Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun on a budget
This is an excellent entry level ukulele and a surprisingly long-term investment. It's also worth mentioning that:

(A) You can easily find these for around £25-£30 - even through Amazon (I did) - so do shop around carefully and track the price on Amazon and other online retailers if you want this one and you're on a budget. If you have more cash then there will...
Published on 15 Jun 2012 by BWK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better looking than sounding
Have only had my ukulele for a week so far, and I do love it. However, as many people are recommending, I will probably change the strings for a better set. It is very nice looking and the wood is a lovely colour. It was a good price too so overall am happy :)
Published 10 months ago by Hester Rawson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun on a budget, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele (Electronics)
This is an excellent entry level ukulele and a surprisingly long-term investment. It's also worth mentioning that:

(A) You can easily find these for around £25-£30 - even through Amazon (I did) - so do shop around carefully and track the price on Amazon and other online retailers if you want this one and you're on a budget. If you have more cash then there will be several other things you'll want to spend it on, like a decent tuner, some better strings, a bag or a book to teach yourself how to play.
(B) The strings are absolutely fine to learn on and, after just a couple of weeks of good use, they won't need frequent retuning. However, suffice it to say they don't sound fantastic, so you may want to upgrade to Worth or Aquila strings at some point. At ~£5 it's worth the money to increase the pleasure you get out of this little instrument.

Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best 'starter' ukulele out there, out performing everything else in this price band, 30 Sep 2014
By 
TidyWords (West Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele (Electronics)
This is outstanding value for money and without doubt the best ukulele in it's price range.

I have been a guitarist and bass player for several years and recently bought a ukulele to help my children learn to play alongside their school music lessons. There are a whole lot of cheaper end ukulele's aimed at the school/beginner market from Mahalo, Stagg, Vintage, Brunswick, Pro-Tone etc.. but none of them compare to the versatility, and playability of the Makala. This is a ukulele that will take you well beyond the beginner stages and you'll still be playing in years to come.

It's well built, nicely finished and has a very low action making it very easy to fret chords, which can be a great help for a beginner. It looks great, simple but classic and stylish with no garish transfers and no thick layer of gloss, just a simple matt wood laminate.

Apart from being easy on the eye and a dream to play, it really does sound great too. I immediately changed to Aquila strings as they have a dramatically better sound than the stock strings found on almost all lower end ukuleles. The sound is rich, glossy and surprisingly loud. Warm and gentle when strummed softly, bright and chirpy when strummed sharply, it gives a great range of tones depending on the style you adopt. The intonation was excellent across the whole fretboard and after the initial week or two settling in period for the strings (*see footnote below), it now holds tune session after session and rarely has to be retuned.

I can't rate this highly enough. I was expecting a toy for this price (and believe me, many of them are just that) but this really is a great instrument that holds its own against many higher priced ukulele's. In fact I'd suggest that this is the best you'll get until you start to look at the £100+ range of solid wood Uke's like the well respected Bruko No6 or the Ohana SK35.

(* A note for anyone completely new to the ukulele - the nylon strings have a large amount of stretch in them. When you buy a new ukulele or put new strings on, it will take a week or two before the strings fully stretch and settle. Until the strings have settled, expect to retune the ukulele every time you play, this can be as often as every song or two at the beginning. This is not a fault with the ukulele, the strings or the tuners, it is just the natural behaviour of the strings.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 21 Mar 2012
This review is from: Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele (Electronics)
Bought as first uke to see if I wanted to play it for fun or more serious learning. Have it for about 9 months now and am very impressed. The sound it makes sounds better and more beautiful the longer I play it- the sound vibrates longer and has a richer, warmer sound.

Had to tune it very often at first but after a couple of months, only rarely have to tune it.

Very easy to press the strings i.e. well made and very portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great First Uke (1st thing I did was to change the strings), 27 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele (Electronics)
This is a great 1st Ukulele, but sounds even better with Aquilla strings.
It's well made, and reasonable value value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starter UKE, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele (Electronics)
Very good little ukulele especially for beginners.
Good quality build for the price. I changed the strings after a week or so to some Aquila strings and this improved the sound and feel quite a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starting Ukulele, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele (Electronics)
A good quality Uke with a nice sound. Packaged well with a Ukulele starters guide (chords and stuff). Highly recommend to anyone looking to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent instrument for the price, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele (Electronics)
Proper machine heads and a nice sounding uke for the price - basic strings so I bought some nicer ones and it sounds lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very happy with my "uke" The only thing I have done to improve it is replace the strings with Aquila strings. It sounds as good if not better than more expensive ukuleles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele (Electronics)
I bought this ukulele for my boyfriend, it was his first one. He loves it. Hes a guitar player so he found it easy to get used to this instrument. It has a great sound and is comfortable to play. From reading the other reviews I was expecting to have to tune it very often but this hasn't been the case, maybe its our particular ukulele but it hasn't caused us any problems! It's a great instrument and it was a great present-he's really happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a Beginner, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele (Electronics)
Affordable good-quality ukulele suitable for a beginner player. The strings provided are low-quality, hard on the fingers and difficult to see as they are black. I immediately changed the strings for some high-quality Aquila strings. The uke sounds much better now and the strings are comfortable to play and easy to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kala MK-S Makala Soprano Ukulele
£32.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews