Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game to waste a rainy day with
Mexican Train is one of the best games I've played in many years - and I'm someone who doesn't much like board games. Whilst it would be a brilliant game for children, I've only played it with adults. It's one of the most frustrating yet compelling games I've ever played - just when you think you are on a sure fire route to "going out" someone lays down a double and all...
Published on 28 July 2009 by K. Simm

versus
35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better sets available
I love this game and have played for years with friends & family. We bought this particular set for friends that we'd introduced to the game, and another friend purchased the same set. Unfortunately we've found that the numbers rub/flake off and since they are not engraved like "normal" (dot) dominoes, this limits the lifespan of this particular set.
Next time I...
Published on 7 Sep 2010 by L. Streets


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better sets available, 7 Sep 2010
By 
L. Streets (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
I love this game and have played for years with friends & family. We bought this particular set for friends that we'd introduced to the game, and another friend purchased the same set. Unfortunately we've found that the numbers rub/flake off and since they are not engraved like "normal" (dot) dominoes, this limits the lifespan of this particular set.
Next time I plan to buy a tin of double-12s and make my own "hub" and train markers =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars POOR QUALITY AND DISAPPOINTING, 21 Sep 2011
By 
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mexican Train (Toy)
We first played Mexican Train at a friends house and were hooked. So we decided to buy our own set from Amazon. What a difference in quality. For a start there is NO TRAIN included and the centre piece (station) is made of cheap cardboard whereas the original set we used had a plastic and more durable piece. The dominoes look cheap and nasty too. Whilst its still the same game familiarity has bred contempt and shame on Amazon for showing a picture of the old set complete with train whilst the new set does not have any. Do they expect you to buy a train to complete The Mexican Train game??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game to waste a rainy day with, 28 July 2009
By 
K. Simm "shropshirelass" (UK and Gers France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mexican Train (Toy)
Mexican Train is one of the best games I've played in many years - and I'm someone who doesn't much like board games. Whilst it would be a brilliant game for children, I've only played it with adults. It's one of the most frustrating yet compelling games I've ever played - just when you think you are on a sure fire route to "going out" someone lays down a double and all of sudden you are on the back foot and having to pick up tiles. Add to that the fabulous whistling train and after a few drinks it's the funniest thing in the world. It's a great game to while away a time on holiday, but be prepared to still be playing it many hours later!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dominoes, 12 Sep 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mexican Train (Toy)
This is an excellent game but we had to get the rules from another member of the family as there were no instructions written in English. As the box was in English this seemed rather silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant fun, 5 Oct 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mexican Train (Toy)
brilliant and addictive game, be prepared for a few hours of fun and laughs. great for more than two people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great as an introduction, 1 Feb 2010
By 
C. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mexican Train (Toy)
The rules were very easy to understand but different to the ones we were taught - more suitable for children so slightly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 8 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. B. J. Davis (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mexican Train (Toy)
Played this game over Christmas with adults and we became addicted to it. We really had a lot of fun and every game is so different. We played with seven of us and trains really spread out and the mexican train was alsorts of shapes to keep it on the table. The dominos and playing pieces are really durable and good quality. The train is an extra laugh as you press the button and it makes train noises and puts other players off when it is their turn. Really glad I took a chance and bought it, it makes a change not to have to throw a dice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mexican train, 5 Sep 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mexican Train (Toy)
Bought Mexican Train after playing it recently with 2 other adults.Invited some friends to play and they enjoyed it too. Don't think it was just the wine. Played for 2 hours and didn't managed to finish the game but that doesn't matter. You can stop earlier without detracting from the game. They do give a shorter version which should be quicker. Fun and tactical game of dominoes. Up to 12 dots and different colours used to aid number recognition.Mexican Train
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dominoes for all ages, 15 April 2010
By 
Joanne, dundee (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mexican Train (Toy)
This is an excellent game for all ages. It is simple to learn and easy to play but can also be played tactically. I have played it with up to eight adults. We all loved it and played it nearly every night on holiday. Each round can be played quickly and can stand alone or you can play all thirteen rounds and accumulate the scores. I have also played this Dominoes with children as young as 3years. It is great for their number skills as well as learning the social skills of taking turns. The children loved it and were keen to play again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mexican Train, 7 April 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mexican Train (Toy)
A great game that keeps us occupied for hours - we have both the travel and normal versions. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mexican Train
Mexican Train by Tactic
20.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews