Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh come on! It isn't that bad!
This film has been critically ripped apart due to many different elements, but having watched it last night, I noticed that it's certainly not as bad as what some of the critics are saying!

One Missed Call tells the tale of a contagious and deadly curse, spread amongst friends via mobile phones: People answer mysterious calls and hear themselves being brutally...
Published on 2 Nov 2008 by D. Jackson

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average horror with a couple of good scary moments
I must admit that i wasn't really expecting much from this film when i saw it at the cinema.
It is very watchable, and at times very creepy, especially that old lady figurine. But at times the special effects are a bit naf.
And the ending is a little disappointing, i won't give it away though.
This is another run of the mill east meets west horrors in...
Published on 16 May 2008 by J. Kavanagh


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average horror with a couple of good scary moments, 16 May 2008
By 
I must admit that i wasn't really expecting much from this film when i saw it at the cinema.
It is very watchable, and at times very creepy, especially that old lady figurine. But at times the special effects are a bit naf.
And the ending is a little disappointing, i won't give it away though.
This is another run of the mill east meets west horrors in nature but does keep you watching all the way through. If the ending had been better then it would have achieved a four star, at one point in the film i thought they were going to blame the teddy bear!?! You'll understand if you watch the film!
I would recommend this film but don't pay a lot for it!
Also if you are a fan of blood and guts horror then there is nothing for you here!
Hope this helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One Missed Call - One Dull Horror, 3 Nov 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
After a fire at a hospital, people begin getting phone calls to their mobiles where they have a missed call. When listening to the message that has been left they find it is from themselves in the near future at the time when they die.

I'm a big fan of J-Horror, but not so much the US remakes, but from the trailer this one actually looked pretty decent. I should however of stuck to my original instincts and not bothered. It starts off quite creepy and is fairly similar to the story in The Ring/Ringu or Shutter where supernatural forces are killing teens through modern technology. But then the story takes a turn for the worst and just becomes plain ridiculous. I actually had a good feeling at the beginning of this movie thinking it was going to be similar to Final Destination but it just went really stupid really quickly with un-scary CGI ghosts popping up all over the place and unrealistic, unlikely and extremely over the top death scenes (like when she falls off the bridge!?). It did actually have a really good twist at the end that is worth keeping watching until the credits, as my interest did pick up again in the last 15 minutes or so. For the rest of the film though I was constantly checking the timer to see how long was left as it was quite a chore to get through.

The Blu Ray picture is flawless though, so if you do actually like this film, it is definitely worth getting it in this format.

Overall this is a disappointing and uninteresting horror that is not scary in the slightest and has been seen all before in better (just) films such as The Ring, The Grudge and Dark Water. I'd highly recommend renting before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average horror, 28 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an average horror, slightly spooky and very much like th ring ect, worth watching but maybe not owning, if you are lucky enough to have surround sound it helps, but on the whole it is ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh come on! It isn't that bad!, 2 Nov 2008
By 
D. Jackson "DJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Missed Call [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This film has been critically ripped apart due to many different elements, but having watched it last night, I noticed that it's certainly not as bad as what some of the critics are saying!

One Missed Call tells the tale of a contagious and deadly curse, spread amongst friends via mobile phones: People answer mysterious calls and hear themselves being brutally murdered on the other end. The original was a classic: Very creepy, emotional, and full of startling imagery... so obviously it was going to be difficult for the remake to live up to the severe expectations.

Over the past few years, we've seen so many dark-haired little girls in need of a wash appearing in the mirror etc; so by now, we should all know what we're in for when purchasing a low-budget Hollywood remake of a classic Japanese ghostly thriller. This is what annoys me when I see comments like: 'bad characterization', and, 'embarrassing acting'. Really, you cannot watch a film with this kind of history and expect it to be Oscar-worthy.

That said, One Missed Call is a really fun little movie to watch and it's also nice to see Shannyn Sossamon back in a leading role. Well-timed scares, a decent plot, some great creepy moments and a very fast pace all add up to a pretty decent night in. This is actually one to be quietly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 missed call, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: One Missed Call [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The Ringu-like premise is promising: Someone dies; you get a call from them after they have died; you are going to die next; you need to stop yourself dying. The execution is more feardotcom-like: Utterly dire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One Missed Call is One More Like The Grudge, 18 July 2009
By 
V. A. M. Edwards "Wierzbowski" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Missed Call [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
One Missed Call is in the very same vein as The Grudge or The Ring or Dark Water. It has a very J horror kind of feel that adds to a very creepy atmosphere and this film is just full of disturbing visuals that are used to their greatest effect. However, the film has some BIG drawbacks. For one you dont really care about any of the characters and it seems like they're holding back on a lot of the death scenes, making the movie about as enjoyable as White Noise 2. There is a bit of an homage to Final Destination during parts of act 1 but though interesting it doesn't make the movie a winner. The plot is a bit complicated and it kind of seems to be trying to make you afraid of your cell phone.

Worth a watch as a good popcorn kind of movie but it's not one that will stick with you unless you get really creeped out by the visuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the brilliance of this film, 30 Aug 2008
By 
Mrs. R. A. Mace "rob mace" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Althogh this film may require a little extra thinking in parts, belive me when i say this, it is well worth it. With fantastic use of dark lighting non-diagetic sounds and sheer creepiness one missed call creates a chilling atmosphere to watch and reveales a story line making you want more - i have read the other reviews and believe me dont listen to them, when i saw the film at my local cinema i was taken back by the excellence of it and have since recomended it to all of my friends and family. Yes, the special effects are not top notch but who needs them to be brilliant when the story is so engrocing itself. Throughout the course of the film i was gripped, enthralled and made to jump by this marvelous piece of cinematogrophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars give it a go ......, 20 Sep 2009
This review is from: One Missed Call [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I agree with the last reviewer , okay the japanese are masters of telling great ghost stories , but as a western remake this is a good ghost story , indeed if you had not watched the original japanese movie first as i had not then i think you would find it better than it has been represented . I think as a good spooky story to curl up on the sofa with your partner late one weekend it serves it self more than adequately , especially with its fair share of scares and twists and turns within the plotline , go ahead if you like a good ghost story with a twist give it a go , bet you whoever you watch it with does the text thing to you at least once afterwards ..... bring on the sequel .... the japanese did one .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another American copy of a Japanese horror which doesn't come up to the original, 19 July 2008
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It is rare that an American re-release of a Japanese film comes up to scratch and in this case it falls well short. The story is so unlinked that it is unbelievable and though you will not know who is causing the problem until the very end of the film, the story it self really only holds your attention for the first 45 minutes. I also am not into the very darkly lit scenes. This seems a new fad in American films in that you cannot see what is happening and this really does make it hard to follow the film. They used the same technique in Alien v Preditor 2 and it doesn't work!!

If you want to watch this film then watch the original japanese version with English subtitles. It is by far the better version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another disappointing remake of a truly creepy Japanese original, 27 Oct 2008
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Missed Call [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Subtlety. It's what makes Japanese horror so effective - and American remakes of same so ineffective. Japanese horror directors have mastered the art of subtlety, but it's still an alien concept in Hollywood, which explains how a remake that follows the original film's story fairly closely can turn out unrealistic at best - and downright silly at worst. Hollywood thinks CGI is the answer to everything, especially in horror movies, and I'm at a loss as to explain why they continue to think the C in CGI stands for creepiness when it certainly does not. You just have to observe this film's potentially creepiest moment, which is thoroughly destroyed by a moment of CGI utter silliness. Famed director Takashi Miike made Chakushin Ari (One Missed Call [2004] (REGION 1) (NTSC)), the original Japanese version of this film, one of the creepiest horror movies I had seen in a long time. Having loved that film so much, and having seen other great J-horror films turned inside out by American directors, I did not have the highest of hopes for this remake. It actually turned out a little better than I expected - but it's still the palest of reflections of Chakushin Ari.

The basic premise of the story is that people start receiving calls on their cell phones recording the moments of their own deaths. The phone calls come from each individual's own cell phone number, feature the same creepy ringtone, and are always dated a day or two in the future, thus revealing the exact time of that person's death. Then, when each such death actually takes place (just as it was recorded on the cell phone messages), someone in the victim's list of saved phone numbers is automatically selected to be the next phone call recipient. Authorities also find a piece of hard candy in the victims' mouths. The one person closest to the mystery is Beth (Shannyn Sossamon), who hears the messages and witnesses the deaths of several of her friends. In one of the most unexplainable casting decisions of all time, Margaret Cho plays the cop who pretty much blows her off. Fortunately, Detective Jack Andrews (Edward Burns) hears and believes her story; it seems his sister was one of the earlier victims of whatever is going on, so he and Beth team up to try and track these calls back to the source - and to do so before Beth's number comes up (in more ways than one).

One of the many things that director Takashi Miike did exceptionally well in Chakushin Ari was to limit the number and scope of ghostly appearances up until the last few scenes of the movie. From the subtle to the in-your-face manifestations, each appearance thus played to maximum effect. You can forget about that in this remake. I knew it was going to be a problem when this movie opened with a huge hospital fire, as opposed to the relaxed friendly atmosphere that started Chakushin Ari on its creepy way. And, as I alluded to, awful CGI effects are strewn everywhere in this movie (doing what was already a rather ambiguous ending no favors). Perhaps the worst mismanagement of the original script comes when one of Beth's terrified, fated-to-die friends ends up going on a paranormal television show to find protection. In Chakushin Ari, this made for a surprisingly effective and memorable scene, whereas here you have a televangelist trying to cast out demons from a cell phone. Sound silly? It is.

The worst thing about One Missed Call is the fact that it denies viewers the thrill of truly enjoying Chakushin Ari at a later date (since you'll already basically know what happens). The original is one of my favorite horror films of all time, and I would implore viewers to seek out that film before ever casting eyes upon this inferior American remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Missed Call [DVD] [2008]
One Missed Call [DVD] [2008] by Eric Valette (DVD - 2008)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews