Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Jason Statham meets Lord Of The Rings
This film is perfect, I cannot fault it in any way.
Great action scenes, acting and story.
I actually prefer this to LOTR because at least this doesn't try to fill 3 hours with filler of people talking drivel.
This is a surprising and refreshing role for Statham who's fight scenes are good as ever and good acting too.
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Steven W. Downey

versus
52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just A Bit Of Fun For 2 Hours.. Nothing More Or Less.
I'll be honest - I didn't think this was too bad. Ok, so it shamelessly rips off the million times better LOTR movies, but it was fairly enjoyable! I grew up in the time of Hawk The Slayer, Beastmaster, Sword And The Sorceror, Dragonslayer, Krull etc. Trust me, some of these were no Lord Of The Rings either! For every Conan the Barbarian, Excalibur or Dragonslayer...
Published on 23 Jun 2008 by Adam Jackson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just A Bit Of Fun For 2 Hours.. Nothing More Or Less., 23 Jun 2008
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In The Name Of The King [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I'll be honest - I didn't think this was too bad. Ok, so it shamelessly rips off the million times better LOTR movies, but it was fairly enjoyable! I grew up in the time of Hawk The Slayer, Beastmaster, Sword And The Sorceror, Dragonslayer, Krull etc. Trust me, some of these were no Lord Of The Rings either! For every Conan the Barbarian, Excalibur or Dragonslayer (classics!) there was The Iron Master, The Sword Of The Barbarians & Ator The Fighting Eagle!!! Red Sonja and Willow were a bit iffy too, to say nothing of Sword Of The Valiant...
At least, this is innocent of any movie or album's cardinal sin, in that it is never boring! There's plenty of action, the CG is decent in most places - there's some reasonably impressive 'Marching Army' visuals, and the battle choreography is ok, apart from some kung fu elements which are misplaced. Have to say that the 'evil' army, a beast like race known as The Krug are basically a rip off of The Orcs, right down to the subterranean caverns that they live in! The Krug make up & costumes are a bit shoddy and won't give Weta Workshop any sleepless nights!
At least, the armour & costumes are more impressive for the 'good' army!
It's not as dark as The Rings epics and certainly suitable for younger viewers - there's no sex or strong violence, the battle scenes are relativeley bloodless. The film is often light hearted, and after a bit of a shaky start, improves considerably with time
It's basically like a pantomime - lot's of well known faces turn up, in something that is just out to entertain!
Jason Statham; unusually cast but more than ok as the hero, Burt Reynolds; improves as the story evolves, John Rhys-Davies; always good in any movie!
Kristanna Loken; as gorgeous as in Terminator 3.
Ray Liotta; have to say totally miscast as the evil sorceror!(a REALLY poor villain), Matthew Lillard; as entertaining as a bout of dermatitis!
It's not Return Of The King, It's not Troy, BUT if you can happily watch Hercules: The Legendary Journeys or Xena:The Warrior Princess, then there's a fair chance you'll enjoy it.
I know this movie has been really slated, and I can't disagree with a lot of the bad press, BUT come on, how many of us happily sit through Warlords Of Atlantis on Channel 5 or Land That Time Forgot on BBC2 ?? The FX in those films were awlful, even for the 1970's BUT we enjoyed them, we suspended disbelief!
There's a few decent extras on the disc, it hardly costs the earth, so if you like your fantasy, and are a bit forgiving, then at least rent it. It's more than passable entertainment for 2 hours. If you hate it, then dig out the old 'uns like Jason And The Argonauts or The Seventh Voyage Of Sinbad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the better High Fantasy offerings, 26 May 2008
By 
This review is from: In The Name Of The King [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
In the world of heroic fantasy there are very few really good movies outside of the LOTR franchise. We watched this movie in a double bill along side 10000BC and to be 100% honest there was no one there who felt this was the weaker of the two!

The cast is good, the story though not groundbreaking does career along at a good pace with enogh going on that I did not become disengaged.

In short if you like your high fantasy then you will probably like this.

If you take the rather sad but not uncommon approach that all fantasy is by default rather rubbish and only something spectacularly good is comparable to mediocre offerings in other genres then this is probably not hte movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tragic magic, 4 Mar 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This movie is so unbelievably bad that I have to break it down into parts for this review.

Overview:

Based on a video game, it comes over as The Lord of the Rings lite, complete with Orc-like Krugs, John Rhys Davies, and a guy with a Legolas hairstyle. Bad guy Gallian (Ray Liotta) swirls around in clouds of smoke, and does his business through the eyes, ears and lips of really big Krugs who ride horses.

The only redeeming parts are the fight scenes with Statham, and even the battle scenes get monotonous after a while. And speaking of the battle scenes, we get the infantry and the archers and so on, but why do we have ninjas and Amazonian tree women in the mix-up? (Mind you, Kristanna Loken of the L-Word looks really good wrapped in leaves)

Leelee Sobieski is underutilized as the daughter of Rhys Davies character Merick, but comes into her own at the end, while Matthew Lillard does his Scooby Doo thing mainly for comic relief.

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS)

1. A farmer named Farmer farms his land with his family
2. Marauding Krugs under the command of Gallian attack
3. See Farmer fight
4. Fight Farmer, fight
5. Farmer fights in vain, but lives to fight again
6. The King wants Farmer in his army, but Farmer wants to be a one-man show
7. No man is an island
8. Farmer signs up, but has problems with the armor, which doesn't suit his image
9. Battle scenes
10. Change of leadership occurs
11. Grand finale with bad guy proves that books have power
12. Women totally rock

Characters:

Jason Statham's role

There once was a farmer named Farmer
Who was rugged, but really no charmer
When the Krugs came for battle
He killed them like cattle
Without ever wearing his armor

Ray Liotta's role

There once was a power drunk mage
Who totally failed to engage
He is so badly cast
It will leave you aghast
As he stinks up his time on the stage

John Rhys Davies' role

Though this ain't The Lord of the Rings
We're glad for the class that he brings
And though he's on his own
There's a Legolas clone
To help the return of the kings

Burt Reynolds' role

We're more than a little bit hurt
To see what's become of old Burt
More tired than mean
He's a creaky machine
Out of gas, and now fully inert

Conclusion:

This movie's no more than a joke
Filled with nothing but mirrors and smoke
With ninjas and magic
The plotline is tragic
And it's NOT Uwe Boll's master stroke.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only Two Things You Need to Know, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Arch Stanton (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
There are only two things that you need to know about this movie.
1. It is a Uwe Boll film. Uwe Boll is universally recognized as one of the worst hacks in film history having created such great hits as House of the Dead, Bloodrayne, and Alone In The Dark. He buys the rights to recognizable games and then makes a movie which is really a generic combination of the best scenes from other movies thrown randomly together. Although his films rarely even make their money back he took advantage of a German tax loophole (since closed) which allowed you to get tax credits for your film whether it makes a profit or not.

2. The clever goblin strategy is to light themselves on fire and then catapult themselves at the enemy.

If either of those things sound attractive to you then this is a movie to check out. I love the sheer irrationality and unintentional humor of a good Boll film. This film represents his largest-scale production since the film he's choosing to rip off is the Lord of the Rings, complete with an irrelevant Helm's Deep raining fight sequence ripoff that has nothing to do with any of the main characters and doesn't affect the plot in any way. His villain is the grossly miscast Ray Liotta who has gone down a long way since Goodfellas. His every scene is comic gold since he is actually trying to overact and failing. So check out this film if that's your thing. If you only like films that have such overrated features as 'quality', 'originality' or 'plot' then check out some other film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 10 Jan 2012
I bought this film as I love Statham and Perlman, it was like a really bad sunday afternoon tv film, utter tosh! save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad it hurts, 5 Sep 2008
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Name Of The King [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I like Jason Statham as an action hero and with a cast that also included Burt Reynolds and Ray Liotta I was willing to give In the Name of the King a go. I really wish I hadn't. These guys were so miscast that it bordered on the hilarious.

Can you picture Burt Reynolds as the king. No....neither could Burt Reynolds.... and he doesn't even try. Picture his nephew and heir? Do you see Matthew Lillard! No....me neither. How could anyone possibly take a fantasy epic with Burt Reynolds and Matthew Lillard as the only royalty in evidence as anything other than a joke? Lillard plays himself, and his hamminess is only outdone by Ray Liotta as the evil wizard villain. Liotta is so amazingly bad it's hard to believe he would sign up for this garbage. I also don't quite understand why Ray Liotta was dressed like Liberace. I expected him at any moment to stop controlling the evil beasties and start playing the piano. He certainly had the cheesy banter and flamboyant moves down pat.

Jason Statham's performance wasn't awful, but his character was such a cardboard cliché; the humble farmer with phenomenal fighting skills and a mysterious past. The physical effort Stratham puts into the fight scenes and stunts is astonishing but even he can't save this movie from everything else that's wrong with it.

To sum up - the dialog is awful, the writing is yawn-inducing, add the one-dimensional characters and you've got nothing going for this movie. The person responsible for writing this story seems to have ripped off nearly a dozen different fantasy films without bothering to veil the attempt. This movie was definitely one of the top ten worst films I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A case study about how to jarjarbinks a good idea, waste 60 million bucks and make a MONUMENTAL turkey!, 23 April 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I usually like fantasy films, even those which are bad - but this thing was too much even for me. Below, more of my impressions. This review in principle doesn't contain SPOILERS.

The story is supposedly about a farmer, who is simply named Farmer (Jason Statham), who lives with his wife (Claire Forlani) and son in a kind of medieval kingdom called Ehb, ruled by aging king Konreid (Burt Reynolds). Then one day the kingdom of Ehb is attacked by the army of a certain Gallian (Ray Liotta), a warlock exiled from the country long time ago. This will of course gravely affect everybody in Ehb, including Farmer and his family. I will say no more about the story.

The story is quite simple and we heard, read and saw it many times - but still, when they are well told, even the oldest and most known stories can be greatly enjoyed. Sadly, in this film, it is absolutely NOT the case. All characters are pale, the acting is wooden, dialogs are without interest, there is no humour, every next scene can be anticipated half an hour earlier, there is nothing original or surprising, action scenes are just a painful repetition of the main hero destroying everything in his path, bad guys are just sword fodder and the main villain is a sad, pathetic joke. All this makes this film so horribly BORING that it was an ordeal to watch it.

The director Uwe Boll got a big budget - 60 millions USD! - and wasted every cent of it, as we don't see anything worth that kind of money on the screen. He also managed to muster some good actors (Jason Statham, Burt Reynolds, Ray Liotta, Ron Perlman, Claire Forlani, John Rhys-Davies) and three pretty girls (Leelee Sobieski, Kristanna Loken, Tania Saulnier) - and was completely unable to use them! In fact most of them seem just to wander aimlessly or simply stay there asking themselves "what am I supposed to do know?" when in the same time thinking "What the flip did I get myself into?".

This film is so horribly bad, that it simply has no redeeming qualities. AT ALL! This is a turkey of such epic proportions that if at least it was edible it could solve the problem of hunger in the world - but it is impossible to digest and deserves only to be regurgitated with extreme prejudice, for all parties involved...

I rented it instead of buying, but it was still a waste of time and money. AVOID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An absolute stinker, 5 April 2014
This movie is truly awful. I bought it for £1 in a charity shop and I feel ripped off (well, at least my pound is helping those homeless doggies).

The plot - looks like they made a 5 year old watch all 3 LOTR movies in one sitting, then asked them to tell them what happened in it. It's just a bizarre mash of LOTR-ish stuff all strung together for no reason. (A scary forest, elves, a burning mountain with lava and a castle built into it, the Battle of Helms Deep re-enacted ... you get the idea).

Script - hilarious, one of the greatest comedy scripts since "Attack of the Clones". Eg, "Wisdom is our hammer and goodness are our nails". (???????????????????)

Acting - ohhh dearrrrr. Why is Jason talking like Don Corleone all the way through it? Why doesn't his facial expression ever change? Why is Burt Renolds in it? Was he that desperate to pay his booze bill? Did Ray want to outdo Jez Irons in the D&D movie, chomping his way through every scene?

Viz FX - looks very, VERY fake CGI-ish, but not as bad as other crappy low budget efforts.

Cinematography - very strange look to it. Very high contrast, blacks very black and whites and highlights too bright. Normally I wouldn't mention this in an Amazin review, but this was so bad it gave me eye strain and a headache.

Who would enjoy it? - boys between 4 and 6 will love it. Any boy over 7 will hate it, as will all girls.

In summary - I really wanted to turn this dire piece of rubbish off after 8 minutes, but I resisted and watched it right to the end thinking it would get better; it didn't. It's apparently based on the Dungeon Siege game. I think it would be way more fun playing the game than suffering this torture. I'm taking it back to the charity shop tomorrow so hopefully someone else will buy it and help those poor little doggies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't be bothered to look it up but I wouldn't be surprised if the guy who did power rangers did this. The least convincing fights and monsters, can't comment on acting as this film contains none. The most offensive thing is the soundtrack, which has shoddy b movie written all over it. You could probably get over how god damned awful this is if you had someone with ears doing the music but alas... those are 2 (felt like 1000 but I actually have no idea/care how long this nonsense went on for) hours I will never get back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "In The Name Of The King..." on BLU RAY - Which Issue To Buy (Or Not)..., 5 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Fans of the mighty 'Stat' will probably want to give this fluff a miss.

It's perhaps just as well - as "In The Name Of The King..." has garnished a bit of a price tag here in the UK on the new fangled format - and the American 20th Century Fox BLU RAY is REGION A LOCKED - so you can't play it anyway on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

I love the man personally and rate him as an actor - and as far as I’m concerned - Jason Statham can fart in a bottle and I’d think it was a symphony. But “A Dungeon Siege Tale” tested my patience - and I'm sure its high price tag on BLU RAY will test everyone elses.

One to avoid I'm afraid to say...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Name Of The King [2008] [DVD]
In The Name Of The King [2008] [DVD] by Uwe Boll (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £0.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews