Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the purists, but a good general introduction to the band
There are obviously many 'protest' reviews here for this album and, to be honest, I agree with the sentiment. Radiohead are a band which are best savoured album by album, but that's not to say that a very good 'best of' album could be - and has been - easily compiled for those looking for an entry level Radiohead album or simply wanting the 'big' tracks...
Published on 19 May 2008 by Andy Sweeney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good songs - needs a few more listens to see ...
Bought this because I didn't know the band. Some good songs - needs a few more listens to see if they grow on me.
Published 9 months ago by Rob Clifford


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not one for the purists, but a good general introduction to the band, 19 May 2008
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
There are obviously many 'protest' reviews here for this album and, to be honest, I agree with the sentiment. Radiohead are a band which are best savoured album by album, but that's not to say that a very good 'best of' album could be - and has been - easily compiled for those looking for an entry level Radiohead album or simply wanting the 'big' tracks.

Personally, I'd recommend 'The Bends' and 'OK Computer' to start off your Radiohead collection, they're two sensational, essential albums which will probably lead to you buying further Radiohead releases but, failing that, at least get the 2 CD version of 'The Best Of' Radiohead as the second disc may satisfy a casual fan and may actually be all a casual fan would ever need whereas this one disc version will merely whet the appetite.

Giving this album "one star" as a protest really demeans the music, which is sensational. Really, virtually every track on this compilation is a classic slice of artistic rock genius. So, although the concept may be upsetting the existing fans, any album which could introduce Radiohead to a whole new generation of potential Radiohead admirers has to have some value - and it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review the album, 29 Jun. 2008
By 
G. Dunford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Isn't this facility for reviewing albums? People seem to be getting caught up in the politics and forgetting the point. This album contains, in my opinion, some of the best songs of the last couple of decades. I don't agree that it's disjointed or that it's essential to listen to individual Radiohead albums in their entirety. These people must be so disappointed when they go to see the band play live and have to sit through a set full of songs taken from different albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insight and impoverishment, 5 Dec. 2011
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
A lot of people take real offence to the idea of a 'best of'. They see it as selling out, giving-the-plebs-what-they-want, etc. Personally, I'm not bothered either way as most bands are in the business of making money these days & Radiohead are no exception (given their tendency to label every album after OK Computer as 'OK Computer 2' in NME interviews...)

If what you're after is the 'Best of Radiohead' then the first CD of this double album does the business.

Slightly biased in favour of The Bends, it feels like it breaks free of the ethos surrounding everything since 'OK Computer' via its selection of the more textured tracks off of all the albums. Who'd have thought Just flowed so well into Paranoid Android? Furthermore, who'd have thought the rich darkness of 'Street Spirit (Fade Out)' would work so well with Pyramid Song, 'The Bends' and 'Everything in its Right Place'?

If there's one thing to be said about 'Best of's it's that they can play games with a bands back catalogue and blend them in interesting new ways. True - this could be done better by something like the Beatles Love - but in the first CD of this album, I felt that something different was achieved with old things.

However, move to the second CD and you'll experience a similar effect to switching from a Great novel to its stodgy appendix. CD 2 is dreary and filled with all the bland, second rate stuff Radiohead have done.

Admittedly there are exceptions, such as Planet Telex, although where CD one's ethos made the songs better, CD 2's makes them all the worse.

It reminded me of the Red Dwarf* episode 'Demons & Angels', where one clone of Red Dwarf was made Heavenly, and the other Hellish. So it is true of this CD that, although the songs are merit-worthy in their place, the bland ones seem to have landed on CD2 and the great ones on CD 1!

So, if you want a new experience of Radiohead, I suggest buying CD 1 and seeing the tracks from a new & enlightening perspective. And if you've never heard Radiohead before, then I suggest skipping CD 2 and getting a copy of 'The Bends' and 'OK Computer'. By experiencing their finest works and rogueing the bad you will see them for how they really are, and not as some blinkered fans do...

* - Red Dwarf is a popular British Comedy Sci-Fi series. Kinda like Galaxy Quest, but as a TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the album, not a critique of the record industry, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
This is an excellent collection of songs, that suffers from the same lack of cohesion that other "Best Of" albums suffer from. Most of the best Radiohead songs are included here, but there will always be fans who lament the omission of certain songs (I'd like to have seen "How to Disappear Completely", for example).

This album offers nothing for fans who own the original albums, but it is a good introduction for people who are interested in the band. I would recommend getting OK Computer, or The Bends instead of this album, simply because they flow better. In my opinion, The Bends is more accessible, but OK Computer is slightly better. Nevertheless, as a collection of songs to dip in and out of (e.g. on playlists/shuffle) then this is hard to fault.

Whether it was right or wrong to release the album is another matter completely. However, it doesn't debase the quality of the music, and the same record company will get your money if you buy the original albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every track brilliant, 13 July 2008
By 
pam (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Sorry but I have to say there are a lot of elitist Radiohead 'fans' who seem to think they own the band and less knowledgeable need to be kept out. Well apart from their parents all fans started somewhere along the releases and these fantastic tracks will spawn another generation of fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not "the best" of Radiohead but still pretty good., 28 Jun. 2008
By 
M. J. Barber "matt_b2" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Record company squabbles aside, there are a couple of problems with this album. Firstly, it's heavily skewed towards a particular period in the career of the band, now over a decade past, skimming thinly over the bulk of their career in the process. Secondly, it's not a representative selection of the songs that you'd be likely to hear at a concert, and you'd think that most bands would tend to play the songs they regard as best.

That said, if you're the sort of person who really liked the band in the mid to late 90s, and has little more than a passing interest in their more experimental albums of the present decade, then this might well be the CD you're looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album - maybe not for some people though, 13 April 2010
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
In my opinion, this compilation album is a great collection of Radiohead's best tracks. I certainly like every song on this album and I can listen to it over and over again on my iPod.

However, this album may not be for all people. For example, some would say that you should get one of Radiohead's actual albums eg. the bends, OK computer, hail to the thief etc etc instead of going for a compilation album where the songs are kind of jumbled up. Some may also say it's better to start listening to Radiohead's music with albums such as OK computer.

In my opinion however, it's still a really good album with all of Radiohead's best songs on it. Well, maybe not all Radiohead's best songs but there certainly is a good few on there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good Radiohead entry point (or playlist suggestion), 20 Dec. 2009
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
This is about as good a Radiohead 'Best of...' as you could hope for.

Sure, it's true that one of the great joys of Radiohead is the way their music has developed over the last two decades, and that you can't get all that onto a single compilation album. You wouldn't *want* to. A good 'Best of...' should provide a way into a band, pull together a collection of their most enjoyable work, give a sense of their range and - importantly - leave enough great stuff *unincluded* that exploring further is still rewarding and worth the money.

This disc does all that and, for the price it is here (about a fiver at the minute), it's an ideal purchase for anyone with even a passing interest in the band.

Impressively, the collection does manage to convey a sense of the band's development, too. Spending almost half the disc on the first three albums before introducing the post-Kid A material via a track from the later, more accessible Hail to the Thief works very well, as do the subsequent arresting oscillations between early guitar-band stuff and late electronica (the step from Fake Plastic Trees to Idioteque jumped out at me). Kicking the whole collection off with Just - with its thrilling chorus that will feel instantly familiar to anyone who's enjoyed the output of Muse et al in the last few years - and winding up with the chilled, precise Kraftwerk-esque Everything in its Right place pretty accurately suggests the gist of the band's overall trajectory - in as much as any two songs could do so.

There's not a weak track on here (of course), and if it succeeds in whetting the appetite, there's plenty left throughout Radiohead's output to reward investigating every album in its own right (though you might argue about Pablo Honey). And, of course, In Rainbows doesn't feature here at all.

Finally, from the perspective of being a long-term fan, a simple question: 'If I stuck all my Radiohead music on shuffle and just happened to get the 16 tracks from this collection, would I feel I'd been lucky?' Yes. Yes, I certainly would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stuff!, 2 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Wasn't a fan for 10 years or so but bought this cd and is a great intro for anyone who is a bit dubious about them.
Yes they are quite slow and depressing but listen alone and chill out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, but has nothing to offer those who already have the albums, 18 May 2008
This review is from: The Best Of Radiohead (Audio CD)
Not everyone is a music nut. Some people only buy two CDs a year. So look on the bright side, some "square" (Noel Gallagher's phrase for the non-music buying public) will probably pick this up along with the new Coldplay at some point this year. Of course they'll hate it because it takes proper effort and commitment to enjoy Radiohead's music.

I have created the Best Of as a playlist on my iPod. I think the first disc is very well sequenced and acceptably representative of their albums (the casual listener will not be interested in the Kid A and Amnesiac albums so I think it is correct that they are mostly ignored). There is also a 2CD version, but the second disc is a bit more patchily selected and sequenced. I think it's considered to be more of a bonus disc rather than an actual continuation of the Best Of?

For fans, don't bother. For the curious, then yes, this is as good an introduction as you can get. I would recommend it, but bare in mind that their music is very obtuse and atonal on first listen. Personally, I find it takes months and a lot of listens to find the melody among their densely produced music, so don't expect to like it without putting in the time and effort.

Should you get the 2CD version? For an extra £3 I think now is not the time to go cheap. I wouldn't pay more than £5 extra for it though.

If you have the albums, just make a playlist and save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Radiohead
The Best Of Radiohead by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews