one of which is the titular West World. The authenticity of the settings and the scenarious which take place each day, are all for the guests' enjoyment. They get to do all the things they see in Westerns, and it's as artificial as a movie. Nobody dies - the clean up crews just patch up their artificial workforce ready for the next day.

But, of course, things are not quite as they should be.

It's not just the guests who appear to be on autopilot, taking things for granted and making blithe assumptions about what happens, but the back-room staff of humans who keep the androids going. Small things going wrong don't really ring any alarm bells or prompt questions to be asked.

When the tables get turned on the humans, the central action is the relentless pursuit, by the perfectly-cast Yul Brynner of the main holiday maker, Richard Benjamin who has been our eyes on the wonders of West World up to that point.

The realism begins to get a bit too real, and suddenly the holiday of a lifetime, with its permission to break rules doesn't seem quite such a great idea.

If you haven't seen it, but enjoy films from the same era (it was released in 1973) with an unsettling edge to them, then you will probably enjoy this. Yes, some of the 1970's 'futuristic' touches do seem rather dated today, but the thought-provoking subject, and the tension as the drama unfolds make this well worth engaging your brain for. Fans of Jurassic Park may want to see this to see Crichton's prototype fools playground gone wrong and spot the similarities, and admire the differences.
0Comment4 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
I remember watching this when I was a teenager, jeez it was scaring, Yul Brenner is great as the android out of control. Although this film is so so old, it is still great, value for money. I watched it with my partner, he had never seen it, he is a bit of a movie buff and he loved it
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
one of the classics and at a really good price
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
its still a good film after all these years
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
A classic movie, well worth a re watch
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
One of my favourites from the seventies. Ok not upto todays special effects but has still aged well. Ordered 40th anniversary edition and received standard edition or would have been 5 stars.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
Beautiful film, chillingly realised.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
yul bryner great looking great in this fim exciting well made scenes brilliant go get a copy ull enjoy it
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.