Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost very good
It's a good film, almost very good. Quite humurous in places, but the film seems to lose it a bit two thirds through once it turns into a halloween slasher flick.
Published on 20 Mar 2011 by Paul H

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange little one
It's a bit of an odd film - funny in parts, a little scary in others without really delivering fully on either. I'm still unsure on this one but I know one things for sure - I won't be going cottaging again for quite a while.
Published on 9 May 2009 by Harry O'Lye


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A laugh out loud horror!, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I'm not a big fan of modern horror films. I'm more a Hammer Horror man but now and again they get it right. This is one of those times. Andy Serkis is brilliant as always and Jennifer Ellison is marvellous as the girl that no self respecting kidnapper would take unless they were ex SAS or something. The story makes sense and the script is solid. It had me jumping one minute and laughing out loud the next. A thoroughly enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars O.M.G. great film, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The language leaves a LOT to be desired.....BUT....

I never knew such words could come out of little Jennifer Ellison's mouth but she is brilliant and the whole film is very, very funny, with a very very dark humour...

Do not watch this if you are easily offended but my goodness it is a funny film. Goes to prove there is life in the
British Film Industry still .

I won't say much about the plot as I don't want to spoil it for anyone. Needless to say it is NOT what it seems..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny,funny film, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I absolutely LOVE this film!!.It's funny,it's scary,what's not to like! Couldn't watch it with my parents because of the language
(which is what makes it so funny)but they watched it seperately and loved it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For those who take a sqiffy look at life., 6 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. E. Almond (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This British film contains nuts and lashings of black humour. It is completely off the wall and I loved it. Anyone who takes offence should get out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little cracker, 11 July 2013
By 
Mr. P. L. Spearink (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is a surprisingly entertaining film. It shows what a bunch of good actors and producers can do on a budget. Nowhere near as gory as some and the plot has been done to death a thousand times but when the gore comes it is really surprisingly well done and will make you jump out of your skin at times. Well worth the money and one to watch more than once. Miss Ellison is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly hilarious!, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I am amazed at how funny this film is. My brother and I like a good slasher horror film but we were unprepared for the fits of hysterics we found ourselves in when watching The Cottage. The script is clever and the performances from the main characters are absolutely spot on. We had to pause and rewind in some parts while we waited to stop laughing. Some parts are definitely worth watching again anyway, either because they're very funny or very clever or both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny and bloody!, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Funny film..watch it!. Both me and my girlfriend thought it was one of the funniest films we had never heard of before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The cottage, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Another inbred mutant in the middle of nowhere movie. Jennifer Ellison plays quite possibly the most unlikable character ever and thank god she gets finished! Dark humour and British comedy abound in this movie which make it entertaining enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise effort, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Black humour, some gory bits, some twists and turn and a few 'never saw that coming'. Whats not to like ? Quite enjoyed it and proof we in the UK can do horror just as good as the Americans but with that added dimension, irony and tongue in cheek that they could never get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Decent British horror comedy, 5 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The Cottage was quite a surprise. The movie is cut from the same cloth as Shaun of the Dead without the zombies of course. The acting is ok, the script is just about passable.

There are many comedy moments within the film, especially the first forty minutes.
After that the over the top gore comes thick and fast.

If you don't like the usuage of the 'C' word this film may offend you. Personally I found it quite funny
just counting how many times the word was used.

All in all The Cottage is not landmark stuff but what it is and what it is successful at is entertaining you for 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cottage [DVD] [2008]
The Cottage [DVD] [2008] by Jennifer Ellison (DVD - 2008)
5.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews