Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but slightly depressing film
I thoroughly enjoyed this film although it is a bit distressing at times, I hear it is very similar to The Girl Next Door except that it more violent, I have not watched the girl next door so i am not comparing it. I did laugh when i saw the age rating was U on the previous page as this film should be a 15 just due to it's general story. Over all, this is a very good film...
Published on 11 July 2012 by EmWag

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Try `The girl next door instead.`
I watched this after reading all the reviews of how apparently horrific it was.I think Ellen Page (as she did in Hard Candy) did a fantastic job but the film simply wasn't as brutal as the true story.The movie is mildly disturbing and very sad.If you are looking for `hardcore horror` though try `The girl next door.`
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by Mr. A. J. Ralph


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but slightly depressing film, 11 July 2012
This review is from: An American Crime [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this film although it is a bit distressing at times, I hear it is very similar to The Girl Next Door except that it more violent, I have not watched the girl next door so i am not comparing it. I did laugh when i saw the age rating was U on the previous page as this film should be a 15 just due to it's general story. Over all, this is a very good film based around the horrible true story of the torture and murder of Sylvia Likens (who is played by Ellen Page in the film.) by her neighbor, Gertrude and her children. If in doubt, i definitely recommend watching this film but beware it's not one of those films that make you feel good at the end and it is quite dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gut wrenching true stories, 31 May 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Warning: this is a true story and may cause distress to the viewer. Viewer discretion (as they say) is advised.

Sylvia Likens and her sister Jenny were left as borders with a woman, locally known as Gertrude Baniszweski, and her children. Unfortunately for the Liken children, especially Sylvia, Gertrude was a sadist and she had just found her victim in Sylvia. When the agreed payment was late she beat both girl, and this was the start of the rot.

When Gertrude heard that Paula (her eldest daughter) was pregnant she said that Sylvia had started the rumour by lying at the school, and her daughter was not pregnant (she was later to be proved that the rumour was true when Paula gave birth, but it was too late for Sylvia who had been locked in the basement).

This is a story of a woman and the control she had over those around her. A control which she used to manipulate others into destroying an innocent girl.

Shown in flashback form during the trial of Gertrude Wright, and this isn't a bad thing as it breaks up some of the relentless abuse that Sylvia had no breather from.

The acting in the film is superb. At time it is gut wrenching.

Ellen Page plays Sylvia to perfection and, though only young at the time, was the equal of the more experienced cast members. Catherine Keener, who originally turned the role of Gertrude Baniszweski down, makes a chilling Gertrude.

The majority of the rest of the cast were young but each one played their part wonderfully.

As a tribute to Sylvia Marie Likens, and so that no one forgets what happened to her, this movie makes it point.

- - - - -

This part of the review contains SPOILERS regarding the true story of the murder of Sylvia Likens.

Sylvia Marie Likens - born 3 January 1949, died 26 October 1965 - aged 16 - from injuries received at the hands of Gertrude Baniszewski and others

Gertrude Wright (real name Gertrude Nadine Baniszewski) - born 19 Spetember 1929, died 16 June 1990 - aged 60 - cause of death: heart failure while suffering from lung cancer

Carnival workers Lester and Betty Likens were the parents of 5 children - 2 sets of twins (Danny and Diane, and Benny and Jenny) and Sylvia. Sylvia was the middle child. During the spring months (while the children were at school) Lester Likens and his wife would off-load them on relatives while they travelled with the carnival.

The boys were easier to place because those taking them in could see that they could work, but Sylvia, who was a pretty lithe girl and Jenny, who had been crippled by a bout of polio, were harder to palm off on to relatives. Likens oldest daughter Diana was married and did not want the two girls hanging round with her and her new husband, so Lester had to look elsewhere for someone to take the girls in.

The girls had first met Gertrude's eldest child, Paula, when they were walking down the street (not on a bus as in the film) and they were invited back to the Wright's house. Sylvia and Jenny spent the night. When their father came looking for them he met Gertrude for the first time and agreed that Sylvia and Jenny would stay with Gertrude and her children, for a payment of $20 a fortnight. Lester Likens barely knew Gertrude.

When the cheque for $20 was late Sylvia decided that the girls must pay for their father's error and she beat them both with a wooden board/paddle. The cheque arrived with the post the following morning, but it was too late because the floodgates were now open and things were only ever going to get worse. Gertrude found any excuse (including making up reasons) to beat and humiliate the girls.

Sylvia, to her credit, always placed herself in the way of Gertrude's malice and hatred in order to protect her younger sister and so took the brunt of everything, eventually becoming the sole victim of Gertrude's demented behaviour. Gertrude made her children join in the abuse of Sylvia, although some were less reticent than others to inflict pain, suffering and degradation on the 16 year old.

Once the pack behaviour had begun others in the pack (neighbourhood children who were used to the situation in the house) started to join in. Gertrude was the pack leader and what she couldn't inflict herself she got the children to do. Often starting it, just to show them what it was she wanted done and how it was to be done.

The main problem was that Gertrude was a sadist who enjoyed seeing the girl in pain. It was known that she had beaten her own children prior to the arrival of the Likens girl. Once Gertrude had started inflicting pain on the child she could have stopped, but she didn't want to.

Obviously, the film could not include the more horrendous things which were done to Sylvia, but what is shown is bad enough.

Gertrude was only 36 at the time and looked like a woman in her 60s or 70s, but a hard life is no excuse for what she did. After that first incident she had the choice to stop, but she didn't and she continued to take out her frustrations and spite on the innocent child who was in her care.

By the end it became obvious that Gertrude was going to kill Sylvia, and poor Sylvia must have know she was going to die when she was forced to write a letter blaming a gang of boys for beating and torturing her.

Gertrude tried to use that letter as proof that she and her brood had nothing to do with what happened to Sylvia. When her plan didn't work she tried to palm all the blame on the children.

Gertrude and her daughter, Paula, were charged with murder. The others were charged with various levels of manslaughter.

Further information:

Some licence has been taken with the film and certain things had been altered, including:

- How they met the Baniszewski children - they met the eldest child, Paula, when they were walking down the street, not on a church bus

- Gertrude had 7 children not 6 - Paula, Stephanie, John Jr, Marie, Shirley and James Baniszewski and Dennis Lee Wright Jr - a child from a different father. Gertrude called herself Mrs Wright, but she had never been married to Dennis Wright Sr. Dennis Wright having left her before Dennis Jr was born.

- The Likens visited their children early on, but claim not to have noticed any bruising or anything untoward

- The girls contacted their older sister (Diana) and told her about the abuse, but she ignored thinking that they were making it up. Until, that was, she tried to see the girls and was refused access.

- It wasn't just Gertrude who inflicted pain on Sylvia; Paula took a very active part in the abuse too.

- Stephanie's boyfriend, Coy Hubbard, used to practice his judo moves on Sylvia, throwing her across the room into walls and onto the floor.

- Gertrude would lie to the neighbourhood children saying that Sylvia had said things about them in order to convince them to beat her.

- the neighbours knew about the abuse and frequently heard Sylvia screaming and did nothing about it.

During her parole hearing Gertrude told the hearing "I'm not sure what role I had in it ... because I was on drugs. I never really knew her". Gertrude eventually accepted that she was responsible because it had happened in her house, but blamed her own children and the neighbourhood children for the injuries caused to Sylvia.

She was released due to her good behaviour and the fact that she had been diagnosed with lung cancer in 1985, having reverted to her maiden name and using her middle name she became Nadine Van Fossan.

A number of attempts were made to stop her release but they failed. She complained after being released how living with what had happened was "terrible" for her. I can't imagine what Sylvia felt while she was being so brutally tortured and beaten to death, and I very much doubt that Gertrude ever put any thought into the fear that she and the others inflicted on that child.

A Minister said that the community should "forgive and forget", but (in my opinion) forgiveness is up to Sylvia and God and, as for forgetting, we should never forget what happened to this innocent child at the hands of this psychopathic woman - for, as George Santayana said: "those who do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it", and one thing we don't want is a repeat of such a horrendous crime.

If you are interested in further information about the case then there are a number of publications available. The Indiana Torture Slaying: Sylvia Likens' Ordeal and Death is one of the better ones when it is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Account Of A Tragedy., 4 July 2011
This review is from: An American Crime [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
An American Crime is a bleak and depressing telling of the true-life story of the torture and murder of Indianapolis teen, Sylvia Likens. The film contains excellent performances by all actors. Some may question the authenticity of the account. The film was written using the court transcripts. Of course the film isn't an exact re-telling, an exact re-telling would be un-filmable and impossible for an audience member to sit through. However this is not a graphically violent film, The violence would be a light R rating or a low 15. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An American Crime, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Crime [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I much preferred this to "The Girl Next Door" although that was compelling viewing as well. I liked the fact that some of the dialogue was from the court transcripts. This film was a more toned down version of "The Girl Next Door" but this made it all the more horrific. I found it interesting that when the children were asked why they had participated in the torture their reply was "I don't know." My feeling was that they did it because they could. Their lack of empathy or any human feeling toward what was going on was chilling. And then, to go back day after day; the mind boggles. This is certainly a "must see" but be warned. . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scary and amazing, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Charlotte Simonsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An American Crime [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A really terrible, scary and heartbreaking authentic story, but both Ellen Page and Catherine Keener are seriously amazing.
RIP Sylvia Likens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ellen Page - A star of the future, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been wanting this Blu-Ray ever since I saw it on DVD and I wasn't disappointed with it. The main point for me was the amazing cover that the German import has to offer and it really gives Ellen Page the best profile picture I have seen of her. She really stands out for me in this film, in exactly the same way she did in Juno and Super. The whole theme of the film really keeps you watching and it shows what some children go through when it comes to domestic violence. It interesting to note that another film that has the same kind of theme to this where a girl is subjected to brutal violence is The Girl Next Door, and I would recommend that you watch that also. I would give 10 out 0f 10 for An American Crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Try `The girl next door instead.`, 10 Jun 2009
This review is from: An American Crime [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I watched this after reading all the reviews of how apparently horrific it was.I think Ellen Page (as she did in Hard Candy) did a fantastic job but the film simply wasn't as brutal as the true story.The movie is mildly disturbing and very sad.If you are looking for `hardcore horror` though try `The girl next door.`
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 28 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An American Crime [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This dvd is in excellent condition and sounds great, very good quality and it arrived nice and fast, thank you and I hope to do bussness again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An American Crime [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
2.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews