Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars85
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2008
Ok so this is another "best of..." album. Ok so it only covers the '80s and misses all of the recent hits. The comments in reviews below seem to cover these points a lot! REALLY, read the title!! Maiden aren't hiding this, if you don't need another best of album don't buy it. You're all big boys aren't you with a mind of you're own? If you're going to post a review, review the music. This album includes some of the very best IRON MAIDEN around. These are classic tracks from the best British metal band. If you are an old Maiden fan like me you can not help but enjoy this...it's playing in my car every morning on the way to work and if "Can I play with madness" doesn't put you in a good mood I don't know what will. If you're a newbe, then sit back, enjoy and be amazed at some of the best metal tracks around!
22 comments|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2008
This CD earns a five star review from me because, simply put, there is not a bad song on it.
Other reviewers have chosen to criticize because they feel that it's a cash in - designed to exploit the die hard fans into shelling out yet again for "another" best of. Not so. This set is aimed at the casual listener and the curious newcomer. Maiden have said that they don't expect their fans to buy everything they release, so guess what people...If you've already got these songs - don't buy them again. For those that think previous "best of" collections should be enough, remember this CD is all about making Maiden's music as accessible as possible for those who are only just discovering the band. People who aren't going to spend time exploring what may or may not have been released previously.
If you are a newcomer - You could do a lot worse than to pick up a copy of this disk. The quality of songs on offer is second to none. This release is a great springboard towards a band that play some of the most life affirming music on offer today.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
Like reviews for other compilation albums by artists such as Queen etc, we see the same kind of complaints - 'Why are they releasing stuff we already have?' and so on. If you already have the albums, why would you want to buy any compilations? These albums aren't for you, they're for people who have heard of the bands but don't know where to start listening to them (I was the same, coming late to Maiden, and allowed a friend to create a compilation for me which led to my becoming a devoted fan).

The music here is awesome, and will be a treat for people who are just stepping into the waters. People who refer to older compilations don't seem to understand that 'old' compilations have no appeal to younger potential fans - it has to seem current (ie. new packaging, new image), otherwise it's just 'old'. The more we can see old bands re-presented and introduced to new audiences the happier I, for one, will be. And no, I won't be buying this, because I already have all of the songs in their original context - on the albums where they belong. For everyone else, it's a great place to begin!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2008
If, like me, you have this band's back catalogue already then there isn't any point in this (especially if you have a CD burner!) as it offers no new material and is simply a nicely packaged compilation!
HOWEVER, I have a mate at work, a couple of years younger than myself, who after several years in the wilderness (marriage, mortgage etc) has returned to the metal fold, and absoluteley LOVES this CD! It's a really good starting block or as a refresher!
I can endorse the 5 stars, as the material here is taken from what were by far the best years of Maiden's career - they still make some decent music today but there is less fire in the belly, now they are the wrong side of 50.
The songs here though are all strong, and heavy - It's easy to see the influence that this era of Iron Maiden played in the birth of Thrash & Speed Metal back in the mid '80s!
Basically, full on Metal, with perhaps the finest Heavy Metal Bass Guitar lines ever from the legendary Steve Harris!!
It's great to see that the Paul Dianno (original singer) years are included here - Dianno, while not having Dickinson's range, is actually my favourite, and his gruff vocals really suited Maidens early, proto-thrash music.(I really rate 1981's Killers).
Incidentally, my mate really rated Maiden's recent Twickenham gig - let us
hope it was filmed......
All I need to do now is convert him to Metallica, then Dimmu Borgir!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2008
I know some people will say "not another compilation" but a lot of us at Twickenham have not been avid buyers of the Maiden, for us late converts this is a great disc and a reminder of a great night with a band that played fantastic rock and showed genuine respect to their fans.
Okay so it's a money making venture but it's still good value.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2009
A collection of some of the early stuff from a classic metal band. Even nearly 30 years on, it still stands the test of time. How many bands would rather that their early stuff would just 'go away?' From the introductory 'Churchill speech' that always raises the hackles on my back of my neck and on through classics like The Trooper, Children of the Damned, Number of the Beast and Run to the Hills, this is a must have album for anyone who likes their music 'on the heavy side'.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2008
Ok, so, if you're a Maiden fan you've heard and got all of these songs I expect, at least four times over, seeing as this is their 4th 'Best Of' compilation (others are Ed Hunter, Best Of The Beast, Edward The Great) and a lot of these songs are on their 4 live albums (Live After Death, a Real Live Dead One, Rock In Rio, Death On The Road). The live tracks from the Di'Anno era on this compilation are live for a reason; they're performed by Bruce Dickinson. So this is a good starting point for someone interested in Maiden's world, as it points their fingers to the better songs throughout the 80's but so much more could've been added, even turned it into a double disc but nevermind all that. The front cover artwork is a genius idea, combining the Powerslave and Somewhere In Time covers together. So you're either gonna buy this if you:
a) want to get into Maiden
b) already have the songs but want to carry on your Maiden collection
c) want it cos the album cover is the best one in years.
Not much else to say really. A standard Best Of to get the money making machine rolling. Still a good selection of some of Maiden's 80's classics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
Somewhere Back In Time is an album I bought to introduce my son to Iron Maiden and I quickly regretted that decision.

When you look on the back cover you see a good selection of the band's most well known numbers and they all sound great. They have been nicely remastered and don't show their age at all. The song selection is fine enough, though having Children of the Damned and not The Prisoner, Sanctuary or any of the better songs is a bit strange. It sounds quite out of place.

The big problem here revolves around the use of live material instead of featuring the legendary songs Iron Maiden, Wrath Child and Phantom of the Opera sang by Paul Di'Anno. They replaced them with horrible overdubbed tracks from Live After Death. I don't care what Iron Maiden fans say, I have never considered the performances of Live After Death to be of good quality. Bruce Dickinson over sings each one of these songs, he cannot replicate that punk spirit that made these songs so good. I suspect they did this just to avoid paying Di'Anno which is even worse.

Somewhere Back In Time is a decent collection for kids but for fans of the band it is a complete shambles. There is absolutely no reason to buy this collection at all. It is a shame to see that they're too ashamed to use the studio tracks from their début album. It was bad enough they did it on Best of the Beast, but at least it had good continuous momentum in the track list. This album does not, avoid it and buy the previously mentioned album instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2008
As stated in Maiden's own release info this album is to introduce their new young (U25) fans (mainly from India / Far East) to their older music. Most of these fans have been hooked on the newer material so this album is realesed to coincide with the Back in Time tour and create new interets in the 80's music. If your an older fan who has all the old albums then don't bother (unless you want the art work). If your a newer fan and don't have the old albums this a great place to start.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2008
When i read that maiden were to release another best of i thought 'not again!'. But after a couple of excelent early days tours, it seems that everyone and his dog are passionate again about the first ten years. however, wouldn't it have been better to release a live album of the current tour instead of this best of, i mean, its no better than edward the great, and its certainly not a patch on the 2cd version of best of the beast. puting all that aside, what you have here, is a cd with great artwork and a collection of songs that were taken from the '98 remasters. Another thing that i noticed about this collection is that the songs they have put on here from the first two albums are live versions, and i have got a funny idea that they are probably live versions featuring bruce on vocals (correct me if i am wrong), even still, they seem to have a real problem with using the original versions from those two albums. i know steve harris never was happy with the production of the first album, but even still its greet to hear what a fantastic contribution paul dianno made to those first two records.... my advice would be, if you are new to the world of maiden would be to go for best of the beast 2cd version.... its nice to have a best of in the collection, but there just seems to be something lacking in this one, still gets a respectable 3 stars.......carry on rockin'!!!!!
55 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)