Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Any Mac Gamer
Anyone that has played C&C before will know the format. Tiberium Wars still stands out as the leader in build your resources and obliterate your opponent. The ability to set the AI of your opponents as Turtles or Aggressive etc adds some longevity to the Skirmish mode of the game. The story line mode does throw in a lot of challenges at the higher difficulty...
Published on 29 Sep 2008 by Mr D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same
This is a good game. However, it would be much better if there was a "General Challenge" option.
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by Tiago Morais Caldas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For Any Mac Gamer, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Mr D (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Anyone that has played C&C before will know the format. Tiberium Wars still stands out as the leader in build your resources and obliterate your opponent. The ability to set the AI of your opponents as Turtles or Aggressive etc adds some longevity to the Skirmish mode of the game. The story line mode does throw in a lot of challenges at the higher difficulty settings.
In short it is a good follow on from the Generals series, no real improvement on the graphics front, but good to be back to the GDI, the NOD and the new Skrin.
Not sure why the other reviewer had some issues, I downloaded the patch for Leopard and the game fired up first time and with no issues.
Marked down as even on a 2.8Ghz 4MB 24inch iMac it can struggle graphics wise when the nuclear bomb goes off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great C&C, 4 Mar 2009
By 
B. Hamilton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Apart from the shockingly bad technical support (which is an added bonus with most mac games) this command and conquer is excellent. I noticed the graphics haven't improved enormously since Red Alert but that's not really why you buy these games. You can play a campaign with GDI ('goodies') and NOD ('baddies') and when you finish all that I think there's an add-on that you can download to the game from the website which includes different maps and units and so on. So far I've only played GDI but I really like the way the game has made teams of infantry units - you can no longer buy only one rifleman - they come in teams. The infantry's worst nightmare, the commando, is back - with a jetpack, and the sniper unit comes as a team of shooter and spotter which is also pretty cool. If you think it looks a bit 'spacey', like I did, it's actually not so bad - there aren't too many weird lasers and zap sound effects. Oh, it's also full of really funny cheeeeesy videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy nostalgia trip, 4 April 2010
By 
Lauri Kangas (Espoo, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I was a great fan of the original Command & Conquer and first Red Alert in the day. I hadn't really played anyting for years now, but recently Downloaded Tiberian dawn after EA released it for free and played through VMWare. This got me started, but performance wasn't too great and the graphics are of course dated. I ended up ordering this native version of Command & Conquer 3 and have been very happy. For me this is a worthy successor to the original. I don't have time to get too involved with games anymore and prefer to just unwind with a game occasionally, so being able to adjust the difficulty comes in handy (I play normal). The graphical quality is also more than enough for me especially for this type of game.
Being able to run the game on my 13" Macbook Pro with a GeForce 9400M is also essential. I have the graphics set a bit too high for perfect performance as I prefer the extra detail and can hold my own in the campaign mode even if the game is sometimes a bit choppy. If you want perferct performance, you'll need to settle for less quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 7 Sep 2009
By 
T. Howe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
The only good mac game you'll find for under a tenner!
Runs smoothly (needs a fast machine of course) but very reliable. Only criticism is it doesn't support my external soundcard. Other than that, graphics and core mac sound work fine. Very pleased with tihs purchace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game for the Mac, 24 May 2009
By 
technojunkie (Lutterworth, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
A brilliant Command and Conquer game for the Mac! Slightly unfair that someone had a technical issue and feels they should give it a one star due to them running Leopard!

This game is brilliant and the graphics, sound and gameplay are fantastic! 5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours and hours and hours etc great game., 6 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Originally played this on my friends computer and was instantly hooked. There is a lack of good games on the Mac and some of the ones that are available are ported awfully. This however is not one of them still worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 30 Dec 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
This is a good game. However, it would be much better if there was a "General Challenge" option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who knows?, 8 Aug 2008
By 
Clockwork Cow (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars, a good game? I have no way to tell.
Firstly before the game will even start, you will need to go to the website and download more than 150Mb of updates, if you are running Leopard.
When this still won't work, you can try writing to their tech support.
EA Support are happy to give you cheats for their games, but if you are wanting actual tech knowledge, you are going to be very disappointed. One guy even went to far as to say that EA doesn't support OSX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For mac - NO, 7 Feb 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Just don't bother on mac. it's just a bad idea.

If you do want it, at least use mouse, I'd just say to go on the app store and buy something from there or buy a games console. A really good game that is strategy is Age of Mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac)
Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars (Mac) by Electronic Arts (Mac OS X)
Used & New from: £24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews