Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FINE series.
A Fine Romance ran from 1981 to 1984. Written by "The Good Life" co writer Bob Larby, A Fine Romance follows the growing relationship between two shy middle-aged people. It starred a giant of theatre (but generally at that time, unknown to television) Judi Dench as Laura Dalton, and her real life husband (also better known as a theatre actor) Michael Williams, playing...
Published on 1 Feb 2008 by L. Hill

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Romance
Perhaps if I had not watched "As Time Goes By' over and over again before I bought these I might have enjoyed it more. Whereas I found it to be disappointing in that it was slow and without the anticipated sparking humor I had expected.
Published 13 months ago by K Allan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Mother was extremely pleased to receive this box set. Admits it's dated, but you soon get caught up in the story and it's all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Romance, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't seen any of these yet but remember it from first time round . I know it will be enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this show., 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remembered watching this, when it was originally broadcasts.

It's as funny (and sad) as it was back then.

It's hard to believe that two characters, so ill at ease with one another, were being played by actors who were married to one another.

A truly brilliant piece of British comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless comedy, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This comedy series was great the first time I saw it years back and has lost none of its attraction and wittiness. If only we had writers capable of producing this timeless type of comedy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Romance, 15 April 2013
By 
Marjorie Mocatta (Sydney , Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Just started, bit slow in the beginning, but now on third episode more laughter, and I remember it getting funnier as it goes along..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but good, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Judi Dench in her usual brilliant acting, especially opposite her husband. How they didn't giggle all the time I don't know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Judy Dench, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A charming little comedy which was shown rarely on TV. Great to watch again. Judy Dench plays opposite her real life husband - Michael Williams, also a great actor - who sadly passed away in 2001
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great to get the whole series. Most of Judi's part comes through with just the looks she gives. No need for words! Very funny and wonderful to see Judi Dench and Michael Williams together. They were a great team and she must miss him dreadfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic series not to be missed, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a lovely series to watch with wonderful timing and humour by the cast. A comedy series that's just a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic tv series, 7 Jan 2013
By 
G. Bendle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this as am a fan of Dame Judi Dench and fondly remember this when this short lived series originally aired on UKTV in the 80s on a Friday nights, even though may seem a little dated now to me it is classic tv hit from my youth !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Fine Romance: The Complete Series [DVD]
£16.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews