Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable and funny
Some people just don't like Will Ferrell so they won't like this film, i do and thought this film was good. Its not quite as funny as Anchorman or Blades of glory but its actually a good film on its own. Set in the 70,s and about a small basketball team heading for the NBA it does have some very funny moments and is a good way to waste an hour and a half on a rainy night...
Published on 9 April 2010 by D. Charles

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You may love this sexy.......
This film is funnier than I thought it would be, but is not quite one of Ferrells best. I really enjoyed the 70's vibe, which they captured perfectly, and loved Ferrell and the cast mugging for all they were worth. Yes the plot is formulaic, sometimes stupid, and Maura Tierney is criminally under-used,but the film has a lot of heart, laughs at itself, is feel-good, and...
Published on 18 July 2008 by Dino Amore'


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You may love this sexy......., 18 July 2008
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
This film is funnier than I thought it would be, but is not quite one of Ferrells best. I really enjoyed the 70's vibe, which they captured perfectly, and loved Ferrell and the cast mugging for all they were worth. Yes the plot is formulaic, sometimes stupid, and Maura Tierney is criminally under-used,but the film has a lot of heart, laughs at itself, is feel-good, and has enough laugh out loud moments to justify a night in watching it.
The theme tune is fantastic, too........!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable and funny, 9 April 2010
By 
D. Charles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Semi-Pro [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Some people just don't like Will Ferrell so they won't like this film, i do and thought this film was good. Its not quite as funny as Anchorman or Blades of glory but its actually a good film on its own. Set in the 70,s and about a small basketball team heading for the NBA it does have some very funny moments and is a good way to waste an hour and a half on a rainy night. The bluray picture is very nice and crisp with excellent colours. The 2 disc edition is full of the usual stuff and makes it good value. Good film especially at a cheap price point on bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Seventies, so funny and a real gem surprisingly!!!, 13 July 2008
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
Now in my opinion Will Farrell is over exposed in movies. I can't recall one week at the cinema where Will Farrell has not starred in a film. Ok its great for him money-wise but its overkill. I therefore reluctantly sat down to watch this film and was so pleased i did. The action is fast and unlike most American films about their sports of baseball, Amercan football and basketball, you really do not need to have a knowledge of basketball to follow this story.

Its the usual formula, small town with rubbish team and owner who has no idea how to run affairs, then lo and behold their sign a player who in years previous was a star player and he has fallen on hard times. can they get to the play-offs and get promoted to the Major Leagues. yes its a well written formula and we have all seen it, but in this case the film rocks. Its hilarious watching the scams the owner (Will Farrell) has to get people through the turnstiles and, of course their team's star player is, you guessed it Will Farrell. Not because he is any good but rather he owns the team so he has to have the ball.

The film changes when the team know they could go out of business and the new star player Woody Harrelson, turns over a new leaf and starts coaching the team.

Its light- hearted and very funny in places and so 70's. Like watching the TV series of Starsky and Hutch at times.

I liked it and it is a real gem. If you are, like me fed up with then over-exposure of Will Farrell, please do not let that stop you watching this hilarious film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than people say..., 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
This film, which I came across on late night TV is better than people would have you believe, I enjoyed it's mocking of the 1970's and it's much better than Blades of Glory. WARNING: the song "love me sexy" will stick in your brain forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Ferrell, great fun, great soundtrack, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
A story of a man and his basketball team fighting relegation. A typical Ferrell film, layered, everytime I watch it, I find something funny. If you like Anchorman, you should own this. In particular, watch out for the promotional showmanship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take off your shoes and suck me sexy, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
Will Ferrell - brilliant.

Having seen a few of his other films at the time of buying this, I couldn't wait to watch it. Needless to say, I wasn't disappointed as the laughs just keep coming. If you are a fan of Will Ferrell's movies and have not yet seen this one, then I urge you to do so.

It ranks up there with my personal favourite, Talladega Nights.

I'd write a bit about what happens in the film, but I wouldn't want to spoil it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real gem of a film!!, 13 July 2008
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Now in my opinion Will Farrell is over exposed in movies. I can't recall one week at the cinema where Will Farrell has not starred in a film. Ok its great for him money-wise but its overkill. I therefore reluctantly sat down to watch this film and was so pleased i did. The action is fast and unlike most American films about their sports of baseball, Amercan football and basketball, you really do not need to have a knowledge of basketball to follow this story.

Its the usual formula, small town with rubbish team and owner who has no idea how to run affairs, then lo and behold their sign a player who in years previous was a star player and he has fallen on hard times. can they get to the play-offs and get promoted to the Major Leagues. yes its a well written formula and we have all seen it, but in this case the film rocks. Its hilarious watching the scams the owner (Will Farrell) has to get people through the turnstiles and, of course their team's star player is, you guessed it Will Farrell. Not because he is any good but rather he owns the team so he has to have the ball.

The film changes when the team know they could go out of business and the new star player Woody Harrelson, turns over a new leaf and starts coaching the team.

Its light- hearted and very funny in places and so 70's. Like watching the TV series of Starsky and Hutch at times.

I liked it and it is a real gem. If you are, like me fed up with then over-exposure of Will Farrell, please do not let that stop you watching this hilarious film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ferrell's low point..., 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: Semi-Pro [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's 1976 in Flint, Michigan.

Jackie Moon's American Basketball Association team languishes in last place, with few fans in the seats.

Jackie dreams of a merger with the NBA. A tough-minded point guard named Monix is at the end of his career; he's played on the champion Celtics but accepts a trade to Flint to be close to Lynn, the love of his life.

Clarence "Coffee" Brown dreams of stardom: he's the Tropics' best player, but he's a hot dog who doesn't value teamwork.

When the trio learns that a merger is in the works that won't include the Tropics, they pull the team together to try to achieve the impossible....

It's ironic that the lack of seats taken in the Tropics court, mirrors bums on seats in the cinema. It's by far the worst movie Ferrell has made, and there isn't one (in my opinion) funny moment in it.

Ferrel has just done too many sport related movies which are either really over the top, or just too silly for their own good.

It's to profane as well. Sure it's supposed to be an adult comedy, but it looks forced in this and swear words are just for laughs.

It's predictable, boring and it dies a death at the end.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Semi-Pro [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery, excellent disk condition, very cheap price, can not ask for much more for a cheap dvd classic Ferrell. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Semi-Pro [DVD]
Semi-Pro [DVD] by Rob Corddry (DVD - 2008)
2.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews