Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars God Rot Tunbridge Wells - the life of Handel
Fantastic that this film came out on DVD, having previously only been on TV, about 15 years ago ! The production company makes no pretense - it is made on a low budget - also as it is old, the quality is very grainy and sound quality in some parts is dated, but overall it is a must film for any Handel fan. I wouldn't be put off by the low budget production.
Published on 27 Dec 2010 by Jalubey

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too ambitious for a low budget film
A 'blind purchase' that I did not enjoy. The sound and picture quality are well below par, and the film is largely (except for 'contemporary'scenes) a visual tableaux over which trevor howard/Handel narrates his life. Same actors/actresses and same sets depict different countries and peoples, so little sense of place. Ultimately a radio production would have made far...
Published on 1 May 2011 by des hill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars God Rot Tunbridge Wells - the life of Handel, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: God Rot Tunbridge Wells - The Life of Georg Frederic Handel [DVD] [2008] [NTSC] (DVD)
Fantastic that this film came out on DVD, having previously only been on TV, about 15 years ago ! The production company makes no pretense - it is made on a low budget - also as it is old, the quality is very grainy and sound quality in some parts is dated, but overall it is a must film for any Handel fan. I wouldn't be put off by the low budget production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch before you Buy?, 16 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: God Rot Tunbridge Wells - The Life of Georg Frederic Handel [DVD] [2008] [NTSC] (DVD)
I haven't bought this DVD yet(but I am going to).
If you are undecided you can watch the whole film(yes whole film) here on YouTube to help you make up your mind!

Well,it seems Amazon doesn't want me to post the link(it is not showing)

Just go to YouTube and search for "God Rot Tunbridge Wells"and you will see the complete film listed.
Which is what I did,and so am going to buy the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too ambitious for a low budget film, 1 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Rot Tunbridge Wells - The Life of Georg Frederic Handel [DVD] [2008] [NTSC] (DVD)
A 'blind purchase' that I did not enjoy. The sound and picture quality are well below par, and the film is largely (except for 'contemporary'scenes) a visual tableaux over which trevor howard/Handel narrates his life. Same actors/actresses and same sets depict different countries and peoples, so little sense of place. Ultimately a radio production would have made far more sense for the Handel afficionado. The external shots of buildings show 20th century benches and street furniture, the internal shots show light bulbs, when a gramaphone (!!!!!) appeared the absurdity was complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, and rotten, 12 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Rot Tunbridge Wells - The Life of Georg Frederic Handel [DVD] [2008] [NTSC] (DVD)
A Tony Palmer film, a John Osborne script, a great narrator's voice and well-executed music in good sonic quality - and - as befits the film title - rotten picture quality (my copy is marked "NTSC", in spite of Amazon's information indicating "PAL"!). Altogether devastating and highly recommended! But be prepared for a really awful picture quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, unexpected, but it has its moments., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Rot Tunbridge Wells - The Life of Georg Frederic Handel [DVD] [2008] [NTSC] (DVD)
I can't see Handel in the way in which he's portrayed here. It's not a bad film though, it has its moments, and the musical performances are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: God Rot Tunbridge Wells - The Life of Georg Frederic Handel [DVD] [2008] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is not a good film by present day standards. Some of it was just silly. Except for Trevor Howard, it is badly acted. It is far too distracting and gimmicky. However, the music is excellent. Lovely cameos from Emma Kirkby, James Bowman, Anthony Rolfe Johnson, to name but three, at the height of their powers.
Recommended for these musical extracts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes poor quality but great subject, 26 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: God Rot Tunbridge Wells - The Life of Georg Frederic Handel [DVD] [2008] [NTSC] (DVD)
Yes Volker Knopp exactly right, the DVD is of poor quality. I saw this film many years ago - I guess the late 60's - as part of an arts series. Also in the series I believe were great films on Delius and Elgar as well as others by Ken Russell (really worth checking out!) I can recommend them, much better quality but monochrome). Tony Palmer was always good value and if you can see past the "made for TV" film quality its still worth viewing, as Volker Knopp says "great music" and I might add a great interpretation by a "real actor" Trevor Howard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camilla, 18 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: God Rot Tunbridge Wells - The Life of Georg Frederic Handel [DVD] [2008] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great film. I especially liked the Handel-Scarlatti harpsichord contest. Great close-ups of high-speed keyboard playing, and keep an eye out for Scarlatti's oh-so-smug facial expressions....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews