Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still got Bad Manners
I was very much into the original Two Tone explosion and updated my collection onto cd over the years, Specials , Madness etc but I realised that the often ignored Bad Manners had not received the treatment. Whilst seeking their music online I quickly realised that it is really difficult to find cd's of their original albums. There are loads of 'greatest hits' and the...
Published on 10 July 2009 by Lee Wilson

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good manners turned bad
Imagine your worst thoughts to a maybe not favourite but certainly once favoured band. A best of cd (good so far), lets remix many of the tracks (oh no) and arrange the cd so that it plays from start to finish in one go with each song mixing 'flawlessly' into each other in a jive bunny style (whhaatt???). Truly a desecration of anyones material. Virtually nothing is left...
Published on 7 Mar. 2008 by Mr. G. Stubbs


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still got Bad Manners, 10 July 2009
By 
Lee Wilson "Lee" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking In The Sunshine - The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
I was very much into the original Two Tone explosion and updated my collection onto cd over the years, Specials , Madness etc but I realised that the often ignored Bad Manners had not received the treatment. Whilst seeking their music online I quickly realised that it is really difficult to find cd's of their original albums. There are loads of 'greatest hits' and the like but many seem to also have ropey 'live' recordings on them too.
This album seems to have the true best of from when I originally listened to Bad Manners. When I played it the memories all came flooding back and I remembered just how good Doug Trendle and the boys were. They actually had loads of big hits and were Top of the Pops regulars for years. In all a hugely enjoyable double cd, well worth the money, and good to listen to a great band whom I feel have been neglected musically over the years.

Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad songs? - Well I've heard too many!, 20 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Walking In The Sunshine - The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
An excellent release by a nearly-forgotten classic band. Bad Manners were stereotyped as the novelty act of the 2-Tone period, but if you listen to this double album you'll struggle to understand why.

Here is an album of fantastic music, of solid music, music you can dance to, music you can listen to again and again, with just that little edge of stupidity to it.

These CDs are full of classics: two top-fives, two top-tens, some top-twenties, top-forties, and a host of album tracks that demonstrate that Buster & co were more than the mere clowns they were made out to be. A quick check of their 'hayday' albums will show that they tended towards a rough 50-50 mix of originals and cover versions, much like many of the 2-Tone ska bands they were associated with, and many of those covers are included here; but take out the tracks they didn't compose and you'll still have more than a single CD's worth of true brilliance here.

If you compare this album with their only other (to date) 'genuine' singles-retrospective, "Magnetism: the Very Best of Bad Manners", you'll find some small but important differences. The first is the most obvious: this is a double CD, whereas "Magnetism" is only one disc. The second (and only real negative to this collection) is that "Magnetism" contains the brilliant single "That'll Do Nicely", and this compilation weirdly misses it out. This is easily made up for however by the next difference: on "WITS - The Best Of...", you'll find the discs packed with high quality album tracks and B-sides that you'll struggle to find elsewhere. Finally, the great Rhoda Daker's sleeve notes and a couple of pictures put it all into context and remind you what a great band Bad Manners really were. After all, for a couple of insanity-packed years, they were basically synonymous with Madness.

Kudos for including the mental "Educating Marmalade", but some lyrics would have helped tremendously. I know there's a lot of songs included here, but from time to time Buster's enunciation wasn't the clearest of any lead singer in the world.

One more thing: this is NOT a re-mix or a live album. These are the originals. Sad songs? - Well I've heard too many. Buy this album instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars good manners turned bad, 7 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. G. Stubbs (Stafford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
Imagine your worst thoughts to a maybe not favourite but certainly once favoured band. A best of cd (good so far), lets remix many of the tracks (oh no) and arrange the cd so that it plays from start to finish in one go with each song mixing 'flawlessly' into each other in a jive bunny style (whhaatt???). Truly a desecration of anyones material. Virtually nothing is left as originally intended (true bad manners were never the 'top' of the pops but even so) with ridiculously cack-handed and cheap 'remix' tricks - as I played the cd first time around I thought it was my memory that was playing tricks as old school-hop faves played not quite as remembered. Turned out it was the cd. May the Good Lord hope they don't do this to anyone else's back catalogue. Buster must have upset someone. Good manners may cost nothing but even at this price it's truly bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ne-Ne Na-Na-Na NO-NO!, 7 Feb. 2006
This review is from: The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
This album is a disaster!
I've always liked the Baddies and I wanted to get a CD replacement for all those worn out cassettes with all the hits and best bits. This is not the album I should have bought.
This is a collection of very badly mixed live recordings re-recordings with just one original studio track (Skaville UK). The live recordings are appalling, some seems to have been recorded on a hand held cassette recorder, complete with auto recording level and some are even MONO! The mixes are far from professionally done - a sellotape and razor job. For example a space filler is a live version of Cider Drinker/Paloma Blanca. It has the introduction crudely re-spliced in order to pad the track out so that it covers a full 56 seconds in its entirety!
It seems as if all the hits are here, but 25 tracks with a total playing time of just under 50 minutes including two lousey 5 minute remixes and six tracks under a minute long (three under 30 seconds!) should have given the game away to me.
I spent £1.89 on this CD. Save your money, go for a bus ride instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST" BAD MANNERS BEST OF"-BY A MILE, 20 Oct. 2008
By 
Mr. P. Keighley "bonerra10" (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking In The Sunshine - The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
Well................To Start With..........This Is FAR FAR Better Than The "Special Brew" Best of That Came Out A Few Years Ago....By a COUNTRY Mile............Not ONLY Do We have ALL the Singles ( ....Including Some NOT On "Special Brew " i.e-- Just a Feeling, Walking In The Sunshine, Lorraine, Can Can, etc etc )........But ALSO we have Some Of Those FABULOUS Album Tracks From The First Albums AND B-sides!!!............I LOVED "Ben E Wriggle" And I have Been Searching For This For YEARS on CD...................FINALLY its Out :)

This Collection Completely ECLIPES "Special Brew" In My Opinion ....And I Have to Say............At The Current Price...This Is an Absolute STEAL Considering You get 36 Tracks..... This 2 Disc CD Gives Everything About What Bad Manners Were ALL About In Their heyday................

They may have Have Been Seen as a "Joky" Band In Their Heyday............But Actually They Were BRILLIANTLY Musical As well..................Buster Bloodvessel Will Be LOVING this Review!!!!....Lol

Seriously Though...............If You LOVE Bad manners and Their Style Of Ska...............You Will LOVE This Collection, Between This And "Special Brew" ...There Is NO Contest! Get it NOW!!!! Whilst Its In Stock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ADDITION TO COLLECTION, 23 Nov. 2008
By 
J. Jones (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking In The Sunshine - The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
This makes a great addition to a CD collection, both for die hard fans and nostalgic casual listeners. Surprisingly witty and well though out lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bad Manners collection., 6 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking In The Sunshine - The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
Best Bad Manners collection, so much better than "Special Brew", mainly for mixing quality but also content. Had worn out the tape versions of these, pleased to get then on CD.
If you intend to buy just one Bad Manners CD (why?) buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gherkin!, 13 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Walking In The Sunshine - The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
As others have commented, "best of" Bad Manners material on CD is woefully short. I transferred my vinyls to CD some years ago, but once you have lived without the pops and crackles it's hard to go back- so I was very happy when I picked this up recently (Tesco Exclusive??).
Suddenly I was 11 again- and I had completely forgotten about the classic that is Gherkin- (those little pieces!!).
Yes, Bad Manners were silly but I have had the privilege of seeing them live on numerous occasions and this- along with the fact that they were great musicians- is the reason why they were so good. There are the occasional serious numbers as well- though not many on this complilation.

It would be nice if there were a few more bands with this sense of fun around now...
Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking on Sunshine, 4 May 2012
This review is from: Walking In The Sunshine - The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
I haven't heard a lot of these tracks since seeing them live again a couple of years ago, although I have them on vinyl somewhere.
A real feel good album with some tracks that really shine.
I have played it in the car over and over.
A very under rated band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, now, THAT'S better..., 8 May 2014
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking In The Sunshine - The Best Of Bad Manners (Audio CD)
I love Bad Manners. There was an album I saw recently and I went for it, but oh, DEAR - the poor production. Ya know, when they say it's all been re-recorded, they mean it. Re-recordings of original songs are just not worth the pain. Fans will turn their noses up in disgust, I'm afraid.

This, however, is just how an album should be done, with every instrument in place, and vocals all correct, the timing spot on. It's called 'production', and it works. W.I.T.S. from Bad Manners is such an album. The Platinum Collection looks a sure bet, too. I'll be after that, next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews