Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the good film I was expecting to watch
Caramel is a beautifully made film that is so much better than the good film that I was expecting to watch – a film that I was sorry had to end. The DVD of the film together with over an hour of extra features is excellent.

The actors perform superbly, although from what Nadine Labaki says in “A Conversation With Nadine Labaki” it would seem...
Published 10 months ago by andy

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Caramel
Sadly this movie turned out to be a bit of a let down and certainly not worth the £10 I spent on it. I didn't find the story particularly engaging as there are so many characters that it doesn't allow for any of them to be explored fully. As a result I wasn't attached to any of them and couldnt bring myself to care deeply about what happened to each of them. The...
Published on 10 Nov. 2008 by RD


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun warmth of spirit, 4 Jun. 2009
By 
Paul JR (Guildford, SY, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caramel [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
A simple premise for a theme which works to provide a warmth of character within. Gentle and enjoyable film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing for all women - a must watch, 17 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caramel [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
I can't say enough good things about this movie-
the director who plays the leading role is very attractive- I keep on asking myself how can she be so good as an actress and direct herself as well.
The story is just simple one that resonates with every woman on the planet.
very happy with buying the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Painful, 24 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Caramel [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
I watched this farrago with my Lebanese partner, who was even more bored/outraged. "Caramel" is a textbook example of how to make a 'foreign' film for the international market: exotic yet familiar urban locale and people, a series of relationship snaphots to substitute for a story, and veeerrrrry slow moving and obvious, implying a considered profundity. "Caramel" tries the viewer's patience throughout, portentously detailing all the trials and tribulations of being a woman in Beirut, ie you can't book a room in a hotel unless you have proof of marriage; if you're a lesbian better look but don't touch (except the hair); don't try and compete in the glamour stakes with younger women; and if you're an older woman caring for a demented sister you can forget any kind of relationship with an older man. All these cliches and more are exhaustively, exhaustingly detailed in this trifle of a movie, which would never have seen release if made by an English-speaking country. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Caramel [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
This is a very nice film, gives u an understanding of the world in Beirut, which I love. I love the beautiful girl and policeman's love. Recommended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caramel [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no english, 18 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Caramel [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
the movie is in franch and arabic ... there is not english audio track ... it was not clear in the advert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sub Titles... Huh!, 28 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caramel [DVD] (2007) (DVD)
No where on the ad or on the box is the information telling one that it is in a foreign language and runs with Enlish sub-titles...... very dissapointing (can't stand sub-titled stuff too busy reading text to see or enjoy the film).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caramel [DVD] (2007)
Caramel [DVD] (2007) by Nadine Labaki (DVD - 2008)
£3.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews