Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable and funny
Some people just don't like Will Ferrell so they won't like this film, i do and thought this film was good. Its not quite as funny as Anchorman or Blades of glory but its actually a good film on its own. Set in the 70,s and about a small basketball team heading for the NBA it does have some very funny moments and is a good way to waste an hour and a half on a rainy night...
Published on 9 April 2010 by D. Charles

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You may love this sexy.......
This film is funnier than I thought it would be, but is not quite one of Ferrells best. I really enjoyed the 70's vibe, which they captured perfectly, and loved Ferrell and the cast mugging for all they were worth. Yes the plot is formulaic, sometimes stupid, and Maura Tierney is criminally under-used,but the film has a lot of heart, laughs at itself, is feel-good, and...
Published on 18 July 2008 by Dino Amore'


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best but still good, 11 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Semi-Pro [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As a big fan of Will Ferrell's films this was a no brainer purchase but after watching it it becomes clear that its not his best film. Funny at moments, over the top at other parts and underneath it all is the good old under dog story line. Well worth a purchase if you are a Ferrell fan, otherwise I'd go and try Blades of Glory instead Blades of Glory (2007) [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sexy (ish), 15 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
Jackie Moon is a sexy man, or so he thinks. During the early 70s he had a one hit wonder that made him enough money to buy his local basketball team in Flint Michigan and make himself there forward. A few years later and the audience has dropped to only a handful as the Flint Tropics are the worst in the league. However, Moon senses an opportunity when his league plans to combine with the NBA. Can Moon get his team up to 4th place before the season ends, with the help of aged drunk Monix and superfly ball player Clarence Black he hopes so. With a team more interested in looking cool than playing basketball Moon might not look as sexy as he thinks.

`Semi Pro' is straight from the Will Ferrell school of films with absolutely no frills. To me it looks like a slightly lower budget production as although the film is set in the 70s the vibe is not always right. I also noticed that to cash in on popular R rated comedies like `Superbad' Ferrell seems to have got ruder. There is a lot more swearing in this film than any of his others and it sits slightly uncomfortably. Despite this, the film is a solid sports comedy that follows the usual path. Ferrell is good in the lead and the co-stars work well without shining. Perhaps Will Arnett and Andrew Daly as the commentators are the best in the film. Worth a rent if you are a fan of Ferrell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real gem of a film!!, 13 July 2008
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
Now in my opinion Will Farrell is over exposed in movies. I can't recall one week at the cinema where Will Farrell has not starred in a film. Ok its great for him money-wise but its overkill. I therefore reluctantly sat down to watch this film and was so pleased i did. The action is fast and unlike most American films about their sports of baseball, Amercan football and basketball, you really do not need to have a knowledge of basketball to follow this story.

Its the usual formula, small town with rubbish team and owner who has no idea how to run affairs, then lo and behold their sign a player who in years previous was a star player and he has fallen on hard times. can they get to the play-offs and get promoted to the Major Leagues. yes its a well written formula and we have all seen it, but in this case the film rocks. Its hilarious watching the scams the owner (Will Farrell) has to get people through the turnstiles and, of course their team's star player is, you guessed it Will Farrell. Not because he is any good but rather he owns the team so he has to have the ball.

The film changes when the team know they could go out of business and the new star player Woody Harrelson, turns over a new leaf and starts coaching the team.

Its light- hearted and very funny in places and so 70's. Like watching the TV series of Starsky and Hutch at times.

I liked it and it is a real gem. If you are, like me fed up with then over-exposure of Will Farrell, please do not let that stop you watching this hilarious film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Ferrell Favourite! A Sporting Comedy!, 20 Jun 2008
By 
Matthew Wilson "M477H3WW!L50N" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
Before watching this: My first idea was that this movie was going to be unfunny, childish humour, just another pay packet to Will Ferrell.

Watching this: When the opening credits started, I still had my doubts, but within the first 10 minutes, I had laughed a couple of times. As the film progressed, I found myself enjoying it more and more. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and thought it was a simple yet effective story line.

If you enjoyed 'Talladega Nights: The Legend of Ricky Bobby', you'll love this more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 16 Jun 2008
By 
Liam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen a lot of Ferrell movies and thought that hes been off his game the last couple, but this is absolutely hilarious, a complete return to his old form. Its got all the same sort of slap stick jokes you'll be used to with Ferrell, but this time they're done to perfection. You'll belly laugh from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars could have been more, 4 Sep 2009
By 
D. C. BROWN (West, west cornwall, on the very edge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
Not Will Ferrels best. In fact one of his worst. The film is ok'ish. I got mine for under 2.
Will seems to ham it up more than usual. I think the director should have rained him in a bit. The supporting cast are under-used, and even look a bit bewildered at times. The film should have been tighter. The story seems irelevant and forgotten about half way though: "Hey folks, we got Will Ferrel, lets make a movie", appears to be the only thought in this clumsy effort of a film.

Overall not too awful for a diehard fan of WF, but "Talladega Nights" was better directed and and "Ron Bugandy", was by far funniest film he has ever done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite obviously fake. Wouldnt of minded but only saved 90p over buying from amazon directly. Will pay the extra next time., 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Semi-Pro [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Wouldnt of minded but only saved 90p over buying from amazon directly. Will pay the extra next time as doesnt look good when giving as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Comedy, Enchanting 70s theme and exiting storyline, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Oliver "Ollie" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
Now, what to say, now when first hearing about this film i thought, oh god, not another cheaply made cheesy comedy, slapping a label saying Will Ferrill to buy views and franchise, but i saw my brother watching it downstairs, and the 40 second bit i saw i thought was acually pretty amusing, so i decided to give it a chance, it was flawless, packed with Humorous fun, suspense and a nice colourful theme! It really doesn't get boring and it definatly not what i first thought it would be, and you don't need to know about basketball to understand it, i know because i am clueless about basketball and still am! Definatly one of my favourate film, if not my favourate overall! Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Here comes the Alley... and there goes the Oop!, 16 Dec 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

Time: The `70s

1. Will Ferrell plays Jackie Moon, a one hit wonder who owns, coaches and plays with his basketball team the Flint Tropics.
2. As you would expect, the team isn't doing very well
3. Down and out, but not giving up, Moon negotiates a chance for his team to join the NBA
4. Maybe white men can't jump, but he trades a major appliance for Ed Monnix (Woody Harrelson) anyway
5. Coffee Black (Andre Benjamin) finds his form and soon the team is no longer considered the "OutKast" of the ABA
6. Moon raises the entertainment level to include dancing seahorses and bear wresting at half time
7. After receiving some valuable advice from Patti Labelle, the team almost achieves the predictable.

This is typical Will Ferrell stuff - I'd rate it better than Step Brothers, but worse than Blades of Glory. Ferrell's over the top antics are the main reason for watching this movie, even though at times it's more like morbid fascination. Andre Benjamin is good, even though his impressive afro is even better, and Harrelson? He hasn't changed a bit.

Rent (don't buy) for the basketball, and stay for the half-time show.

Jackie Moon: Everybody panic! It's just like the Titanic but it's full of bears!

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and formulaic, 16 Jun 2008
By 
S. Hammond "bidders86" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this movie because I love the comedies from Will Ferrel et al(Blades of Glory, Dodgeball etc), but I found Semi-Pro rather boring. Perhaps it's the story-line that's at fault here, after all, you cannot keep spinning the same old formulaic yarns and expecting audiences to find them funny, and this is exactly what Ferrel seems to have done. Basic scenario: Ferrel plays his usual over-the-top 1970s alpha male, Jackie Moon, who heads a failing Michigan basket-ball team, and employs an ex super-star player with a drink problem (Harrleson) to turn the team's fortunes aruond. So it's basically Dodgeball, but about basketball-and less funny.

To be fair to Ferrel, there are some really funny moments in the film, but it's as though he came up with the jokes first and then tried to fit them into a tried and tested plot, as the humour is quite random and ludicrous in some scenes. Woody Harrelson gives an interesting and amusing performance, but even he's not enough to bouy up the movie as a whole. I didn't really laugh until twenty minutes into the movie, and it's clear that Ferrel didn't put nearly so much effort into this as he did in Anchorman or Old School. I honestly think that even die-hard Will Ferrel fans will struggle to enjoy this movie- unfortunately for me, it was painfully 'same old'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Semi-Pro [Blu-ray]
Semi-Pro [Blu-ray] by Rob Corddry (Blu-ray - 2008)
6.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews