Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outside edge
I remember seeing this on tv years ago and have always remembered it. The casting is superb, and the storyline hilarious,its cricket as you've never seen it before. From Rog, the overbearing captain, to sex mad Maggie and Kev it is an absolute joy to watch. A definite MUST TO SEE.
Published on 13 Feb 2009 by J. Green

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good material, poor quality DVD
Like the other offerings I have tried from Network the quality is poor. It looks almost as if it's been copied from a VHS recording 'off air', only the ads have been stripped out, each episode is still divided into multiple parts, complete with continuity cues.

Worth buying for the content, but I'll be loathe to buy more than I have if it's produced by Network
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by Rik Bean


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outside edge, 13 Feb 2009
By 
J. Green "Jan" (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this on tv years ago and have always remembered it. The casting is superb, and the storyline hilarious,its cricket as you've never seen it before. From Rog, the overbearing captain, to sex mad Maggie and Kev it is an absolute joy to watch. A definite MUST TO SEE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knocks other comedies for six, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
As someone who has played regular Sunday village cricket in the Home Counties for more years than I care to remember, Outside Edge is an absolute delight! I swear I KNOW characters spookily close to Alex and Kevin, not to mention several Rogers. This beautifully observed comedy is fairly gentle in pace, echoing the traditional version of our glorious Summer game. Obviously it pays to be fully au fait with the quirks of cricket - many of the funniest moments are on the field of play (well to this cricket nut anyway), but the off-field interaction between writer Richard Harris' splendid characters is equally rewarding and surprisingly profound in places. There is huge poignancy generated between the voluptuous Maggie (Josie Lawrence) and poor long-suffering Mim (Brenda Blethyn), as the latter contemplates how cold and sterile her marriage is to the ghastly Roger. I'm sure there will be many nods of sympathy from 'cricket widows' around the country at some of the ladies' conversations! The scene around 4 episodes in, where Roger finds Kevin wearing a dress is a genuine laugh-out-loud comedy tour de force which in my opinion ranks amongst the best Brit sit-com moments ever. Oh and it has to be said that Josie Lawrence has never looked sexier! Some 10 hours of TV bliss and an essential purchase for every cricketer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a bargain, 23 Mar 2009
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant show. All three series plus the corfu christmas special plus the original play featuring Prunella Scales and the late great Paul Eddington. An absolute bargain. Buy it . You wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSIDE EDGE - THE COMPLETE SERIES, 2 April 2009
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This is a jolly good DVD! We laughed til our sides ached - and then watched it again. If you enjoy a good English film then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 25 Aug 2010
By 
W. Hutchinson "whutchin2" (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This low key but brilliant skit on various middle class characters who are all so 'ordinary' but at the same time interesting. I really liked this and came from viewing it feeling good. It is a classy comedy drama without the normal off-putting music or lowest common denominator content. Lots of interest and character. Excellent and very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comedy drama, 21 Aug 2010
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
An unusual comedy where very strong undertones of poor interpersonal skills are displayed. The psychological aspects of marriages and relationships developed with acquaintances were brilliantly interwoven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outside edge, DVD, 22 April 2010
By 
C. Behan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD. Really amusing. Great cast. Great acting. You also get the original play with the original cast (TV series had second cast).

Really amusing. Fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cricket with a smile, 21 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as I loved the series so much. The humour is gentle and pokes fun at the human condition but in a mellow way. If you like to watch something that makes you smile, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Acting, 24 Sep 2009
By 
R. Robertson-Rowley "Bimbo" (Stafford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
A gem of acting abilities rarely seen in current day TV. Wonderful British sense of humour alongside some very moving performances. All went on to excel in tv, film and theatre. Wonderful series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Classic, 22 Feb 2010
By 
B. Couzens "Brisan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the classic comedy series ever made - a must have. You don't have to like or even enjoy cricket to enter into the world of these characters. Go on, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD]
Outside Edge - Series 1-3 - Complete [DVD] by Nick Hurran (DVD - 2008)
£19.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews