Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars151
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2015
One of my all time favourite science fiction movies from the early 1970's that has stood the passage of time - 40 years - surprisingly well.
You can see the seeds of Jurassic Park and a whole host of other derivative movies in this original classic.
Taught, tense, well written with great performances and stunning ideas this is an undisputed all time classic.
A highly recommended five star purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 September 2005
Theme parks get more sophisticated. Now instead of faking it with actors, the people at Delos have come up with the ultimate getaway; they have created several theme parks of which one is called "Westworld" and use robots instead. They can take real bullets and be repaired. As a side interest they also have other realistic body parts.
To this theme park comes Peter Martin (Richard Benjamin) for a little R&R. At first he is a little shy then he actually gets into things. Everyone is having a great time.
Unknown to the guests Delos is experiencing an anomaly with its system. It seems that in spite off all the fail safes a guest gets shot. Then everything snowballs out of control. The most out of controlest is a robot gun slinger that looks an awful lot like Yul Brynner.
You feel that you are there. So what can you do?
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
I thought Westworld was a good film for its heyday, but outdated for modern times. What makes it great is Yul Brynner's intimidating performance as the Robot Gunslinger and the extremely tense finale. The film could been excellent under a more experienced director than Crichton, but it is still worth watching overall. And hey, certainly noticed Terminator and Jurassic Park inspirations throughout!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
BLU RAY VERSION: Good picture quality. Hadn't seen this film for 20 years and it still had the ability to make me creep when the malfunctioning robot was stalking the leading man. This could become reality in the not too distant future with the leaps in recent robot technology. Quite spooky to imagine walking down the street with robots walking along too, perhaps even Robocop one day?
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Yul Brynner Truly creates a striking Figure in his role of the Malfunctioning Cowboy badguy in Black Android,and WestWorld really lights the way for what was to Come from the same author in the 90's with Jurassic Park.It is Excellently Directed with a great cast and Gripping story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2009
Westworld is a fun film, but the DVD is a let down. Based in the future, the film focuses on a theme park called Westworld, where vacationers, for $ 1000 a day, put on their cowboy gear and become part of a perfect recreation of the Old West. They can bust up a bar, drop in on a brothel and break out of jail. The town is populated by androids, programmed never to harm the customers, but the droids are evolving...
This film is certainly one for the boys and a fun take on the Western Genre. The DVD has only one extra - the original trailer. The film is presented in 2.35:1 Widescreen. The transfer is typical for a film of this period, with signs of grain and slight damage here and there. Detail is good and contrast is above average. Soundtrack is adequate in Stereo; it's a 70's movie, so a 5.1 remix would be limited.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
This idea has been hijacked by the makers of the latest Bruce Willis vehicle "Vice" A resort where you can live your fantasy in a world of androids. Call me old fashioned but this movie, however dated, knocks the Vice into a cocked hat!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
I first saw this film about 10 years ago and ever since it has stuck in my mind. Its such a unique story - there is nothing else like it out there. Even though i could remember bits of it, it was a pleasure to watch again. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
A Movie about robots that are trying to kill man, I guess James Cameron at least got one idea from this movie. A great idea that went into a great movie. But I have to admit, if this was a reality, I would seriously considder it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Great product fast delivery. Only brought because I have managed to break both the Chargers that came with the Tom Tom. Worked very well and the bonus is as it was a double adapter I get to charge my phone at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.