Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put the devil in your car CD player!
Wild Planet continues the new wave beat of earlier mega smash hits such as the classic 'Rock Lobster' with a selection of new offerings which continue the sense of fun which appears to characterise most of the songs put together by Fred (vocals), Keith (drums), Ricky (guitar), Cindy and Kate (keyboards and vocals).

'Party Out of Bounds' and 'Quiche Lorraine' (a...
Published on 12 Oct 2000 by Jan Johnson

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A shade weaker than the debut
One look at the album cover, and you'll immediately expect more of the spacey surf-pop-goes-extra-terrestrial that made up a large part of the debut. The canary yellow is replaced by blood red, but the line-up, the ridiculous hairdos (created by Laverne), Schneider's silly moustache, and the overall kitsch have remained the same. Although it's still vintage 52's, they...
Published on 5 July 2009 by Guy Peters


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put the devil in your car CD player!, 12 Oct 2000
By 
Jan Johnson "fallen121" (Dunfermline, Fife United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Planet (Audio CD)
Wild Planet continues the new wave beat of earlier mega smash hits such as the classic 'Rock Lobster' with a selection of new offerings which continue the sense of fun which appears to characterise most of the songs put together by Fred (vocals), Keith (drums), Ricky (guitar), Cindy and Kate (keyboards and vocals).

'Party Out of Bounds' and 'Quiche Lorraine' (a song about a Poodle!) are typical of the band's whacky humour. But there is so much more to this album. 'Devil in my car' is a terrific vehicle for the vocal talents of Kate and Cindy, but even more so the high pitched fast paced chorus of 'Strobe Light', which features a heavy beat, the usual off the wall lyrics and some interesting responses from the girls!

Blondie fans will find much that is familiar on this album, Debbie Harry has long acknowleged the B52s as one of her favourite groups, but as both were new wave bands and recording around the same time it is difficult to know who is influencing who. The keyboards and percussion on 'Strobe Light' are extremely reminiscent of Blondie, as is the background chorus and keyboards on '53 Miles West of Venus'.

'Private Idaho' is probably the main reason why most people will buy this CD. The guitar of Ricky Wilson, which contrived to make 'Rock Lobster' such a monster hit, is very much again in evidence here, as elsewhere on the album, which reminds us once again why his death was such a tragic loss to the band.

Yes, I was wrong to give this album 3 stars initially. It's still in my car eleven years after I first wrote the review, so I've upped my rating to 5 stars - shame it's getting harder and harder to find this CD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daily Medicine, 22 Feb 2006
By 
M. L. Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Planet (Audio CD)
I can't believe I have left it so long since last playing this absolute classic album from 1980. I sell second-hand CDs here on Amazon, and came across this in a collection of CDs I had bought off someone. Remembering that I had loved its zaniness, infectious pop melodies and mad lyrics, I slapped it on the player. It has just finished playing and I have been transported back to my teenage days, my cold doesn't seem so bad, the grey skies outside don't look so bleak, I reccomend this CD to be taken as an alternative to Prozac for anyone suffering the winter blues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep This Party Going!, 10 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Wild Planet (Audio CD)
The party was only just getting started when the B-52's released Wild Planet in 1980. The 2nd LP from the Georgia funsters sees them going from strength to strength as they offer another bunch of great tunes, and for me it's even better than the the first album!
Ricky Wilson's guitar work continues to drive the songs along with a fine selection of buzz saw riffs and that distinctive razorlike rhythmic edge, aided and abetted by Fred's kitsch and angst-ridden spoken delivery, and Kate n Cindy's playfully demented psycho-cheerleader vocals.
Party Out Of Bounds does exactly what it says on the label, spilling out all over the place as it careers along kicking up the dance beats. Dirty Back Roads is a slower sultry little Kate n Cindy voiced number, all boredom, teenage kicks and killing time. Running Around is in a similar vein to the opener, keeping the party going, and when we hit the classic Give Me Back My Man with Cindy in full on hysterical mode, the utterly brilliant Private Idaho, and the clever n funny Devil In My Car, I always find the same old huge smile cracking my face again!
Quiche Lorraine is a weird and camp take on one man and his dog, with some fine angular guitar work from Ricky. Strobe Light is classic 52's call and response, with a frantic go-go beat, some cheesy organ courtesy of Kate and superb OTT vocals from all. 53 Miles West Of Venus finishes the album in great style, like some wacky 60s sci-fi TV theme, with a chunky guitar riff weaving in and out of a throbbing bass line, spacey keyboards and the best vocal arrangement the band have ever come up with.
I still fail to understand why Wild Planet isn't rated as one of the band's finest. They had all obviously improved as writers and players and I've always thought that the material is more consistent and the performances are more focussed on Wild Planet. OK, so for some it sits in the 'shadow' of the 1st album, perhaps it didn't have the same impact as it doesn't quite have the same zaniness factor, but the sense of fun is still as strong in the music, and I think the band takes the impetus gained from the 1st album and runs like hell with it! That, and a bunch of kick ass tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best, 10 Jan 2008
This review is from: Wild Planet (Audio CD)
Wild planet was the b52's second album released in 1980 and in my opinion along with cosmic thing this is their best LP. Full of really good tracks like private idaho,give me back my man,quiche lorraine and loads more. The wacky humour is great but theres some friggin awesome tunes too and ricky wilsons guitar work is better than that of their debut.

As i write this the b52's are about to release their new album Funplex and from what little i've heard it sound s real return to form..roll on march 08 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb early B-52's album., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Planet (Audio CD)
Not much to say about this. If you love the B-52's as much as I do you'll know that this can only be a wise purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Majestical Joyfull Eternal!, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Strawb "Strawb" (West country. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-52's, the/Wild Planet (Audio CD)
Never lend your best CD's! That's why i bought these as a double pack as replacements.
Still remember the day i bought Rock Lobster on 7" vinyl. Managed to get a copy with a High Gloss cover! It was a magical moment.
Such a JOY to know they are still Very Active and putting out music of equal quality way into the 21st century! BUT... the first two are very special and need to be owned and cherished. And PLAYED LOUD so that your neighbours can realize how cool you are and what they're missing out on! So, in closing... NEW Album Please Beloved B-52's and THANK YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly., 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Planet (Audio CD)
Marvelous album I have on vinyl.Cuoldn't play it but now it can be heard thumping out like many of my cd'd old vinyl.
Good party album too.;-)-~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars get dancing, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Planet (Audio CD)
the b-52's made people want to dance. And with the classic song 'party out of bounds' and others they accomplished their goals. The band really laid down alot of cool riffs here and proved they were around to stay. This one is actually a better disc than their debut in some regards. Still nw wave was here to stay and the 80's were a wonderful time for variety in music unlike today with it's cookie cutter electronic garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: Wild Planet (Audio CD)
A favoutie album from a band I have seen live from time to time over the last 30 years ! Amongst the best live acts you will ever see in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wild-ish Planet, 7 Jan 2004
This review is from: wild planet (Audio CD)
Much the same as the first album, but with less classics like 'Rock Lobster'. Saying that, there is nothing wrong with this album, just that it sits in the shadow of the first. The standout track is 'Give me Back my Man', but there are good showings from 'Party Out of Bounds', 'Private Idaho', et al.
Not a 5 star album, but still a good B52's album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Planet
Wild Planet by B-52's (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews