Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slightly Lesser Flavour
OK this is a review based on the game and not the DRM issues, Steam or the limited activitions. I disagree with all these things (except Steam which I personally find to be a superb service on the whole) and my thoughts regarding games publishers deciding how many times we can install and enjoy their games would'nt fit on the entire Amazon site. Just be aware that I am...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by Mr. H Chinaski

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Say no!
Why would anyone ruin such a great game with windows live?Why so many good games have horrible drms?I only wrote this just to add one more lone star review.Say no to windows live,SecuRom and all kinds of drms and pimps.
Published 14 months ago by minimalistis


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BioShock2, 8 Mar 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
A buggy sequel, another cashin on the sucsess of the first game
Dose not work on all widescreens and thats not the only fault with the game. Windows Live causes errors and if not logged in you cannot save the single player game. save error occasionally the game save is not correct, this causes the game not to load problem, only fix is to remove the faulty saves (0K file in save game folder).
I have spent more time getting it to work than the game took to complete, bioshock 2 single players even shorter than the first bioshock. Also no new weapons from the first bio shock, almost all the same enemies too. only new enemie is the big sister.
The multiplayer is so laggy it is unplayable.
I would not recommend this game to anyone.
Once again too much time spent by developers putting in un nessesary anti copping measures and flashy graphics to worry about improving the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Windows Live account arghhhhhhhh, 9 Feb 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I shall make this short and sweet.Two reasons not to buy this game, Windows Live Account and unbelievably No Controller Support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unusable - Don't Buy, 9 Feb 2010
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The game installed but won't start, crashed because it couldn't find xlive.dll. Having installed that it crashed because it couldn't find another file and so on. I don't have a "Games for Windows Live" account and don't want one, so I'll be asking for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanatstic, 'must have' game!, 11 Feb 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
All this talk about Windows Live and no controller support is pretty silly in my view. I mean what is the problem (apart from selling on) with having a Windows Live account? It really isn't a problem. What about all the games that require Steam? Batman, etc. etc. Get over it guys - this sort of thing is here to stay.
As fas as the controller support is concerned, well, this is a PC game! If you want xBox controllers, buy the XBox version. One of the great advantages of PC games, is the ability to have use of a mouse and the total freedom that brings.
The actual game is superb. Incredible atmosphere, story, characters, graphics, etc. So far, it's just as good as the first game - and that is high praise indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bioshock 2, 12 April 2010
By 
Mr. S. A. Williams "Red Hot Poker Man" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
This is a great continuation from the first Bioshock. Totally playable and not so different from the first game that you need to learn the gameplay from scratch. I cant really be bothered to get into the whole DRM thing as this is a review about the game itself and not a platform to express positive or negative views about such things!
In my opinion its a buy, buy, buy 5 star sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bioshock 2, 9 Jun 2010
By 
A. B. Sansom - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
The first game was brilliant and bug-free. So why mess with something that works. The basic game is OK but the Windows Live component is utter rubbish. Whatever the reason for it, it's suggested that it "adds to the gaming experience"- well no it detracts from it.

Tip- don't install the update suggested (Late May 2010) because it causes the game to make corrupt saves and requires deletion of these. I suggest playing offline and ignoring Windows Live. Pretty disappointed so far with the game but it's still a breath of fresh air compared to some FPS games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no gamepad support, 10 Feb 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
had this on pre-order for months. now I find out that is is being shipped with no gamepad support.

Unbelievable - will be returning it unopened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, ignore the "OMG DRM!!" posts., 15 Feb 2010
By 
M. R. Clark "Rawr" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
Jesus H.

Seriously, if you really think you'll be playing this game in ten years time and that a DRM is going to hurt that, then fine. But in all honesty all I see here is a load of people wanting to beat a stick about DRMs, yadda, yadda.

I've bought numerous games via Steam, Stardock, or with DRMs or whatever else a software vendor deems it requires and I've never had a problem. Am I just lucky? I highly doubt it.

The fact is, having a DRM doesn't stop this game being very good and worth purchasing and I'd advise people who have the misfortune of reading these slanted views to go and visit gamespot or similar sites for a more neutral and less blinkered point of view.

Have fun beating your sticks people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Xbox Controller Support, 9 Feb 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
I loved the first game, thought it was a fantastic experience, I thought it was made even better by using the Xbox 360 controller. Be warned this game does not support the Xbox 360 controller. I feel this needs to be made more clear, as people who like me purchase a game under the Games for Windows brand expect certain features especially when the older games that use the brand have Xbox 360 controller support!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. P. Tanner "paultanner2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) (CD-ROM)
If you have an issue with Microsoft then you will probably have issues with the whole Windows Live setup that you must go through here. If you do have issues then buy a Mac and let us all know how reliably it still runs after several years and little new software.

If you are a gamer and understand that D2D, Steam and Windows Live are the future of PC Gaming then I could not recommend this game highly enough. Graphically it adds nothing new but continues to visually deliver a stunning Rapture - with new and beautiful settings. The sound is as good as ever and really reflects what is going on in the game. The gameplay is where you will probably find the biggest change - it is much tighter as a shooter - the controls feel much better and having player CoD MW2 since Christmas it is nice to see that Bioshock 2 doesn't leave me feeling let down. The story-line is a continuation of last time out, with LOTS of references to the reasons Andrew Ryan built Rapture - in fact for me this is the only disappointing aspect - we know the reasons and the moral dilemmas that followed, but it does constantly re visit this. As before, however, the recordings of Rapture's inhabitants drive the story at hand and with these you can never be quite sure where the tale will take you.

Get over Windows Live and enjoy what is a FANTASTIC sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bioshock 2 (PC DVD)
Bioshock 2 (PC DVD) by Take 2 Interactive (Windows XP)
2.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews