Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvel's best.
Its been a long wait and just as we are slowly moving to the next format we get Marvel's back catalogue. This contains 7 episodes of season one listed above in the product description. Be aware though that a collection of seasons one a two together will be available in November. X-Men Complete Seasons 1 & 2 Box Set As of right now there is no extra features mentioned not...
Published on 2 Sep 2008 by Ms. N. Boden

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pre-order cancelled.
Anyone know why the first 2 seasons boxed set was cancelled? I had mine pre-ordered with a Nov. 17 ship date. I just received an e-mail saying the release was cancelled. Very disappointed.
Published on 29 Oct 2008 by Wm Kat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvel's best., 2 Sep 2008
By 
Ms. N. Boden "04nbod" (merseyside,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men - Season One Part One (Marvel Originals Series - 90s) [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Its been a long wait and just as we are slowly moving to the next format we get Marvel's back catalogue. This contains 7 episodes of season one listed above in the product description. Be aware though that a collection of seasons one a two together will be available in November. X-Men Complete Seasons 1 & 2 Box Set As of right now there is no extra features mentioned not available on the single disks.

You may also like to visit this site [...] for more information on future releases and special features.

On to this release. I've heard it criticised for being sparse on features and it is but we have to remember that there are 5 seasons to go through. Compare this to other releases where the early seasons are filled with extras that dry up and the run continues. What is on the set is a brief comparison collage of how the original tapes were restored for a better quality transfer. While watching this its astounding the work they have done but when watching the episodes themselves its taken for granted and unnoticable as we are immersed in the story.

As for the episodes themselves, some dialogue is over the top but the plots are great. Stylistically the show is the early 90's comics brought to life. Its a show that both kids and adults will enjoy. It works on multiple levels, funny jokes and good action but also thematic issues.

I would give this 5/5 if it had had more bonus features. Its excellent but it could have done more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 26 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: X-Men - Season One Part One (Marvel Originals Series - 90s) [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Finally! The complete 1st half of season 1 one of the best animated series ever! I live in the USA and these DVDs remain unavailable there, except in bootleg form. These are far better than any bootleg version. For anyone outside of the UK who's a fan of the Marvel animated series', buy yourself an all region DVD and grab these. You won't be sorry! Now we just have to wait for the slow pokes to release the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cartoon series, 15 Nov 2008
By 
S. Toor "stoor19" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men - Season One Part One (Marvel Originals Series - 90s) [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I remember watching this as a youngster on DJ Kat in the 90's and I thought it was absolutely brilliant! The reasons for this are that it had great, movie-like story lines which often had an intelligent theme which people could really relate to, such as persecution, discrimination, time-travel, the role of machines for man's protection, coupled with the whole diverse mutant super power action. But the true greatness of the tv series was the fact that it was NOT dumbed down for little kids and could appeal to a wider age group. It was like the comic books but brought to tv animation. Its a shame that a few final episodes of the last season started to lose its sophistication and eventually tv execs sort to cater for a younger audience who wanted to see x-men crossed with saved by the bell and created the travesty 'X-Men Evolution'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mutant Liberation Begins..., 19 Aug 2008
By 
K. Snowdon "KARL05" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men - Season One Part One (Marvel Originals Series - 90s) [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
All good things come to those who wait and boy have we waited! This is a cartoon series made around 15 years ago that I first came across on Sky One's Saturday morning DJ Cat Show back in the 90's. I was hooked straight away. The animation, character backgrounds, character interaction, explosive action & superb episode storylines with an overall story arc throughout the entire series kept you wanting more. (Similar to what Heroes is now). Each series lasts around 13 episodes and always culminates in an climactic ending, so it is a minor annoyance that this item only has 7 episodes on it. Nevertheless, its here and subsequent releases are ready to be enjoyed by a new generation who will forget all about the abysmal animation & stories of x-men:evolution.

My head says stop & wait just in case they release a complete boxset, but my heart says buy it, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars X Men Season One, 3 Mar 2010
By 
J. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men - Season One Part One (Marvel Originals Series - 90s) [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
The delivery was excellent as was the dvd. The series is excellent entertainment and my grandson loves watching it over and over. I would recommend it to anyone, good value purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pre-order cancelled., 29 Oct 2008
This review is from: X-Men - Season One Part One (Marvel Originals Series - 90s) [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Anyone know why the first 2 seasons boxed set was cancelled? I had mine pre-ordered with a Nov. 17 ship date. I just received an e-mail saying the release was cancelled. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men  - Season One Part One (Marvel Originals Series - 90s) [DVD] [1992]
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews