Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic famous five
A must for famous five fans, and indeed anyone who love adventure, the countryside, great characters and stories and lashings of ginger beer! I think the series was very well made and with the attantion to the period in which the stories are set being well worth a mention. Timeless tales for both children and adult alike. As another review said, the dutch subtitles can be...
Published on 29 Mar 2009 by C. Warlow

versus
155 of 158 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Famous Five
This has the original prints in English (with Nederlands subtitles; which can be turned off with the subtitle button on your DVD player remote).
The menus and box label are all in Nederland language. THE COMPLETE SERIES TITLE IS A MISNOMER. IT DOES NOT INCLUDE THE EPISODES "FIVE GO TO SMUGGLER'S TOP PART 1 AND 2". YOU COULD ORDER THE VHS TAPE FROM AMAZON.CO.UK THOUGH...
Published on 26 Aug 2008 by Pj Thorp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic famous five, 29 Mar 2009
By 
C. Warlow (Porthcawl, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
A must for famous five fans, and indeed anyone who love adventure, the countryside, great characters and stories and lashings of ginger beer! I think the series was very well made and with the attantion to the period in which the stories are set being well worth a mention. Timeless tales for both children and adult alike. As another review said, the dutch subtitles can be turned off, although the writing on the dvd box including the episode titles are also in dutch, the actual programme titles on the films themselves are in English, so you know which episode you are watching if you don't speak dutch. Smashing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


155 of 158 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Famous Five, 26 Aug 2008
By 
Pj Thorp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
This has the original prints in English (with Nederlands subtitles; which can be turned off with the subtitle button on your DVD player remote).
The menus and box label are all in Nederland language. THE COMPLETE SERIES TITLE IS A MISNOMER. IT DOES NOT INCLUDE THE EPISODES "FIVE GO TO SMUGGLER'S TOP PART 1 AND 2". YOU COULD ORDER THE VHS TAPE FROM AMAZON.CO.UK THOUGH OF THOSE EPISODES.
HERE ARE THE TRANSLATIONS OF THE EPISODE LISTS ON THE BOX (DISC#) AND DVD MENUS (DEEL DVD#). Trust me. It'll make sense, when you buy them.
DISC 1 = DEEL 1 DVD 1
1-2 Five go down to the Sea pt1-2
3 Five have a Mystery to solve
4 Five run away together

DISC 2 = DEEL 1 DVD2
5 Five are together again
6 Five get into a Fix
7-8 Five go to Billycock Hill pt1-2

DISC 3 = DEEL 1 DVD3
9 Five go to Mystery Moor
10 Five on a Hike together
11-12 Five have a wonderful Time pt1-2

DISC 4 = DEEL 2 DVD1
13-14 Five on a Treasure Island pt1-2
15 Five go off in a caravan
16 Five fall into adventure

DISC 5 = DEEL 2 DVD2
17 Five on Kirrin Island again
18 FIve go to Demon's Rocks
19 Five on a Secret Trail
20 Five have plenty of Fun

DISC 6 = DEEL 2 DVD3
21 Five go adventuring again
22 Five on Finniston Farm
23 Five get into Trouble
24 Five go off to Camp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Famous Five DVD review, 15 Jan 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
I am 6 years old and I love reading all the famous five. i've read all of them now and I've watched them all already too. Actually I have watched them quite a few times because i like them so much. I'm going to tell you what my favourite episode is...it is Disc 1, 'Five Run Away Together.' Although I struggle to read the menu in dutch, I really enjoy them. They talk in English, but you can turn off the Dutch writing by pressing 'subtitles' You might like to buy it if you like Enid Blyton because I enjoyed it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the famous five complete series, 20 April 2010
By 
A. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
The subtitles delete procedure required a different action on my DVD player remote than i thought. It did not work on the selected choice bit on the intro part of the DVD, it only worked by pressing Subtitles on the remote then in rapid succession, the play button but, only when the episode selected had started. This took a bit of time to figure out.
Also, the episodes do not appear to be on the discs in numerical order.
I was fairly sure that the first episode was on disc four and not disc one as it should have been.
I did however enjoy all the episodes. The discs were in good form and played very well.
Would have been nice to have had a special feature on this Famous Five series IE interviews with the actors "today" deleted scenes [ if any exist] etc but, as this series has never been realised as a complete set on DVD here in the UK this mild disappointment was not surprising.
Thank you for prompt delivery as indicated a delight to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some useful notes, 30 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
The films are really good, and my daughter is ecstatic, but there are some practical considerations to make here:
1: The films are in English, the voices in English, but all material and navigation texts are Dutch, so can make navigation difficult, and definitely means an adults have to be on hand to set up.
2: The subtitles will only be turned off by using the subtitle button on the remote control of our DVD player. We tried turning it off using the menu options, but this did not work. Check your remote has a subtitle option before buying.

Coming back to this review, we have had so much joy out of this for our daughter it is worth every penny, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good DVD!, 10 Jun 2011
By 
Sarah Parry (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
A lot of these reviews say there are subtitles but when I played mine the sound quality is excellent and there are no subs. It probably depends on your DVD player and tv set up :) The episodes are not in the correct order but it doesn't matter too much, as long as you play Five on Treasure Island first as it is first in the series of books. Very happy with delivery time and presentation. A must buy for Famous Five fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect childhood memories., 14 Jun 2010
By 
Liz De Clerck (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
This reminds me of my childhood.
I read all of the books at least 10 times.
I just love it!

One negative point: they put every book in 25 minutes of film. Wich means they changed a fair bit in the storylines, things happen just a wee bit too fast for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/96, 2 Oct 2009
By 
Stephen Hollands (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
Very good and value for money. Only criticism is that there is no language option for the menus - they'er all in in dutch, so you have to work it out for yourself. Otherwisw - very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great review, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
I just got this product the other day the service i got was brilliant i got the product within two days of ordering it and is brillant, i used to love the famous five when i was younger but never saw the whole series, the only thing that dissapoints me is that they are not in order so i looked them up to put them in order, there is only one book missing from the dvd which is five go to smuggler's top, when you put the dvd in and get to the main menu if the go right to the last set of write under the disc number this is play all and then you only have to turn the subtiles off by pressing the button on your remote! the disc are as following i have also a number beside each one this is the number in which the books where made

disc 1
five go down tot he sea - 12
five have a mystery to solve -20
five run away together-3

disc 2
five get together again 21
five get into a fix - 17
five got to billycock hill - 16

disc 3
five go to mystery moor -13
five hike together-10
five have a wondorful time - 11

disc 4
five on tresure island - 1
five go off in a caravan-5
five fall into an adventure -9

disc 5
five on kirrin island again - 6
five go to demon's rock-19
five on a secert trail -15
five have plenty of fun -14

disc 6
five go adventuring again -2
five on finniston farm-18
five get into trouble-8
five go off to camp-7

now the reason there is no number 4 is becasuse this is the missing one from the series five on smuggler's top part 1+2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Entertainment, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs) (DVD)
Having two children aged eight and six who love the Famous Five books, and one three-year-old who has yet to read them, we thought this would be a perfect Christmas present.

The children (and Daddy!) have been glued to the first few episodes, and thoroughly enjoyed them. I think Daddy was taken back to his childhood, and the children love the stories, although my six-year-old knows the books so well that he points out every single change that has been made with the television versions!

If you have children or remember the series when it was originally on TV, I can highly recommend buying these.

Yes, the cover is in Dutch, but all the episodes are as they were originally broadcast, just with Dutch subtitles, which are easily switched off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Famous Five - Complete Series 1995/1996 (6 discs)
£21.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews