Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
This is a fast, reliable Blu-Ray recorder. What it doesn't mention on the box is: it's Mac-compatible. It works with Leopard, at any rate. It also burns dual layer disks, DVD and Blu-Ray, so there's a potential of 50 Gigs of storage on a single disk. A standard Blu-Ray disk gives you 25 G. Great for data storage and back ups. Essential for High Def video recordings.
Published on 9 Sept. 2008 by Macuser

versus
45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BE06LU10 LG External blu-ray writer
This writer works with Vista but is rather slow. Unfortunately with Windows 7 it is dreadful. It times out and refuses to write files of any size. It renders some discs un-writable. LG web site is very unhelpful and is incapable of understanding search for new drivers. I cannot find an updated driver for Windows 7. LG online help was not helpful either and could only...
Published on 19 Nov. 2009 by Grampop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 9 Sept. 2008
This review is from: LG BP40NS20 Portable External Blu-Ray Burner ReWriter + 25GB BD-R Bundle (USB2 3D HD Movie Player for PCs) (Electronics)
This is a fast, reliable Blu-Ray recorder. What it doesn't mention on the box is: it's Mac-compatible. It works with Leopard, at any rate. It also burns dual layer disks, DVD and Blu-Ray, so there's a potential of 50 Gigs of storage on a single disk. A standard Blu-Ray disk gives you 25 G. Great for data storage and back ups. Essential for High Def video recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burns Blu-ray discs for Mac, 16 Dec. 2010
This review is from: LG BP40NS20 Portable External Blu-Ray Burner ReWriter + 25GB BD-R Bundle (USB2 3D HD Movie Player for PCs) (Electronics)
After may problems finding a Blu-ray burner that is Mac compatible I checked the Apple forums and bought this burner. Burned my first Blu-ray last night from Final Cut Pro 7 and it looks amazing on my HD TV. It doesn't say its Mac compatible on the box but works plug and play and Final Cut Pro 7 recognises the drive. Much better that the £300 drive Apple sell from their website and can't even tell you if it works with Mac! Look around I bought this from another site for £132.

I'm running OS Snow Leopard 10.6.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BURNER, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20 Portable External Blu-Ray Burner ReWriter + 25GB BD-R Bundle (USB2 3D HD Movie Player for PCs) (Electronics)
MY LG BLU RAY BURNER IS READY GOOD , AND IT WORKS WITH MY IMAC , THE HD QUALITY OF MY DVD ARE SO MUCH BETTER THAN I THOUGHT THEY WOULD BE , BECAUSE THE LAST FEW YEARS DVD PLAYERS AND MY HD VIDEO RECORDER ARE REALLY GOOD QUALITY EVEN BURNED TO A STANDARD DVD -R DISC AND UP SCALED ON MY BLU RAY PLAYER .
WHEN I WATCHED MY FIRST BLU RAY DISC FROM MY MAC ( A WEDDING IN MEXICO ) THE COLOURS WERE SO VIVID AND CLEAR EVEN THE SOUND ON MY SURROUND SYSTYM WAS JUST LIKE BEING THERE ALL OVER AGAIN , THE LG BURNER IS QUICK AND IT BURNS STANDARD DVD -R MUCH MUCH QUICKER THAN MY BUILT IN BURNER ON MY I MAC , SO I AM REALLY PLEASED WITH QUALITY .
I HAVE SINCE PURCHASED TOAST TITANIUM SOFTWARE TO DO MUCH MORE ON MENUS AND MIX MORE THAN ONE BURNED PROJECT TO DISC , AND SAVE BLU RAY DISCS SPACE ...... WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT ..... DAVE , WALES.... UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BE06LU10 LG External blu-ray writer, 19 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: LG BP40NS20 Portable External Blu-Ray Burner ReWriter + 25GB BD-R Bundle (USB2 3D HD Movie Player for PCs) (Electronics)
This writer works with Vista but is rather slow. Unfortunately with Windows 7 it is dreadful. It times out and refuses to write files of any size. It renders some discs un-writable. LG web site is very unhelpful and is incapable of understanding search for new drivers. I cannot find an updated driver for Windows 7. LG online help was not helpful either and could only suggest that I used a national rate phone number to obtain this simple information. This does not encourage me to use any LG product in future and my advice to anyone contemplating buying this drive is DON'T!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bit of kit!!!!!!!!!!!!, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
Darren Wardell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG BP40NS20 Portable External Blu-Ray Burner ReWriter + 25GB BD-R Bundle (USB2 3D HD Movie Player for PCs) (Electronics)
Wow! Great bit of kit.I'm running on Windows XP Dual 2.1GHZ CPU with 3GB RAM which is lower than the spec LG recommend, and it still works fast and efficiently without any issues.I have made back up copies of Blu-ray discs that I've created, and others.;-)
The price is also outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blueray external burner rewriter, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20 Portable External Blu-Ray Burner ReWriter + 25GB BD-R Bundle (USB2 3D HD Movie Player for PCs) (Electronics)
excelent external machine not shure about bundled software.like the idea of including two 25gb recordable bdrs in the package.excelent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a standard player fro Blu-Ray Disks, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20 Portable External Blu-Ray Burner ReWriter + 25GB BD-R Bundle (USB2 3D HD Movie Player for PCs) (Electronics)
Was not aware that it didn't play back all blu-ray disks, it is only a burning device, not a proper player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20 Portable External Blu-Ray Burner ReWriter + 25GB BD-R Bundle (USB2 3D HD Movie Player for PCs) (Electronics)
Good results and value for money. Will also work with Apple i-Mac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG BP40NS20 Portable External Blu-Ray Burner ReWriter + 25GB BD-R Bundle (USB2 3D HD Movie Player for PCs) (Electronics)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews