Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not what might be expected.
With album number 3 you could be forgiven for thinking Ashlee Simpson has departed with her pop/rock roots for a more polished pop/r'n'b combo that everyone seems to find it necessary to do. It is however no true. Working with Timbaland & Chad Hugo (of the Neptunes) has not sent her down the seem route as everyone else on the charts at the moment. Lead single 'Outta My...
Published on 18 April 2008 by Music fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The same producers as Madonna...arguably a more inventive record
It's no real secret that I think that Ashlee Simpson is, ahem, a bit of alright but the real interesting factor on the release of her third album, Bittersweet World is that is come at roughly the same time as Madonna's Hard Candy. Intriguing as both make copious use of Timbaland and The Neptunes (with Madonna siding with Pharrell as Ashlee makes use of Chad Hugo) at the...
Published on 24 May 2008 by IWFIcon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not what might be expected., 18 April 2008
This review is from: Bittersweet World (Audio CD)
With album number 3 you could be forgiven for thinking Ashlee Simpson has departed with her pop/rock roots for a more polished pop/r'n'b combo that everyone seems to find it necessary to do. It is however no true. Working with Timbaland & Chad Hugo (of the Neptunes) has not sent her down the seem route as everyone else on the charts at the moment. Lead single 'Outta My Head (Ay Ya Ya)' is being well received in the UK so-far and is a catchy pop song deserving of sucess due in part to Timbalnds beats.
As for the rest of the album, it is still very pop-rock much like her previous efforts. More so than you might think. Tracks like 'Rule Breaker' 'No Time For Tears' 'Ragdoll' and second single 'Little Miss Obsessive' stick to the familiar ground explored by previous albums (though do sound a little more up-to-date) whilst other tracks like 'Murder' adds a slight reggae tone to the tracklist and 'Hot Stuff' pokes fun at 'cheap' women. The only slow tempo track on the album is the final track 'Never Dream Alone' which is delivered with a surprising level of emotion and sincerity.
Overall this is an album true to Ashlee Simpson's own style - light-hearted pop/rock with a dash of humour thrown in for good measure, whilst tweaking the formula just a little to resent aslightly more grown-up persona. Previous fans will definately enjoy this and any fans of pop in general should consider giving it a spin as you might be surprised that Ashlee has delivered third time around a lot better than she did first and second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, infectious and great!, 30 May 2008
By 
Sam "kingathon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bittersweet World (Audio CD)
I was/am not too keen on Ashlee's first album-Autobiography. For me there were a couple of fantastic songs (Pieces of Me, Shadow), but aside from that many of the tracks and sounded similar. I love her second album- I Am Me, dark and rocky and it has many great songs, my favourites being Boyfriend and Beautifully Broken. However this is album is totally different from I Am Me, but achieves the same level of greatness. It is a fun, party type album and would appeal to people who love listening to fun, upbeat music.
1. Outta My Head (Ay Ya Ya)-The first single, not my favourite track, but definitely an original one and it was brave to try something so radical and different. 8/10
2.Boys-Absolutely brilliant, electronic sounding track. Totally infectious and supremely catchy. Love it! 10/10
3.Rulebreaker-An innovative take on a rap track. 7/10
4.No Time For Tears-This is really growing on me and the vocal is really good here. 9/10
5.Little Miss Obsessive-Probably should have been the first single from the album, a brilliant track! 10/10
6.Ragdoll-My favourite track on the album, robotic and powerful-it's actually perfect! 10/10
7.Bittersweet World-Another stunning track-the title track and once again has a good message. 9/10
8.What I've Become-Kinda similar to Bittersweet World and in that respect its not my favourite track, but its a decent listen. 7/10
9.Hot Stuff-More innovative stuff from Ms Simpson and its once again fantastic stuff. 9/10
10.Murder-This is another very strong track. 8/10
11.Never Dream Alone-The only ballad on the album and it doesn't disappoint in the slightest; a great ending. 9/10
BONUS TRACKS:
12.Invisible-A rocky and interesting track. 8/10
13.Pieces Of Me-Her most successful track from album one, a great pop song, although doesn't match the feel of this album. 9/10
14.Boyfriend-This is probably her most successful song to date and it is easy to see why. 9/10

Don't be prejudiced against Ashlee Simpson, because of negative reports-I saw her in Chicago and she can sing and is extremely talented. Her vocals on this album are great and the production adds another dimension which has created a five star album. Bring on album four....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 27 May 2008
This review is from: Bittersweet World (Audio CD)
This is probably Ashlee's best album so far. If you were to add Ashlee Simpson, Gwen Stefani and Timbaland together in a human blender, you'd end up with this. I can honestly say, there isn't a bad song on here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The same producers as Madonna...arguably a more inventive record, 24 May 2008
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bittersweet World (Audio CD)
It's no real secret that I think that Ashlee Simpson is, ahem, a bit of alright but the real interesting factor on the release of her third album, Bittersweet World is that is come at roughly the same time as Madonna's Hard Candy. Intriguing as both make copious use of Timbaland and The Neptunes (with Madonna siding with Pharrell as Ashlee makes use of Chad Hugo) at the production helm.

What is most interesting is that whilst Madonna has gone straight for the obvious, radio friendly sound, Ashlee Simpson has been pushed in the direction of the more interesting and, dare I say it, less ordinary sound. So whereas Madonna's album is chock full of exactly what you would expect, Bittersweet World surprises at almost every turn.

Lead single Outta My Head was a fine slice of 80's influenced pop and it's hardly the only thing worth listening to on here. Boys, Rulebreaker and Murder are the kind of things that snobby music critics would find some merit in if Kylie/Gwen Stefani/Rhianna did, but it's probably true that Simpsons' deleterious public image automatically rules out any praise.

Like her previous albums, it's in no way a "must-hear" album but like her previous efforts it contains enough catchy pop tunes to make it somewhat of a worthwhile listen. She may be totally directed by her expensive producers and she may not have much to say that is worth listening to, but that's not done Madonna any harm for the past decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Firing on both octaves, 13 May 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bittersweet World (Audio CD)
Ashlee Simpson's third album is a collection of pop/dance tracks sleekly produced by the "popular guys" like Timbaland and Chad Hugo. To her credit, Simpson co-wrote all the songs on the album, and barring any lip-syncing accidents, it should do just fine.

Not the strongest of vocalists, Simpson relies on dance beats and catchy choruses, a prime example being first single "Outta My Head (Ay Ya Ya)" which has both. A better song that's a little more Avril Lavigne pop/rock-y is the second single "Little Miss Obsessive", which is about a break-up for which reconciliation isn't quite out of the question.

"Boys" is a funny upbeat track, while "Rule Breaker" sounds like something intended for Gwen Stefani, as does "Ragdoll". "Hot Stuff" is another funny dance track, and you won't be able to resist the disco beat. "Murder" has an interesting Eastern vibe which partially makes up for lyrics. The album ends with the simple and unimpressive ballad "Never Dream Alone", but the weakest track in every way is the title track, sorry to say.

Completely and thoroughly mainstream pop, get this one just for the fun of it.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just WOW., 3 May 2008
By 
Ms. R. E. Parton "quackquack_29" (Blymhill,Staffordshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i love this album to pieces. i think it is WAY better than Autobiography & I Am Me, although they are really good albums :). i was curious to see what ashlee was going to do when she said she was changing her direction a little bit - and this album defintely does not dissapoint. The tracks on there will have you dancing, especially boys, and bittersweet world (which is the title track of the album, and should defintley be a single.) murder is a song that i wasn't keen on at first - it's really r'n'b sounding, but now it's really grown on me. all the tracks on there are amazing - you won't be disappointed if you buy this album - i certainly wasn't =). And never dream alone is a beautiful song - it's slow and just delicate if you can call a song elegant. Probably one of my favourite songs off the album. Overall, it's an amazing album. Congrats Ashlee, you've done a really really really AMAZING job with your third album. fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outta this world........, 18 July 2008
By 
W. Greenwood "Wendz" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bittersweet World (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed Ashlee's first 2 albums, but this one is her best yet! Wow starting with the killer single "Outta my head", which really gets the album going, definately one of the best off the album, then to "Boys", which is similer sounding to her older stuff, Rule Breaker another great track, which you can't help turn up! No 4 "No time for tears", is a lovely song vocally for Ashlee, Then my fave "Little Miss Obsessive", by far the best song yet, what a brilliant collaboration! "Ragdoll" is another fun song to listen to, while "What I've become" adds a bit of rock... back to the old Ashlee! A great dance song has to be "Hotstuff" just awesome! "Murder" is a different kind of song but interesting, then to a beautiful ballad "Never dream alone" - pure genius!

Great album........ Outta this world!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 27 Aug 2008
By 
I. Attah (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bittersweet World (Audio CD)
This album is so good. I admit, I am somehow a fan of this girls music! Autobiography was a great album, then I loved the releases from her second -'boyfriend' is a fab song to throw your head to! Then she hits us with this new album 'Bittersweet world'

Very easy to sing along to, and to dance to! I would love to hear 'boys' in a club! Generally a great pop album, i love 'murder' so dark and mysterious!

Not sure why this hasnt done as well as it should have, I guess it must be a fall-out from the SNL thing but I say credit where credit is due.

5 stars - Good solid pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillantsweet Album!, 1 Jun 2008
By 
Mrs. A. J. Burke "A Mediator Fan" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bittersweet World (Audio CD)
Sorry for the weird title, but this album is amazing!! After listening to 30 second clips of the tracks i was so eager to buy the album, but i was on an american i tunes and it wasnt out in the UK till the end of May. So i got it off eBay!

The tracks are amazing just because you've listened to Outta My Head Ay Ya Ya, dont let it put you off buying it!!

I would rate this album 4 and a half. It would of been 5 put i hate the ballad at the end of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BITTERSWEET WORLD; BITTERSWEET C.D, 22 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully crafted album (alot of which Ashlee has co - written) Still embodies alot of her previous teen flick music style beneath a surface of pop angst. Think AVRIL LAVIGNE: THE BEST DAMM THING and you're halfway there. Melodies, tinny sounds variating chalkyish vocals make the c.d worth a listen. Some tracks you will love; others you will hate. Definetly Bittersweet as the title suggests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bittersweet World
Bittersweet World by Ashlee Simpson (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews