Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the intermittent user.
The kind of use this will get, it will serve well enough...I saw a few discouraging 'biased' reviews on youtube about this particular knife, but its all about what you want to use it for and regularity of use. For me, using it on the odd occasional 'coast to coast' walk, or long treks around moors and such like, if I need to 'tap' a birch for my water bottle the next...
Published 7 months ago by Gedmeister.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Theoretically the perfect wild kitchen
O.K. Start at the beginning.
Design: Over the moon, bouncing of the walls and ceiling. Concept and practical application, full marks. Theoretically the perfect wild kitchen, general wood craft, and god forbid self defence blade. Absolutely brilliant. I hate you America l.o.l.
Quality: The fire steel is s***. No really the alloy is poor and inconsistent. In a...
Published 17 days ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the intermittent user., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
The kind of use this will get, it will serve well enough...I saw a few discouraging 'biased' reviews on youtube about this particular knife, but its all about what you want to use it for and regularity of use. For me, using it on the odd occasional 'coast to coast' walk, or long treks around moors and such like, if I need to 'tap' a birch for my water bottle the next morning and use the knife to wittle a tap as well etc its ideal. If you are planning to circumnavigate the globe using just your wits and survival skills and need to use this knife for hunting and 'denning'....you might want to invest in some other serious, high priced kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Theoretically the perfect wild kitchen, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
O.K. Start at the beginning.
Design: Over the moon, bouncing of the walls and ceiling. Concept and practical application, full marks. Theoretically the perfect wild kitchen, general wood craft, and god forbid self defence blade. Absolutely brilliant. I hate you America l.o.l.
Quality: The fire steel is s***. No really the alloy is poor and inconsistent. In a true survival situation you would be struggling to find a sweet spot since the alloy is poorly distributed. Hey! O.K. we are here to review the blade not the ad on (Duh, what's the difference macho man; we are talking authentic survival)! Well..... absolutely great design, but much as it pains me to say so, and I really mean it; China; you guys have obviously got a lot to learn about steel. No matter how distant your cousins and what may exist between you, consult Japan, or even early, and i stress early Sheffield; possibly Turkey, but this stuff is seriously reluctant to accept and probably hopelessly incapable of holding a decent edge. I have Viners Love Story table ware that has a better edge. So all in all sorely disappointed., but hey, what a design triumph so get the quality control sorted out and you have a mega product. Meanwhile, at the price, Bug.. sorry beggars can't be choosers :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Father's Day present brilliant product very happy, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
Very happy with the service I received was quick friendly and very happy with the product it's self would buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice knife, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
I bought the knife because of the price at first . When i used the knife it feels so sturdy in my hand and the cord used for a handle grip is very long and could be swapped out for 550 later. The sheath is great for the price holds the knife pretty well and the flint stick that comes with it . The flint stick is a little hard work to get going and throws off a bit of light and heat but all in all for what you pay your getting a great knife a sheath and flint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars was bought for my son, and he loves it, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
Good quality kit - does what it threatens to do. My lad is delighted with it. He's had it a while now, still going strong, so I have to give it 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars knife, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
it was worth the money for this knife,but not very good to keep sharp,and also its not really a strong knife,but cant complain that much for the price!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blade needs sharpened., 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
The knife is fantastic. I think it is a safety issue that it is not fully sharpened. Remember to buy a knife sharpening kit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good knife, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
Very happy with this. Useful compact and above all it's lightweight. Sheeth is also easy to acess and replace knife into
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a well made item not sharpened it yet as ..., 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
ordered Sunday arrived Tuesday by royal mail signed delivery.

1st knife I have bought that needs sharpening before using it thats why 4 and not 5 star . . .Looks like a well made item not sharpened it yet as has just arrived.

Fire star will need paint removed before it can be used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Design, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mtech 3" Outdoor Survival Camping Black Stainless Steel Blade Cordura Wrapped With Magnesium fire Steel And Sheath (Sports)
As an engineer of 35+ years Offshore Oil/Gas experience and an avid hill walker/ "wild" camper almost as long I appreciate SIMPLE.

This thing is clearly a one piece stainless steel stamping. Near razor sharp when received it took a couple of minutes with a small industrial diamond encrusted "steel" to get an edge sufficient to cut through thick Polypropylene rope with little effort. The old wisdom: " a blunt knife is much more dangerous than a sharp one ".

Another useful feature for me is the para-cord wrapping on the handle. Very useful for back-up boot lacing. A decent from ' An Stac ' a few years back with burst lacing on my right boot was a lesson - I still remember the pain of those blisters!!!

The magnesium striker needs a bit of work with an old blade to remove ALL the paint coating, PRIOR to hitting the hills, for it to spark reliably. Not something you want to be doing when you are trying to ignite your stove in the pi**ing rain because your matches are damp.

The sheath is basic, but with a bit imagination, and an a off-cut of good quality leather, easy to reproduce. If it lost it will not break the bank to replace it. I own knives an order of magnitude(+) more expensive for what they are as objects of beauty. That inhibits their being strapped to a rucksack and dragged up the hills/mountains of Scotland.

Believe me fellow hill-walkers this is all the blade you will realistically need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews