Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fantasy film. Really brings back the memories of child-hood.
The Neverending Story is based upon a German novel by Michael Ende, and the film (released in 1984), is directed by Wolfgang Peterson who later went on to direct such films as 'Air Force One' and 'Troy'.

The Neverending Story is a film which surrounds the life of a young boy named Bastian Bux (Barret Oliver), who, one day after being yet again tormented by...
Published on 13 May 2009 by a1ex8

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Time can be cruel..
I first watched this with my eight year old. She loved it and ten years later wanted a revisit this memory. She was so bored and 30 minutes later it was switched off. So clearly a children's film that should stay with children and clearly first time around she loved it. Don't go back.
Published 16 months ago by A. radford


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fantasy film. Really brings back the memories of child-hood., 13 May 2009
By 
a1ex8 (Leeds, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The NeverEnding Story [DVD] [1984] [1985] (DVD)
The Neverending Story is based upon a German novel by Michael Ende, and the film (released in 1984), is directed by Wolfgang Peterson who later went on to direct such films as 'Air Force One' and 'Troy'.

The Neverending Story is a film which surrounds the life of a young boy named Bastian Bux (Barret Oliver), who, one day after being yet again tormented by bullies, escapes to, and hides in an old bookshop. The owner of the book shop (Thomas Hill), who can obviously associate and empathise with Bastian, reveals an ancient, magical looking book to him, which Bastian 'borrows', and is sucked and drawn into the mythical land of Fantasia.

Once in Fantasia, Bastian realises that Fantasia is on the brink of destruction due to an unknown force known as 'the nothing', and soon comes to realise that the future existence of Fantasia relies solely upon him, and him only.
Whilst in Fantasia, Bastian encounters wonderful characters such as Falkor - a part dragon, part dog, The Child-like Empress (Tami Stronach) - ruler of Fantasia, Atreyu (Noah Hathaway) - the fearless young warrior, the ever-lovable Rockbiter and his close band of friends; Teeny Weeny and his racing Snail, and the Nighthob and his "Stupid Bat".

I really do find the characters, sets and backdrops to this film stunning, creating the illusion that an almost entirely different world has been created.

The characters are all well-thought out and highly imaginative, and the acting (keeping in mind that most of the actors are all still young) is very good. The special effects and sets are also fantastic, which is probably why at the time of its debut, The Neverending Story was the most expensive film ever made outside of the United States.

The Neverending Story is such an innocent, enchanting film, that I would be surprised if anyone took an actual disliking to it. I haven't seen a fantasy film able to surpass The Neverending Story visually, in content or story line so far, and that's why it remains such a treasured gem to me, and I'm sure many other people.

Summary: Great family fantasy film. Definately worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody wonderfull, 20 Feb 2010
By 
A. Carr (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The NeverEnding Story [DVD] [1984] [1985] (DVD)
First time i've written a review but i've just re-watched the film after quite a few years and felt compelled.

This film is more than just about book-bashing to kids. It inspires both children and adults to appreciate the magic of our own imaginations and the ability we have to take the work of somebody else and build upon its ideas to create our own. That the kid in this film likes to read is not as important as the fact that his involvement in the story within the book inspires him to explore the power of his creative mind and use it in a positive way. This is something that can happen through whatever medium, whether it be literature, film, art, or music, it doesn't matter.

Through the loss of his mother and subsequent re-naming of the Empress, Bastian finds the strength to overcome the pain he is experiencing in the real world by allowing himself to believe in his imaginary one. The film's references to Bastian's dead mum are subtle and un-sentimental and the scene with his dad at the start is completely believable. These things are what i think gives the film it's emotional kick and why i think adults should watch it as well.

When my daughter is old enough to sit through a whole film with me without figiting then this will be the first one i will pull out and watch with her! Forget the sequels though, they completly miss the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Adventure, 14 Jun 2005
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Bastian is having a hard time dealing with his mother's death, school, and bullies. Granted, the fact that his father doesn't know what to do isn't helping matters. His only escape is the world of his imagination. One day, he hides in an old bookshop to get away from the three bullies chasing him. It's there he finds a book that isn't safe for him to read. See, the story won't end when he puts the book down. Unable to resist, Bastian borrows it and hides in his school attic to read. It's the tale of a warrior on a quest to save his country from the Nothing. But the more Bastian reads, the more he finds himself drawn into the story. Might he be called upon to save the day?
I had heard ravings about the movie since it came out. I only now got a chance to watch it. I must say even though I knew almost everything about it, I really enjoyed it. It certainly has an 80's feel to it between the costumes, music, and special effects. Looking past that, I found myself getting caught up in the story waiting for Bastian to save the day. My biggest complaint is how abruptly it ended. I felt it needed at least another few minutes to resolve some things in Bastian's life. Of course, I see that this was only half the book, which actually makes all that make sense.
Little kids could be scared by some of the things in the story, but older kids will enjoy this fantasy escape. It may be dated, but it's still fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good to this day!, 24 Sep 2003
By A Customer
I remember watching this many years ago when I was 5. Now being 22, I still enjoy this film. A good fantasy film that captured my imagination as a child.
Some parts do look dated, like the clothes and hair styles, but the important parts of the film are timeless.
Even though this film is quite old the effects aren't too bad. Acting, even by the children, is better than some acting seen in movies today.
If you have a young child who likes fairy stories and fantasy lands then you can't go wrong with this. especially with it being so cheap.
Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neverending enjoyment!, 8 Feb 2004
The Neverending Story was the first film I ever went to see at the cinema. I had been pestering my father to take me to see it for months as a poster of the film was pinned up in our local shop. Being only five years old, the film amazed me and in parts really frightened me. I remember having to sleep with my parents that night as I couldn't get to sleep!
Nearly twenty years on and this is still my favourite film. I must have seen it over 200 times and I still get butterflies in my stomach, laugh and cry. With an amazing storyline, loveable characters and spectacular special effects; this truly is a wonderful movie which young and old can appreciate and is one film that I will always hold dear to my heart.
Why is it called The Neverending Story? …Because as long as you have imagination and dreams, the story will never die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never ending affection for this movie, 23 July 2010
By 
M. Cahillane "Sirbald" (Swindon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this movie is 26 years old, and the special effects might not seem so special by todays standards. but for me it has stood the test of time, and still touches the little boy in me that used to watch the german fantasy tales that they used to show on bbc childrens tele in the sixties. They where not dubbed but narrated in english and I think this film was wolfgang Petersens homage to. It was a beautifully crafted film and I bet if you where to put this on for some 5 to 7 year olds, they'ed love it. It's not a bad transfer and you can appreciate the finer detail revealed and the DTS sountrack is impressive. i have a vhs and dvd copy's of the movie, and where dvd was a step up from vhs, so to is this blu ray release a step up from dvd. their are no extras as such, but still worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 25 May 2010
This review is from: The NeverEnding Story [DVD] [1984] [1985] (DVD)
I bought this for my 4 year old son and was pleasantly surprised to discover him watching it entranced with his father and his two half brothers (aged 14 and 12)! They remembered watching the video when they were younger and, despite the fact that special effects and technology has moved on considerably since 1984, they all loved it. The story is magical and strong enough to keep them from the X-box 360, i-pods and older rated action films. A wet Sunday afternooon was spent happily together as a family. Both older children have said they don't mind watching it again, which is lucky as I can tell this will be an often repeated favourite of my 4 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neverending Joy, 18 Oct 2006
By 
Zoe (Gold Coast, Australia) - See all my reviews
Superb modern fairytale with a message that is not cloying that is a delight to adults and children alike. It will make you laugh, cry and cheer in equal measures. I have loved this for so much for so long, I have made a decision to never watch the sequels for fear of tarnishing my love of the original. If in doubt as to whether or not you should watch it - just watch it - you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "They look like big, good, strong hands - don't they?", 25 Mar 2010
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
As a child of the eighties, this film holds a special place in my memories and when I watched it recently I hoped that the raft of recent modern CGI laden films wouldn't spoil this and ruin the nostalgia, I'm pleased to say that the film has not lost its magic...

...When the film starts, it's in a familiar world and we are introduced to Bastian; the lonely boy who daydreams to find happiness and escape the school bullies. After 'borrowing' a book whilst running from thugs he finds himself making the ultimate escape - to another world called Fantasia.

This becomes a fantasy adventure with giant creatures, monsters, magic, and a damsel in distress. The main hero of the film is Atreyu, and adults can understand the gasp of surprise by those relying on him to save the world when it turns out he's just a child, whereas children can identify with the young warrior. It might sound a bit formulaic, and it's certainly been done many times before, but The Neverending Story stands out not just because of visual effects or the fantastic score, but because it is emotionally engaging and draws viewers in - something I perhaps didn't appreciate when I was seven! Not only is it compelling, but it is explained that by simply watching the film, you are part of the story because you are helping to visualise it. Fantasia is the product of human creativity and it is being destroyed by mankind's lack of imagination.

The various creatures in the film look great. Although Falkor the Luck Dragon (who looks like a dog) does appears a bit ropey at times, especially when his mouth seems to lack movement and struggles to keep up with the words coming out of it! But that doesn't matter, you can see past that and it doesn't impact on the character - you still believe in him. I personally think that the giant Rock Eater couldn't look any better even if modern CGI techniques were thrown at it. This film was made with a great passion for the visuals and you can tell how much effort went into bringing Fantasia to life.

The film has never looked better than on this Blu-ray edition, and the beautiful score sounds incredible. I was worried that hi-def might expose previously unseen shoddiness but I'm very pleased to say that the film isn't destroyed by unveiling flaws and strings! Rather disappointingly though there are no additional features. The DVD of the film contains more bonus material than this and all the DVD had was the theatrical trailer and a single page of "cast and crew".

This film is as famous for the score as it is anything else. Klaus Doldinger creates a soundtrack which captures the emotional tone of the film and immerses you in every moment. The added synth-pop music adds another dimension too and ensures that the music sounds undeniably eighties, but it hasn't dated badly at all. The film begins and ends with the Lamahl classic "Neverending Story", surely one of the catchiest film theme tunes ever and yet another reason for this epic fantasy to reach cult status.

Many of the characters in the film are animated puppets, but the voices inject personality and you never feel as though you're watching something being manipulated behind the scenes. It's an impressive feat that you should experience genuine fondness for a fluffy flying dragon and empathise totally with a giant rock eating being who feels he failed his friends. Atreyu may be young, but Noah Hathaway shows that child actors are more than capable of portraying emotions - watching him scream at his horse as it sinks into the swamp is one of the most heart-rending scenes I've ever seen. And watching the child empress pleading directly into the camera with tears running down her face melts the coldest of hearts.

In a nutshell: The Blu-ray package might be a bit sparse, but the film is still fantastic: A family film which isn't dumbed down, it doesn't patronise younger viewers by 'protecting' them from the darker side of life. Watching this at the weekend cuddled up with my two daughters (aged 3 and 5) was a special moment for me. Seeing my children absolutely enthralled in a film which I enjoyed as a kid is something which felt magical. After the film they raved on about it and told everyone about what they'd seen, it was clear that the depth of the film had effected them just as much as the fantastical story - the first thing they mentioned wasn't the flying "dog-dragon", or the evil wolf, or even a sneezing tortoise, it was how sad it was when a boy stood in the swamp and cried hysterically as his only companion struggled to make it out of the mud. This was a favourite film of mine twenty years ago, and now it's one of theirs. If it had been a brainless action flick then it wouldn't have achieved that. You don't just watch the film, you are part of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's Fantasy, 9 Oct 2014
By 
Robster (Preston, U.K) - See all my reviews
Based upon Michael Ende's celebrated novel The Neverending Story takes place in a world where dreams and reality become one through the power of a young boy's imagination.
Still mourning the loss of his mother, seemingly dismissed by his father and facing constant abuse at the hands of school bullies, a young, lonely boy named Bastian ( Barret Oliver ) finds sanctuary one morning running from school bullies in an old fashioned and dusty bookshop.
He finds the owner reading a book entitled " The Neverending Story " and is compelled to run away with the book, hide in his school attic and get lost within it's pages.
However, as Bastian reads the book, he finds himself strangely drawn into its pages, so much so that he is made to feel as if he is a living part of the story.
He reads that the world of Fantasia is under threat from the " Nothing " a hateful storm which is destroying Fantasia and all those who dwell in it, and it is up to a brave warrior, a young boy named Atreyu ( Noah Hathaway ) to find a cure for the guardian and ruler of Fantasia,The Childlike Empress ( Tami Stronach ) and restore the world back to it's glory.

Any fellow kid of the 80's will have fond memories of the classic 80's fantasy adventures that appeared on a regular basis at the local cinema when growing up ( Labyrinth, Legend, Dark Crystal & Return to Oz were favourites of mine ) and whilst certain effects in this particular film have aged ( when compared to the the modern capabilities today in special effects ) there is still much to be savoured here, from the adorable Falkor the Luckdragon ( voiced by Alan Oppenheimer - who also provided the voice of that other 80's icon SKELETOR from He-Man ) the dreamy score & theme song by Limahl, the message that we should " do what you dream " as well as the strong performances from the three young lead actors.

This all new Blu Ray release now comes with Special Features, including :

Reimagining The Neverending Story : 25 Minutes Long
( Such a shame that this fascinating Documentary has NO input from either of the two lead actors, Noah Hathaway or Barret Oliver, nor Alan Oppenheimer ( voice of Falkor, Gmork and The Rock Biter ) although Tami Stronach ( The Childlike Empress ) does feature, hasn't aged (?!) and looks absolutely beautiful )

Feature length commentary with Director Wolfgang Petersen

Restoration : 10 Minutes long ( German with subtitles )

The Making of The Neverending Story : 17 Minutes long ( German with subtitles )

Original 1984 Documentary : Fantasies : Nearly an Hour Long ( German with subtitles )

It also features the original Theatrical Trailer.

The sound and picture quality show no difference from the original vanilla disc Blu Ray release, but not being very technically minded i'm probabaly not the best person to dissect it's merits in regards to it's picture & sound quality, personally, I think it looks great and the special features attached to this release are great.

Highly Recommended for 80's Kids & Fantasy Fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The NeverEnding Story [DVD] [1984] [1985]
The NeverEnding Story [DVD] [1984] [1985] by Wolfgang Petersen (DVD - 2008)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews