Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 December 2008
So, Neeme Jarvi's Martinu set is now on Brilliant (from the Bis label originally). This is the set which is most highly acclaimed, and for those of you still without a Martinu symphonies cycle, now is the time, especially with his anniversary coming up. If you don't know this composer, you MUST!!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
I have to admit that this is a completely biased view, because I just adore this composer's music. Full of rhythm, chords and discords, subtlety and obviousness, there really is so much to enjoy about Martinu. If you enjoy the music of this era, Martinu is in my opinion an icon. These performances are the best I've heard, I really can't recommend then more...... but then I'm biased. But if you enjoy Dvorak and want the 20th century angle on Czech music, these symphonies are a no-brainer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2010
This is the definitive Martinu cycle in demonstration sound and it's at budget price and well packaged. What are you waiting for?
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Rather like Prokofiev ,Martinu`s music is big on ideas with a strong sense of purpose . If he had taken up residence in England he would have been hailed as the greatest "British" composer since Handel .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
BOUGHT AND PLAYED CD'S THE QUALITY IS AMAZING FOR THE COST,WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE WHO LIKES SYMPHONIC MUSIC AND AT SUCH A BARGAIN PRICE.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
For those not acquainted with Martinu, this is perfect and at budget price. Well recorded symphonies of a composer it is hard to categorize.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
music which does'nt give up it's secrets easily,will persevere though.Very good value for money and a very good recording,a bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
these are new works to me and very enjoyable,terrific value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Martinu is a bit hit-and-miss for me personally, so it's great to have the opportunity to have this well-recorded box set available at budget price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
very pleased
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)