Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Film
Fun to watch with the whole family, this is a typical Disney movie.
Girls will like it because of the ballet and boys will like it because of the football and Dwayne 'the rock' Johnson.

It's good fun, will make you smile, and is just a lovely film to watch together.
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by Stuff buyer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice film
I have just watched this film and I think it has a nice storyline. It's a typical Disney film and its theme is the relationship between a father (Dwayne Johnson) and his daughter who he didn't know he had. This film does not justify giving it any more than three stars. Worth a watch perhaps, especially if you're a Dwayne Johnson fan but a pretty standard film.
Published 12 months ago by Kagerou


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Film, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Game Plan [DVD] (DVD)
Fun to watch with the whole family, this is a typical Disney movie.
Girls will like it because of the ballet and boys will like it because of the football and Dwayne 'the rock' Johnson.

It's good fun, will make you smile, and is just a lovely film to watch together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Adam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Game Plan [DVD] (DVD)
I was very surprised to find that this move wasn't bad at all! I really wasn't expecting much and these kind of movies don't usually appeal to me, but this was really good fun.
Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson is great as the sportsman who likes to party and relax with his teammates and he really isn't a fan of children, so he's not to happy to find the ultra cute and cheeky Madison Pettis in the doorway of his luxury apartment, claiming she is his daughter. Cue lots of silly scenes and some touching moments and you've got a great Sunday afternoon film for the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rock Rules, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Haines (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game Plan [DVD] (DVD)
I did'nt think I would like this film, but it did'nt take long for me to change my mind. A mate had it on rental, I loved it so much I bought it myself. Its a really good story line an easy to follow, a film I could watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely family movie!, 3 Sep 2009
By 
C. Byron (Cleveland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Game Plan [DVD] (DVD)
This is a nice family movie, very typically disney with a happy ending. It has some funny moments and some that may make you cry (if your a softie like me!). My little boy is 6yrs old & he really enjoyed it as he found the American football element cool and the little girl very funny - recommended for a family night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “The Game Plan" on BLU RAY – Compatibility Issues On ‘US’ Copies For UK Buyers…, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The combo of American Football and Disney was always going to work and Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson ups this 2008 movie hugely by his sheer likeability.

But be aware that the 'US' BLU RAY of “The Game Plan” is REGION-A LOCKED - so it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK Blu Ray players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't). Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front – that won’t help.

Buy the standard UK issue instead - it's cheap - a looker on BLU RAY and a top family movie into the bargain…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I imagined it would be, 20 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Game Plan [DVD] (DVD)
On the face of it, this film doesn't appear to have much going for it with its by the numbers plot and schmaltzy hollywood ending I could see coming a mile off, but it is in fact rather good and the reason for that is simply that the Rock is a good actor indeed in comedy he would seem to be a great actor.
He plays Joe 'the King' Kingman an egotistical self-centred quarterback who one morning finds the eight year old daughter he never knew existed on his doorstep and the rest of the film is about how he comes to terms with this fact and the joys and anguish of being a father.
This film is entirely a star vehicle for the Rock, the only other characters of note are Kyra Sedgewick as his hard-nosed agent and Madison Pettis as Peyton Kingman, the rest of the cast including the lovely Roselyn Sanchez as his daughters (and his) ballet teacher and implied romantic interest are largely stock cardboard characters with little to do.
It doesn't matter though the obvious chemistry between the Rock (who I believe has a real daughter about the same age) and Maddison Pettis plus the Rock's self-depreciating charm and winning comedic talents are more than enough to make this a good if not great family film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Game Plan, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game Plan [DVD] (DVD)
This is another movie with Dwayne Johnson starring in a movie about an Americian Football star with a huge ego,
who suddenly finds out he has a Daughter that he never knew about,that upsets his way of life!!Pretty good on the whole!
Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Family Movie, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game Plan [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend this movie to any Disney fan - it's hilarious - with the added bonus of Dwayne Johnson/The Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 3 Aug 2008
This review is from: The Game Plan [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a great family film and a definate must see!
The storyline is gripping and my cousins and nephew fell in love with it, so did i!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, family film!, 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Game Plan [DVD] (DVD)
Now, I didn't think I would enjoy this, I am no where near into American Football (one being that I am British and to us that is Rugby), and thought that that's mainly what it was about but with a few catches. I was pretty wrong to be honest, because it's a wonderful heartwarming film with some really funny scenes. Dwayne Johnson is brilliant in it too. Another film where he proves he is more then just an athlete! Great for the family to sit down and watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Game Plan [DVD]
The Game Plan [DVD] by Andy Fickman (DVD - 2008)
£3.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews