Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry V111
A different way of telling Henry's reign from childhood to death.I enjoyed the author's ideas of this and found the story very intrigueing.
Published 21 months ago by vpgs72

versus
43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly disappointing
I was utterly disappointed with this book. Far more fiction than history - not up to expectations in any way. Wouldn't recommend it at all.
Published on 5 Feb 2011


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly disappointing, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
I was utterly disappointed with this book. Far more fiction than history - not up to expectations in any way. Wouldn't recommend it at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars History - what history?, 14 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
I have loved reading historical novels since I cut my teeth on Jean Plaidy in the 70's. There are some brilliant books of this genre out there, many of which are more history than novel, but this book disappoints on every level imaginable. Although some of the historical reference points are correct the writer misrepresents important established facts, such as those around the the demise of Catherine Parr. I like a book to inform, to unfold a plot (even if you do know the outcome)to capture the essence of the period in the mind and make me care for the characters. What I don't want is a book which relies heavily on overblown imagined conversations between courtiers with little of anything else in between. The only good thing I can say is that reading this has given me an interest in a figure which is usually on the periphery of tudor history - John Heywood the King's Fool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry V111, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
A different way of telling Henry's reign from childhood to death.I enjoyed the author's ideas of this and found the story very intrigueing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Henry Vlll and his court, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book as it touched on all the queens of Henry but was mostly about his last marriage. I have read many books about the other queens but this is the only one about Catherine Parr and it brought her back to life vividly .I would highly recommend this book to people who like their history told to them in story form although sticking as much as possible to the historical facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More fiction than fact, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
I m reading this at the moment but I'm disappointed in the lack of historical fact. Catherine Parr was older than depicted here with 2 marriages behind her, not one. Spelling is also a problem.

I will finish the book, but if I hadn't had prior knowledge of the history of Henry V111. I would believe what is said in this book. So please remember this is fiction, not based on many facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Read, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
Not very impressed with this book - illustrations were very disappointing and story was a bit confusing and hard to follow.
grannie mac
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the informative and factual narrative - unfortunately was not able to enjoy the illustrations but a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this book, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Brian (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
all history is interesting....and this book is no exception....it is always surprising to read in depth our wonderful history and what we didn't know...!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
It went of everything about his court it told you to much about everyone in to much detail didn't finish it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first class., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated] (Kindle Edition)
a story of power , ruthlessness , a king with a complete disregard for his subjects who were treated by him like pawns in a dangerous game of chess. an absolute monster......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Henry VIII And His Court [Illustrated]
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews