Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Adventure
National Treasure is a fun, family orientated action adventure, nothing more, nothing less. All the usual bits are here, the romantic interest, the humourous sidekick, father-son reunion but even with all these common elements movies don't always work. This one does thanks to a fun plot and good chemistry between the actors. Not an intellectual challenge, just a couple of...
Published on 23 Jun 2006 by S. Doyle

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed down Da Vinci Code
"National Treasure" is probably the first of a string of films set to cash in on the "Da Vinci Code", "Angels and Demons", "Rule of Four" phenomenon that has set the world of paperback fiction alight over the past year or so. Like most of these novels , "National Treasure" popularises some hitherto arcane secret society knowledge and combines this with riddle solving...
Published on 2 May 2005 by L. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good clean fun, 3 Nov 2006
By 
It's a good pantomime romp that shouldn't be taken too seriously. Easy to watch. Family entertainment. Thoroughly enjoyable. A fantasy adventure that isn't particularly challenging, but it keeps you watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buried Treasure, 28 July 2005
By 
Donald Thompson "waldo357" (Belfast N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A bit of faux history and chance to run amok through some of Americas most historic buildings is the real reason why this movie is here. Good fun and even vaguely plausible. Nicolas Cage is slightly more nerdy than usual and none the worse for it. The usual suspects are all here, genius nerd, attractive expert, smart ass side kick, baffled FBI and the obligatory English villain. We know he's a villain because he's English. Hollywood get a new formula. Chasing the lost treasure of the Knights Templar, not the Holy Grail, Dan Brown take note, Cage is merely following an old family tradition passed on to him by his grandfather. His father though is utterly unimpressed, but for someone who detests the family "curse" he knows a lot about it. The action, both physical and for once mental is non-stop. For an american audience easy to follow, but for others a little background knowledge will enhance your enjoyment. Splendid performances throughout, good score and tight direction. Only letdown are the obvious studio sets, but given what goes on no building was going to let them in for real. See this movie at least twice, even better second time round if you know nothing about american history. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp, 13 Nov 2013
By 
A very good cast held together by the subdued performance of Nicolas Cage.

Although this is a Disney film and has great elements of action,adventure and fun,credit to Cage for holding back and turning in a serious exhibition.He could so easily have gone in for over-the-top as in Con Air [DVD] [1997] or Face/Off [DVD] [1997].

Jon Voight seemed on the cusp of playing his role comedic but also held back all of which contributed to a terrific adventure suitable for all the family.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High adventure, 1 Jun 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a cracking Disney movie with intrepid, engaging heroes, dastardly villians and an enjoyable quest. As with many movies from the Disney stable this thing has a great sense of fun, it's well paced and has plenty scenes of peril and adventure. No swearing or blood n guts and it doesn't treat viewers as though they're complete morons either which is a massive bonus! The kids love this and watch it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joyous boys own yarn full of the serial silliness of similar movies past and present., 31 Dec 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Hee, for a family adventure film that made a profit of over $247 million at the worldwide box office, you would think there would be more people standing up for the film and its subsequent sequel. Yet admitting to enjoying National Treasure is frowned upon, like it was some fluke of a hit and anyone bold enough to stick up for it clearly has taken leave of their respective senses.

National Treasure is what it is in simplistic terms, a rollicking good adventure yarn, one that is ripe with outlandish writing and implausibilities a go go, in other words fun fun FUN! Detractors can call it an Indiana Jones rip off all they like, but really what is wrong with that formula being followed anyway? Is it not allowed to be copied? Bizarre given that the Indy films owe their very being to a handful of action adventure films of old. While comparisons to The Da Vinci Code are fair if out of context given the target audience for the Tom Hanks starrer.

Plot basically finds Nick Cage as Benjamin Gates, a historian and cryptologist who is searching for some lost treasure once protected by the Knights Templar. Hired by Ian Howe (Sean Bean), Gates finds an important clue but is betrayed by Howe and his cronies and has to continue his search with Howe hot on his tail. Along for the ride with Gates are National Archives expert Dr. Abigail Chase (Diane Kruger) and computer whiz kid Riley Poole (Justin Bartha). Story lurches from one clue to another, with much crash banging and escapades aplenty, while Harvey Keitel's cop enters the fray when the film's MacGuffin is stolen.

National Treasure is streamlined for the family audience, yes some of the cryptic wafflings will go over youngsters heads, and for sure it helps to have a modicum of American history knowledge, yet this is still a picture the whole family can enjoy whilst sitting in the same room together. It obviously lacks an end of the world peril, or the breakdown of religious society, but the action does flow and drama is not in short supply (the Declaration of Independence scenes are expertly constructed). The cast, with the exception of the bland Kruger, attack the material with the requisite tongue in cheek gusto, particularly Cage who makes geeks cool and Bartha with astute comic ability, and viewing it in High Definition reveals some beautiful colour photography by Caleb Deschanael.

Credulity is stretched, it goes over the top and malarkey often reigns supreme, but the makers aren't making a cerebral thriller. They achieve exactly what they set out to do, to make a fun action mystery adventure film that doffs its cap to films of previous years. Roll on to the sequel, I hope it's equally as fun and outlandish... 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action filled, 14 April 2005
By 
D. L. Morfett "muffet" (Dunstable, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a particular fan on Nicholas Cage, but this film looked like everything that had done before,and i wasnt overly keen to go and see it. I was glad i did however.
A lot of the descriptions of this film focus on the kidnapping of the Declaration of Independance, this is a major part of the plot, but not the only part. After discovering the first clue, the group that all went together, decide to split, as Benjamin Gates (Cage) decides he cannot steal the Declaration of Independance, then realises the only way to save it, is by stealing it first.
From the race to steal this document, you then follow the two groups, racing against each other, working out the clues, and trying to beat each other to the next one. There is barely time for breath, as each team moves on to the next place.
It is very interesting to watch how they work out the clues from money, and other seemingly insignificant items,that will have you looking at things differently in future!!
Not only is Benjamin Gates battling against the other team (a very good Sean Bean leading it) he is battling against his family,who think that the treasure he is searching for doesnt exist.
I thoroughly enjoyed this action packed film, and the ending is a great climax. There are comic moments with Benjamin Gates two comrades, making this an all round enjoyable film.
Children will enjoy it, although may not entirely understand it. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rather nice if you're in the right mood, 8 Oct 2006
By 
Mark Grindell "Mark Grindell" (Driffield, East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Remarks about freemasons notwithstanding, I found this very entertaining and in places, very endearing. I am surprised to see Nicholas Cage doing so well as a soft spoken hero, he does a good job being quite different from Harrison Ford in similar roles, which is refreshing.

What I really enjoyed about the stoy was the constant commentary on the founding of the USA and it's origins, which is a subject that I am engaged with very much at the moment. There is little in the way of engaging action, but much in the way of character exposition and story telling. It is certainly suitable for quite young kids too, which is a big plus in our household.

I wonder how much about the details regarding the Freemanson is really true. This is, again, an interesting subject to get tickled about....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raiders of the Lost Masons, 4 Jun 2008
By 
Second time watched and I got more out of it this time.

Lots of action, lots of clever effects, clever plot worth the rental

Nice to see Sean Bean as a baddy for once

Looking forward to Treasure II
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lighthearted family entertainment, 21 Jun 2005
This is like a modern day Indiana Jones film. It's harmless and inoffensive and could be watched by the whole family. I personally thought it was quite a good film and enjoyed the storyline, even though it wasn't exactly taxing on the brain. You could kind of guess what was going to happen but it's nice to watch a film every now and then that doesn't rely on special effects and bad language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An example of the ultimate perfection of the human mind., 26 Dec 2007
By 
NK Petraki "MA ADM Natalie Petraki" (Crete, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Absolutely brilliant!

The most magical film I have ever seen, with the right combination of actors, adventure, suspense, and the ability to make viewers actually THINK. First class script and top quality. Starts as a usual adventure, and throughout the plot we can follow the director's sequence of ingenious thought. We gradually realize that this film has something more to offer, than any other usual adventure. I was left with my mouth open! Many congratulations to the people who worked for it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Treasure (2 Disc Steelbook Collector's Edition) [DVD]
Used & New from: £25.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews