Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars12
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2011
Its true. This is a good documentary and provides the viewer with a solid insight into the history of the Berlin Wall. It draws upon all sides: East Germans, West Germans, and guards from both sides. This is good but the US narration is simply dreadful. The narrator comes across in his brash US accent and sounds patronising to the viewer by repeating himself numerous times. Don't let this put you off mind. Good DVD, good value.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
As a Berliner I was fascinated by this DVD, especially the technical details of the various walls and the background stories of the people who managed to escape. The only thing that lets it down badly is the dreadful American accent of the commentator - a pure British voice would have been so much better and increased my rating to *****!
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
This is a dreadful, dumbed down TV documentary in which a small amount of fascinating archive footage is padded out to 48 minutes with poor computer graphics, dramatised re-enactments and repetitive recaps. Its intended audience seems to be middle Americans who have never heard of the Berlin Wall and who probably don't even know where Berlin is.

I have been visiting Berlin (including the eastern part of the city) since the mid-1980s and am utterly fascinated by the city and its recent history. This DVD contains almost nothing of interest and is a huge disappointment.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
Alan Partridge afficionados may get my not-too-cryptic evaluation of this.

The excellent video footage is fertile ground for an informative depiction of the grim reality of this unique and historic divide.

The narrative, though, is so appallingly bad. Dumbed down to the Nth degree and delivered with the same lack of gravitas (it actually sounds like the same person?) as Police!Camera!Action! it distracts the viewer so much from the archive footage that it just ruins the whole experience. It could so, so , easily have been so much better. Obviously not possible to re-dub in this way but those of you who watch this, just compare with Olivier's narrative on 'The World at War'.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
It's ok, if you haven't seen anything about the subject. Nice overwiev about what happened.
If you have seen several films about the subject, this does not add so much.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
Although the documentary is very americanized, it is still very good. As a group of history students, we learned something new about the Berlin Wall. For example, we learned about the various `stages' of the wall as it was built.
Perhaps it could have had more information on the actual history and details of context, but as a tool to encourage empathy and understand the human stories affected by this, it was very useful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
The DVD is good though like some other reviewers I would have chosen another style of voice over.That havng been said as a frequent visitor to Berlin it contained some added information I can use on my next visit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2009
This true life dvd is for you if you like history, real footage combined with modern computer graphics.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Having lived in Berlin from 1980 to 1982 I was very disappointed. I thought I was buying a film about The Berlin wall and not what turned out to be not a porly made documentary
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Interesting documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)