Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Blu-Ray transfer, but still sanitized by the BBFC
Men in Black is a great movie which I'm sure most film fans will have seen many times, so I won't waste time going into its plot/storyline. This review is for the UK Blu-Ray release. The picture and sound are noticeably better than on the DVD. This disc also boasts an impressive array of extras, including commentaries, extended and deleted scenes, a documentary, a...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by metal maestro

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Image is not too impressive.
For these "Mastered in 4k" discs to work, they have to use an immaculate master to start with. Now the standard Men in a Black 3 Blu Ray is immaculate and looks stunning whereas this Mastered in 4k Men in Black looks soft, grainy, noisy and no more impressive than any other Blu Ray I've seen. I have purchased several others in this range and they have all...
Published 9 months ago by Oakleyspatz


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Blu-Ray transfer, but still sanitized by the BBFC, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: Men In Black [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Men in Black is a great movie which I'm sure most film fans will have seen many times, so I won't waste time going into its plot/storyline. This review is for the UK Blu-Ray release. The picture and sound are noticeably better than on the DVD. This disc also boasts an impressive array of extras, including commentaries, extended and deleted scenes, a documentary, a featurette and a trivia game.

Unfortunately, the film itself is still the version slightly altered by the BBFC with two uses of the work "prick" overdubbed, which seems ridiculous in this day and age, especially when you consider that the movie still features stronger swear words and has been show in its original form on TV numerous times. I'm sure a lot of people won't be bothered by this, but I have always been very anti-censorship and feel films should be released in their original form. Don't get me wrong. This release is still worth having, but purists may want to check out the US version which is unaltered and apparently has the same extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If DVD is for showing off, here's the disc for the job., 2 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Men in Black [Region 2] (DVD)
Men In Black needs no real introduction - it was a big hit back in summer 1997 which overall was an above average flick. Above average mind, not astonishingly good. Perhaps to prop up the sales of such a late back issue disc to the medium, Columbia have gone to town, and then come back for another load.
This 2-disc set is polished. Disc 1 is a DVD 18 (double sided) with both 4:3 and widescreen versions of the film. Good good. The second disc adds to the extras on the first, which together add to great menus, commentaries in both visual (Tommy Lee Jones and Barry Sonnenfeld silouetted on your screen pointing things out) and audio (the technical team talk you through) formats. Wow. Special effects get the full treatment - many effects are broken down and explained in documentaries and you can use the multi-angle feature on your player to develop the shots yourself as well. You can also direct scenes yourself with advice from the production crew, choosing shots from a menu to make a full scene which you can then watch. There are dossiers, trailers, music videos and the whole thing is subtitled (I mean everything - audio commentaries included). Basically wow. There's also a trailer for MIB2 - well there we are. A new documentary on the making of is in there for a laugh.
£24.99 is a lot to pay for a disc but 1, you don't have to do that as amazon are selling it for less and 2, you're getting more bang for your buck than any other DVD feature in Region 2. Columbia Tristar may wish to avoid developing a habit of 2 disc sets if possible - it's not great at this price. Nonetheless this sets the standard - now can Terminator 2 beat it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Highly Entertaining, Original and Zany Sci-Fi Comedy/Action Film - a Much Improved Picture on Blu-ray, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Men In Black [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
'Men in Black' is a tremendous sci-fi comedy/action film starring Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith; I've put the lead actors in that order as I think Jones steals the show in this movie, acting with a deliciously understated air of sarcasm and whimsy - something which we don't see him do often (or perhaps not at all aside from this film ?) and certainly not in recent times as he tends to now play grizzled county sheriffs and the like !

There is a significant improvement when watching 'Men in Black' on Blu-ray compared to even an up-scaled DVD, with a superbly sharp and vivid picture (what we see is often of an almost cartoon-style presentation, laden with bright colours) to really show off the numerous effective, and often zany, special-effects and characters; I didn't notice too much of a difference in the audio department though, despite it being 'upgraded' to Dolby TrueHD 5.1 from Dolby Digital 5.1. There also seems to be little difference in the 'extras' department (you get the same commentary/featurette collection now boosted with some fairly uninspiring games), but as the significant aspect is the film itself I think the improvements there justify a Blu-ray purchase all the same...

The initial premise of the story, based on a series of comic books from the early '90s, centres on us being introduced to two sharp-suited, but rather crusty-looking, sunglass-wearing men who we almost immediately learn through an amusing 'detective' scene are officially-employed to manage and monitor alien activity on Earth from their New York 'base'. What follows from then on is not easy to explain without spoiling things for first-time viewers but, suffice to say, their operation is quickly plunged into turmoil with a need to change the present personnel and then deal with a number of unusual incidents (even allowing for the fact that it is all to do with weird and whacky aliens !) which ultimately threatens the existence of planet earth.

Cue the introduction of the Will Smith character, followed by much coverage of the alien-policing organisation, the amusing resident aliens and the threatening 'rogue' aliens...

There are a number of highly enjoyable aspects to this movie, being not just the performance of Jones but also that of his boss (played by Rip Torn) and, of course, the multitude of different alien characters. The screenplay is loaded with visual jokes and a large number of amusing verbal one-liners, mostly given to Jones, and it his deadpan delivery (but accompanied by a cheeky smirk !) that really makes the film for me. A lot of his funny contributions are quite subtle, so you have to watch and listen carefully to appreciate them - especially when you consider he is effectively playing his part 'straight', you don't usually associate him with comedy and for most of the time he is accompanied by the much more 'extrovert' comedic presence of Smith (who gets all the action-orientated gags).

The film has little to offend, hence the 'PG' certificate, but if you don't like watching insects, creepy-crawlies or gallons of sludge and goo being projected about you best keep clear. But if you do, you will find a charming, funny and highly original (well it was on release !) story captured on film with a collection of entertaining alien characters alongside actors who are clearly enjoying themselves and keen to entertain !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray review, 9 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Men In Black [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
No need to review the film as you can read others for that or will have already seen it before. I was always pretty impressed with the DVD quality and the extras, not overloaded with them but a sprinkling none the less. Picture I think had full frame if not it's 16:9 as with pretty much all films. Picture and sound are both improved over the DVD Blacks look much crisper and deeper, more vibrant colours all round. Maybe my only criticism which is why I didn't give it full stars is I feel they could have made better use of the surround sound in places. But worth adding to your collection of Blu Rays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Edition? Ultimate Edition, 17 Nov 2006
If you're viewing this DVD you must have seen the film and I don't need to tell you too much as it's a great sci-fi comedy adventure for all the family.

However this DVD is THE pack for this film (as there are so many poor "Men in Black" DVDs) and a definite buy even if you just want to show off the power of DVDs. The extras are truly amazing giving buyers a real insight into the production process from story boards to filming to editing and post production.

The "edit a scene to suit you" is revolutionary and will impress anyone. Who knows it could even help budding film makers by showing them the editing process.

This DVD is the only choice for Men in Black fans and a must buy for people who love their DVD collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic!, 24 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Men in Black [Region 2] (DVD)
Men in Black was one of the big movies of the summer on its release and its easy to see why. The dazzling special effects, the excellent cast (Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones were outstanding in their roles), and a tongue in cheek humour make this a highly recommended movie to watch, again and again.
But this film is treated like royalty on DVD. The distributors have spent a long time on its transfer and is a 'must have dvd' for all collectors out there like myself, and those new to DVD's.
MIB is released on two DVD's (Special Edition, and Collectors Edition).This collectors edition is ground-breaking due to the fact that it contains a second disc with a scene editing workshop,where you can edit scenes and put yourself in the shoes of a budding Spielberg.
The total package boasts a mouth-watering feast of extra's (including preview of MIB II), that would put all current DVD's to shame.
This movie represents a leap forward in terms of next generation DVD's, and has never been done before.I hope in the future, more DVD's are made like this to utilise the unreleased potential of their capability.
I suggest you people buy this DVD Edition ASAP, and then go home, and say to yourself "This is the best DVD i have ever seen"
This is gonna be big in the September, make no mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a bug-a-boo, 24 Aug 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Men In Black [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
People go through life oblivious to the reality around them. As pointed out in this movie, at one time everyone knew the world was flat; and now everyone knows we are alone in the universe. But what if we are wrong? Who will protect us? "Men in black used to be the term for the bad guys. This movie shows they are our last line of defense. This is a fun movie and there are many great actors to add to the fun.

Every one is so busy watching Tommy Lee Jones make his stoic looks and Will making one-liners that they miss the person that hold it all together. In addition, that person has to do act throughout the movie in an Edgar suit. Have you ever tried one on? Vincent D'Onofrio has to look unnatural and act natural. This was one movie where I felt sorry for the bug. He even drops his snack (Linda Fiorentino) near the end. It just shows that bugs lead a hard life.

If you are into recent bug movies, look for "Out There" where they mention bugs in a rug
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Image is not too impressive., 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For these "Mastered in 4k" discs to work, they have to use an immaculate master to start with. Now the standard Men in a Black 3 Blu Ray is immaculate and looks stunning whereas this Mastered in 4k Men in Black looks soft, grainy, noisy and no more impressive than any other Blu Ray I've seen. I have purchased several others in this range and they have all impressed such as Total Recall, The Amazing Spider-man, Battle Los Angeles, After Earth and Angels & Demons. I know Men in Black is the oldest of these movies, but if they can make a 1960's Bond Movie or Laurence of Arabia look pristine, then this shows a lazy approach and does the Mastered in 4k line no favours.
Collect the others by all means, but if you're looking for a stunning image, you'll be disappointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too old for Will Smith?, 11 Dec 2010
"Men in Black", featuring Will Smith both as lead actor and end credit singer, is a classic comedy. When I first watched it years ago, I laughed at almost every situation. My favourite? Smith and the other guy are going to meet an expert on intergalactic diplomacy. Everyone assumes it's the weirdo with the dog. Actually, it's...the dog! Had me fooled, too. Another old favourite is the claim that Sylvester Stallone is an alien. The tall guy from Twin Peaks makes a guest appearence (he's been on Star Trek as well).

Since I was versed in the UFO subculture, "Men in Black" struck me as extra funny, since the secret agents don't exactly behave as MIBs are supposed to. Usually, they behave in the exact opposite way... And yes, they are more cool!

When I watched the movie last night, I was stuck by two things. One, I wasn't laughing so much anymore. Why? No idea. Maybe I'm older, maybe I'm through with the "funny Black sidekick" angle, maybe I remember the only twist element in the plot ("The Galaxy is in Orion's belt"). Instead, I found myself analyzing the meaning of the scene where Will tries to fill in a form at MIB headquarters, together with a bunch of marines. Is there some deeper meaning hidden away in that scene? Or is just me getting Freudian?

Two, despite this, the movie isn't bad, although I might yet draw that conclusion when I'm Tommy Lee Jones' age, waking up from a coma after 35 years. Or perhaps I'm just tired of the UFO subculture?

Although I no longer get laughing tics out of Will's character in sunglasses, I nevertheless give "Men in Black" four stars. If you are 20+, don't miss this classic sci fi comic flic. And remember: the Galaxy is in Orion's belt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great remake, 27 Mar 2010
By 
E. Kirton (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Men In Black [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Looks just like a new movie and you get tones of extras including an online game on BD- Live. Great film as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Men In Black [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free]
Men In Black [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] by Barry Sonnenfeld (Blu-ray - 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews