Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No serial number supplied with this purchase
The game arrived quickly, new and sealed in cellophane wrapping.

Installation went smoothly on windows 7.

Unable to play online or sign into windows live to update the game automatically or record achievements as no serial number is supplied.

No update on the disk and had to manual search for the 160M file.

I emailed barcode...
Published 23 months ago by John P Martin

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Say no!
Why would anyone ruin such a great game with windows live?Why so many good games have horrible drms?I only wrote this just to add one more lone star review.Say no to windows live,SecuRom and all kinds of drms and pimps.
Published 22 months ago by minimalistis


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They got it right!, 4 May 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Bioshock 2, has got it right! The first game was very annoying, confusing and repetative, but they have ironed out the creases to give us a near perfect game with jaw dropping graphics. It's stunningly beautiful, the levels are just fantastic and they have finally given us some big guns to play with and thrown in some great baddies to fight. It's engrossing on the game play and the storyline makes sense (which frankly a lot of games don't e.g. Fear 2, what was that all about?). The Art Deco theme and the music to match it, gives this game a nice edge. Can't wait for No 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game Bad port, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The game itself is good but not on the same level as the original Bioshock but the combat is enhanced and a half assed story but none the less it is still enjoyably just don't expect a strong multiplayer. But buyer be warned that the port is terrible and you will not be able to reload your plasminds unless you rebind then in the user.ini file but is is easy to change just look it up on Google or Youtube.
It is annoying that you have to sing into games for windows live to play and how crap the system is but the game is still a lot of fun to play and at cheap price it may be worth you're time if your a fan but if you're new I suggest playing the original as it is a much stronger title and infinite is not a good place to start as it is very different from the first two games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game is great but.. Oh no! Microsoft had to put their oar in.., 19 May 2013
By 
Philip Lawson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Great game, watch out for the swearing if you play it without headphones. What a pity Microsoft has to be involved. Install? No, you can install it but be prepared to fight if you want to play it. Why? Microsoft Live. Sign in to update.. No problem. Then it happens. "Please shut the game down to continue the update." Err, you can't shut the game down because the stupid message is in the way. Click to sign in and it tells you the update hasn't completed. Task Manager saves the day.
Still, Microsoft's big feet out of the way, and the game is superb. Even better than the original one. The game-play is smoother, the graphics, as expected, are much fancier and I found the controls easier fr some reason.
Got to hurry to complete it as there's another one available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Windows live is horrible!, 21 Mar. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Setting up this game is a pain. Unlike steam in which you can just create an account and get going, Windows live drags you through creating a windows live account and then making an account within that account! I used my account from a while ago, and because I am 16 I need my parents permission? So I tried to enter my gmail email but it will only work with hotmail accounts! If you want this game pirate it, Microsoft treat their customers like dirt.

Now there is no CD key! Apparently new copies of Bioshock 2 don't have them, you can play offline, however, you can't get any DLC's! This is awful! Either get it on Steam or pirate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better then the original, 24 Nov. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
For me, the only standout moment in Bioshock 1 was the big ol' twist. Everything before that was just a slog, you didn't really feel part of the story, you were just the guy who killed everything you came across. You had one moral choice in the game and no other real involvement, every fight was the same and you were in no danger as long as you played it safe.

But in Bioshock 2, the enemies were alot more varied, in both their model and in how they could attack you, teleporters aside, in bioshock one you didn't have many real challenges, but the fights with big sisters could be genuinely tense. You could choose who lives and dies out of characters other then little sisters, giving you a greater feeling of involvement in the story and its progression.It was nice that less of the characters you met were outright crazy as well, we only met like three characters who weren't splicers in Bioshock 1 and they were all still pretty mental in their own way. Your relationship with Eleanor was quite touching and made me genuinely smile, despite the whole killing everything that moves part, it felt like we genuinely had an effect on who she became and that made my decisions feel important.

Lamb wasn't as threatening as Fontaine or Adams and just seemed like she was helpless before you, only at one point did she have the upper hand and the trap was horrifically obvious, not really keeping up the standard but she wasn't bad.

Hacking was better and less tedious than in the previous game which was nice, still pretty tedious but at least you could always win (sometimes my start square in Bioshock 1 was surrounded by dead zones) and the bonuses you could get was a pretty good idea.

As always the background for the city delivered through the tapes was pretty cool, you would have thought someone would have already nabbed most of the tapes and loot from the city, seeing as it's full of crazy people with not much else to do but whatever.

Either way, brilliant story, brilliant characters, combat could still get a bit tedious but it wasn't as bad as 1. Good job overall, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dont buy from here, 11 May 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
the product does not come with an activation code and is tricky to get started on windows 8. without an activation code you can only pay story but you cant save the games. therefore you have to complete it in one, however this became impossible for me as when i played 2 hours and got to a certain part, it froze on me and stopped responding. its not my laptop specifications as they are quite good, it might of been windows 8. if i was you id just get an xbox version unless you have a pc with amazing specs or spend a lil more money to get an activation code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
After a couple of days playing the game it stopped working completely I tried many things but none of them worked. This was sold to me when it was a little broken I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Sept. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
If you liked Bioshock you'll probaply enjoy this. A different story and a different character you take place.
SPOILERS BELOW
You'll play as big daddy and your daughter gets kidnapped and you have to rescue her from evil and megalomaniac Sofia Lamb.
The gameplay is great, the plot is cliché but it's enjoyable. Would reccomend for FPS fans!

Result:
4/5= good game but kinda short, multi has some lag issues tough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe the patches helped., 13 April 2011
By 
Paul "NS1000" (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
First off I loved the original. It's still the best game I've played in years. It had everything. I wanted 2 but was put off by so many bad reviews. I've just bought this off Steam as it was cheap and I thought I can see for myself, if it's junk then I've not wasted much. Installed it, GFWL updated it (Why Steam and GFWL get slated so much is beyond me. Auto updatings worth it alone) Used a profiler to use an xbox controller (not rocket science and a few are free) and I can't see why it was slated so badly.

Yes it's like the original but it is different enough, and I guess changing it too much or leaving it alone would have bought complaints either way so they couldn't win. OK they should have improved the gfx, but even on a GTX460@1080p on a 37" screen it doesn't look any different to the first so you could argue it's kept the style. Maybe I wouldn't have paid full price, but I only get games nowdays in Steam, GFWL or others sales. I'll never buy a disc based game again.

If you like the first I can't see why you would hate the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Sister knows best, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Bioshock was a wonderful game (5/5) and BIOSHOCK 2 is no less an achievement. 2K have taken all the elements that made the original so great and have tweaked them in all the right ways to make the second game even better than the first. The inventive story behind Rapture is further developed and the weapons, combat, hacking, and upgrade progression have all been improved. The various classes of hysterical splicers still wander around chattering hilariously to themselves and several new enemies have been introduced to add range to the combat. The plasmids and weapons have been improved and you can now wield both at the same time (although you can’t use them simultaneously -- that would make things too easy). The voice acting remains excellent as does the writing, and the story of Rapture is wrapped up nicely in an unusually poignant ending. A true AAA game -- highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bioshock 2 (PC DVD)
Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) by Take 2 Interactive (Windows XP)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews