Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost very good
It's a good film, almost very good. Quite humurous in places, but the film seems to lose it a bit two thirds through once it turns into a halloween slasher flick.
Published on 20 Mar 2011 by Paul H

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange little one
It's a bit of an odd film - funny in parts, a little scary in others without really delivering fully on either. I'm still unsure on this one but I know one things for sure - I won't be going cottaging again for quite a while.
Published on 9 May 2009 by Harry O'Lye


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost very good, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It's a good film, almost very good. Quite humurous in places, but the film seems to lose it a bit two thirds through once it turns into a halloween slasher flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 30 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Good laughs and good gore. Had me in stitches. Would highly recommend for lovers of black comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Severance in the UK, 11 Sep 2008
By 
R. Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Whilst not as good as Severance, The Cottage is an enjoyable and amusing romp in a similar style. Andy Serkis and his brother play off eachother well and Jennifer Ellison has to be everybody's idea of the kidnap victim you actually give back within five minutes. Personally I was absolutely delighted when she went too far with the one person you should actually be running rather quickly away from. I genuinely got a shock when pseudo-Leatherface turned up, not expecting something so entertaining to have quite such an unpleasant looking protaganist. A cover where the head is in the bucket sets the scene. You can't say you don't know what you're getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will probably become a cult film., 6 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Paul Andrew Williams is certainly building an impressive C.V. I recently watched London To Brighton [DVD] [2006] which was gritty and realistic and totally convincing.

This is a cross between Texas Chainsaw,Hills Have Eyes and a little bit of Predator thrown in.

It's very dark(not just because it's set at night)but is illuminated by spasms of outlandish humour that set it apart from the run of the mill comedy/horror vehicles that try to entertain us,usually disappointingly.

Its watchable from start to finish with no letup of gore or humour.A must have in your collection of successful offbeat films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cottage Inn!, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Fantastic comedy horror for fans of Severance and League of Gentlemen...and any other comedy horror you can think of. But definitely not for the narrow minded who clearly don't get it, and thus giving bad reviews of this great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange little one, 9 May 2009
By 
Harry O'Lye (Dangleberryville, Shropshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It's a bit of an odd film - funny in parts, a little scary in others without really delivering fully on either. I'm still unsure on this one but I know one things for sure - I won't be going cottaging again for quite a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... don't know whether this was intended to quite as funny as I found it, 5 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I don't know whether this was intended to quite as funny as I found it.
It was highly enjoyable to watch and recommended for some light hearted gore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You've seen it all before and it was better but it was not funnier, 25 May 2014
By 
Geoffrey Cole (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is like a drive-in B-movie, a cheap comedy-horror but with two outstanding leading actors giving it everything.
Andy Serkis and Reece Shearsmith make this little film.
In fact it's really Shearsmith's film, the cowardly, incompetent brother could be a League character and I love it because of him.

Jennifer Ellison hasn't much to do but plays along as well as anyone.
Don't expect anything too original in the storytelling just enjoy the performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What brits do best, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cottage [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I love this film. It's so under-rated.
More humorous than horror.
Andy Serkis is fantastic.
Typical Brits going wrong and wronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cottage [DVD] [2008]
The Cottage [DVD] [2008] by Jennifer Ellison (DVD - 2008)
5.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews