Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a 1980s Self-Respecting Thrasher
I'm a 1980s thrash and speed metal child, and had been resisting listening to new bands. But I have been exploring other bands and recently I've stumbled on Children of Bodom. I have bought four of their albums in one fell swoop. And I'm enjoying them.

The musicianship is great, of course. Very fast, melodic and heavy. Keyboards were always a definite no-no for...
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by F. Camilleri

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, i guess
This album never really grabbed my attention, it's not badly written but the material is just a little weak.

this is jus my opinion and may be the genre isn't for me but i think its still fair to say that this band has written and released much stringer material.
Published on 16 Dec 2011 by M. Bloxham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a 1980s Self-Respecting Thrasher, 28 Nov 2009
By 
F. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
I'm a 1980s thrash and speed metal child, and had been resisting listening to new bands. But I have been exploring other bands and recently I've stumbled on Children of Bodom. I have bought four of their albums in one fell swoop. And I'm enjoying them.

The musicianship is great, of course. Very fast, melodic and heavy. Keyboards were always a definite no-no for any 1980s self-respecting thrasher, but since listening to COB I have learnt to appreciate them in such a context: they actually make the music faster.

I'm reviewing Hatebreeder, rather than any of the other albums, because I have connected well with it: I like the pace and variety of the tracks.

If you haven't heard anything by them, I suggest checking them on You Tube: that's what tickled my fancy in the first place. Check them now. And get some CoD now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and totally refreshing, 14 Dec 2001
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
If like me you are sick of nu-metal bands, and the type of so called metal knocking about on MTV today then give this band a listen. A combination of Thrash, Death, Power, and black metal, COB are a top band. The Riffs are excellent and memorable, the melodys are fantastic, the guitar solos are plenty and excellent, the drums are top notch and most impressive in my opinion is the fantastic vocals. The quality of the writing is also very good as I dont think there is a single filler track on the whole CD. Check them out. Oh I almost forgot to mention the Keyboards which are also of a high standard and tastefully played, adding alot of atmosphere and never overbaring. There is also the odd Keyboard solo here and there too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children Of Bodom - Hatebreeder, 8 July 2013
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
Hatebreeder was the second full-length studio album by the Finnish Melodic Death Metal band Children Of Bodom. It was released in 1999, and remains one of the fan's favourite records, containing tracks that no concert would look right without.

This was back in the band's most Neoclassical sounding days, and before they added the slower grooves with 2005's "Are You Deat Yet?." The sound on this record is blistering high speed Power Metal sounding music full of virtuosic keyboard solos and dual guitar melodies, but played with the savage ferocity of a particularly nasty Thrash Band, with little touches of European Death Metal in there, and Black Metal influenced harsh vocals topping it all off. Basically, imagine At The Gates playing Helloween or Stratovarius covers and you'll get a ballpark idea.

The album has a very enjoyable clear production job (that doesn't feel overproduced) and the music and lyrics are a bit more serious and tasteful than on later Bodom records. There is nothing in the way of filler, the whole album is just track after track of savagely performed, yet entertainingly cheesy, virtuosic Metal.

Highlights include the opener `Warheart,' as well as `Downfall,' `Silent Night, Bodom Night' and `Bed Of Razors.'

Overall; if you want some speedy double kicks, lots of impressive shredding and keys and the fun parts of Power Metal played with the ferocity of Kreator, then Children Of Bodom are something you may be interested in. If you do check out and enjoy Children Of Bodom, then Hatebreeder is really worth trying. It's a succinct, consistent, high-energy blast of Bodom and I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, i guess, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
This album never really grabbed my attention, it's not badly written but the material is just a little weak.

this is jus my opinion and may be the genre isn't for me but i think its still fair to say that this band has written and released much stringer material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Aug 2010
By 
M. Toerien (surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
Very superior melodic,symphonic Death Metal.This one and their earlier one were their best by far. GET IT NOW ! You would also like the jap band Serpent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Children Of Bodom - Hatebreeder, 10 Aug 2010
By 
Michael (Hastings, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
Having not heard this album for a year or so, I put it in my car CD player and had forgotten just how incredible the music is. Of course, Bodom always have been incredible and refreshing (despite their 2005 release, Are You Dead Yet, which was pretty much hit and miss). This album stands out because it is unlike other Bodom releases; thrash metal music, death metal vocals, neo-classical guitar and keyboard playing, and Alexi sounding his most evil and pissed off. The bass is crystal clear, the drumming is extremely tight, and at some points insanely fast. There's not a single bad track here - this is the perfect metal album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MELODIC AGGRESSIVE BLACK METAL ALBUM, 16 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
this is one of the most melodic albums i have heard yet and it is a brilliant one, but although this is as melodic as it gets the amount of aggression is immense. The singing is top class screech like growling, and the guitar work is absolutely amazing not to mention the speedy double bass drumming. The good thing about melodic metla is that u know u arent going to get bored, where as death metal is kinda the opposite (not sayin death metal sux). CoB use no expensive production but still manage to sound big due to the few keyboard effects. I think there are only about3 keyboard effects which keeps the music realistic instead of turning it into a album of expensive samples. Another thing about CoB is that they have one singer, and only he sings. bands like "dimmu borgir", and "cradle of filth" (who are both good) always have unexpected backing singers, (usually women) which gets a bit annoying. CoB stick to their only singer who keeps the music original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars out of this world, 26 Mar 2008
By 
Hedon (Eternal Night) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
I was going to write a really long review for this one but i think the other reviews pretty much tell the whole story. Children of Bodom are melodic death, but not the Gothenburg sort. Musically, this straight up Euro-power metal (think Stratovarious minus the cheesy fantasy attitude) of the dizzyingly technical variety with melodic death vocals. But there's also a healthy does of melodic thrashy and 80's guitar hero solo's thrown in for good measure. The song writing abilities of this band are incrediable, as are the virtuoso performaces from Alexi Laiho and Janne Warman (great name huh?) seriously these guys are some of the best musicians in the business and there technical abilities are stunning. It is slightly over indulgent but if i was this good i would be too. i'm not writing anymore as you should just hear it for yourself and love it. This is music that i can easily loose myself in, an epic maelstrom of melody, aggression and technical ability that trully is out of this world!

My only criticism is that the song Downfall does nothing for me and i usually press off after the incrediable Children of Bodom.

This is easily their best and a metal legend. Get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I must say one of the best melodic metalm of the 90's, 5 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
To be honest with you if you don't buy this album you are insane. Every song on this album will impress you and gain your respect.If you are a fan of In Flames or at the gates then this must be next on your list. The guitar riffs are outstanding , the solos are breathtaking and the style is original. The vocals takes time to get used to but fits perfectly in all their songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 Jan 2003
This review is from: Hatebreeder (Audio CD)
This album is not just a great metal album it's a great album full stop. The speed and accuracy of the songs and the musical abbilities of the band are breathtaking. This is both heavy and melodic with the synth and the guitar sounding great together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hatebreeder
Hatebreeder by Children of Bodom (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews