Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth waiting for
I've waited a while for something like this to come along after reading reviews of previous gigasets. It was worth it.
I've had a few dect systems. Always 2 handsets and an answer phone. Firstly was a Philips jobby that I hankered to replace with something more snazy and mistakenly got a Magicbox system (the one with touch sensitive keys) and it was awful (kept...
Published on 6 May 2008 by N. Schofield

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality but a bugger to setup
Once you have it set up it does work ok. Setting it up is a nightmare and the help is no help. I suppose they have marketed this at buisness users so setting it up to use it home is tricky. I wanted to set up to use with Sipgate and Voipcheap. For some reason you have to pick your country. I set UK which means you cant pick sipgate because its German or Voipcheap because...
Published on 24 Nov 2008 by Run2Become


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality but a bugger to setup, 24 Nov 2008
This review is from: SIEMENS GIGASET S685 IP ECO DECT PHONE S685IP Twin Pack (Electronics)
Once you have it set up it does work ok. Setting it up is a nightmare and the help is no help. I suppose they have marketed this at buisness users so setting it up to use it home is tricky. I wanted to set up to use with Sipgate and Voipcheap. For some reason you have to pick your country. I set UK which means you cant pick sipgate because its German or Voipcheap because its Dutch. The setup is stupid to say the least I recommend turning your router firewall of until you have the basics. To make a VOIP call you first need to browse the settings to set the default line to VOIP then when you want a landline you need to switch back.

I also have a Nokia N96 with fring set up using Voipcheap as VOIP and also Truephone. The Nokia N96 is so much better.I wish the Siemens S685IP was a bit more intuitive. I have 2 handsets and it would have been nice to set one as landline and one as VOIP but its just not possible. The Siemens S685IP is a step in the right direction its just not really far enough for most home users.

One really important note is make sure you have a phone to use for emergancy calls. I had setup the phone to work with VOIP as 'Default Line' This worked fine. I had not set the settings of the VOIP to know what country I was in. So when my parntner needed to make an emergency call it did not work. Trying to reset the default line in an emergency is not the best. Luckly she had mobile and used this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth waiting for, 6 May 2008
By 
N. Schofield "Natt" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SIEMENS GIGASET S685 IP ECO DECT PHONE S685IP Twin Pack (Electronics)
I've waited a while for something like this to come along after reading reviews of previous gigasets. It was worth it.
I've had a few dect systems. Always 2 handsets and an answer phone. Firstly was a Philips jobby that I hankered to replace with something more snazy and mistakenly got a Magicbox system (the one with touch sensitive keys) and it was awful (kept activating speaker phone or hanging up when you touched the phone to your cheak).

So to the S68H (what the handsets are called):
* The keys are feel better quality than the other gigasets I pawed in shops.
* The IP telephony appears easy to set up, but is in the future for me
* It won't work with Skype, which is a shame (I'd hoped to become always on-line to distant releatives who use skype)
* The synchronisation works fully with most Outlooks (mine's 2007, on vista 32)
* It doesn't use the WLAN, only bluetooth ;-( so I had to buy a bluetooth dongle for my office PC where my main contacts file is
* It insisted on requiring the appending of the international dial tone and international area 44, before syncronising, so I had to remove the zero from teh front of all my contacts, as it then proceeeds to add 0044 to the front of all telephone numbers.
* But you only have to do this with one phone, you can send the directory to other handsets on the base station.
* Not synching contacts over wireless is very much like WindowsMobile devices, but odd considering you can adjust settings on the handsets through a web console just like you might on your router or switch.
* There's a couple of nifty screensavers, like getting weather forecasts for your village off t'internet and displaying a 5 day forecast.
* Or you can have it switch off all the back lights and be normal.
Speach quality is on a par with a swanky Jacob Jenses corded phone I've got.
* You can apparently pair bluetooth headsets, and I'm sure you can, but it didn't work first time with my Arcono that works with everything else I've thrown at it.
* It's nice not having the answerphone as a base station, means you can hide all but the handset and small cradle away. Any you can put all the handsets, where you like, even away from your phone line.

All in all, a pleasing purchase, one that I can't see something better than it appearing in the near future...

NB I was sent only the one handset package, an online request that I be sent an additional handset (as ordered) was resolved with the replacement arriving the next business day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gigaset are still in the Previous Century., 4 Oct 2010
By 
Dr. Michael J. Cross "Mike Cross" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SIEMENS GIGASET S685 IP ECO DECT PHONE S685IP Twin Pack (Electronics)
Before I bought this telephone I had Panasonic DECT handsets (with answer phone) on a PSTN line, and other Panasonic DECT handsets (with answer phone) on a SIP line. I wanted to use the Gigaset S685IP to unify this arrangement and to connect other SIP services.

Following two days of frustration I am returning the S685IP to the supplier.

1. There are reviews from satisfied customers, but I wonder if they pushed the telephone to get all the facilities working, or if they were satisfied with only basic operations. I worked through every facility I would eventually want, including importing from Outlook, to check that it would all work satisfactorily, and that my wife (who is not a techie) would find it intuitive. My view is that this implementation of technology is insufficiently intuitive, and that I will have to wait until there is a properly designed product out there.

2. You have the choice of configuring the phone directly from the handset, or of using the web interface. I have been waiting for years to program all the devices around the house from my PC, but designers are still trying to make us configure their equipment from tiddly screens that require hundreds of button presses. When will they harness the power of big PC screens, context-sensitive Help information, and wizards driven by artificial intelligence to make the decisions for you? Configuration of the S685IP seems to be driven entirely by the telephone which means that PC configuration is hamstrung before you start. The use of a PC confers little benefit on the whole process.

Hence, the web interface is very slow to respond, and the absence of context-sensitive Help or wizards to handle configuration make the learning curve steeper than it needs to be. Basically Gigaset (now transferred from Siemens to Sagem) has not done the work to make the phone easy to configure. In a few years time, they will be out of business if some one else makes the technology user friendly - as it should already be.

3. Bluetooth is necessary only to connect a headset; it appears to confer no other benefit.

4. The phone supports newsfeeds, but not from the UK. I don't want an American newsfeed.

5. Scrolling a newsfeed or encyclopedia is slow, jerky, and the font (which you cannot change) is too large for the window, so you sometimes only get two words on a line or 12 words on the screen at a time. Similarly, the large font produces a telephone directory listing of truncated names.

6. You can read emails as long as you don't want to access them via GMail; the phone will not support anything other than non-secure connections.

7. You cannot choose from whom you receive your weather feed, so you cannot choose the feed that gets the weather right in your area.

8. When you dial a number, the handset does not appear to display which outgoing telephone service you are using, so you cannot check that it is using the right line. This could produce big phone bills.

9. The base unit weighs very little, and because of the three wires that connect to it, skids around unless you screw it to the wall. Even a hatch in the base with a bottle you could fill with sand would weigh it down..

10. Registering a Panasonic GAP telephone to the base unit appeared to kill the system and de-registering the Panasonic phone left it dead.

11. Contacts are imported from Outlook through vCards, an obsolete format. You cannot import from a spreadsheet (eg CSV), and the input format is totally restrictive.

Why in the 21st century are Gigaset designers still back in the middle 20th? The company needs a bomb under it.

Lastly, LiGo appear to be an excellent supplier using FEDEX who delivered Next Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Setup - Easy Use - Great Quality, 18 Feb 2009
By 
B. Burrows (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SIEMENS GIGASET S685 IP ECO DECT PHONE S685IP Twin Pack (Electronics)
I bought these to get bluetooth (I know could have got a non Voip system but as I was replacing the phones I figured I would replace my voip ATA and have everything in one system).

Set up is really easy but I would recommend using a web browser (Use IE, Chrome is very slow with this and some stuff does not work, did not try FF) to connect to the base station rather than fiddling with the handsets.

If your going to use Voip just enter your sip details directly, the wizard is a waste of time (unless you use a major provider in the same country as you, in which case it MIGHT be in the list but you still have to enter you username/pwd etc). Once you saved your sip details and the page refreshed don't be surprised if you get a "Failed To Register" or similar message, hit refresh a few times before believing failure messages, after a few refreshes, if you got it all right it will say "Registered".

The "dialing plans" are pittifull compared to other systems and simply allow you to route numbers "beginning with xxxxx (upto 15 digits)" to one of the 7 available lines or block the call. You cannot alter the number dialed (eg for short codes, line selection, hotline, warmline etc). However, you can select what line you want by adding #<Line> to the end of any number you dial. All in all dial plans are rubbish but should not cause to much issue for a home user and are easy to set up (unlike other systems).

Bluetooth is easy to set up and works well (I have a Nokia headset).

Call voice quality is great but I have not played with the codec options too much yet.

Base station is seperate from the hanset chargers so you can hide it away with your internet router etc.

Contrary to a previous reviewer:
-You CAN set different handsets to use different lines by default.
-You don't have to switch the default to make a voip call then switch back as he indicated, if you want a different line to the the default, just add #<linenumber> to the end of the number your calling.
-For emergency calls you should have a dial plan set up to route them to the most appropriate provider (probably your land line) as is clearly stated in the user guide. Oh, and don't wait till you need it to set that up !!
-Unless you have a very tied down setup you should not need to change setting on your router (though changing your QOS settings to prioritize voip traffic would be a good idea)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ip phone, 6 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SIEMENS GIGASET S685 IP ECO DECT PHONE S685IP Twin Pack (Electronics)
This phone is simply superb, I have tried to install it in 2 places in the first location it was "plug and play" in the second it needed port forwarding and I still testing to see if the SIP line fails when file sharing software is used however that could be the modem (it is a siemens router as well that is why this review is 4 stars though i would prefer to give 4.5)Complaints of difficulty switching lines are a simple non starter there are multiple ways the easiest being to set one of the 2 configurable buttons to be the ip line and default land line but the prefix routing is the best way, my wife has no idea which line she is on international calls it is seamless. Functions are comprehensive, useful and accessible which is a first for a house phone that I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, good quality, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SIEMENS GIGASET S685 IP ECO DECT PHONE S685IP Twin Pack (Electronics)
great phones, work well with VoIP. design is a little dated now, but functionality is comprehensive and exceptional at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To complicated for its own good, 12 Nov 2009
This review is from: SIEMENS GIGASET S685 IP ECO DECT PHONE S685IP Twin Pack (Electronics)
What can I say about this product, It does everything it sets out to do but does it have to make it so complicated! The phone book is a real pain to set up, and this is made worst by the fact that it has to be set up on each phone, Any changes you make on one phone doesn't copy through to the other.

Also once you have finaly set up the network it is no means easy to explain to a non Tech Partner how to use the thing!

Finaly the look and operation of the phones seem cheap and plasticy compared to Mobile phones, one day I will be able to buy a house phone that works as well as a Nokia mobile phone but until then, this will have to suffice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews