Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars51
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2011
A beautiful film from the brilliant Nadine Labaki. Invited into the world of these women and their complex relationships with culture, religion, independence and men is to be given the beauty treatment; sit back and relax as they love and support each other, make-up their appearance and decide their fates. The anonymous customer beauty personifies ourselves: on completing the film we come away a little humbler, a little more daring and touched by love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 August 2009
This is a delightful film centred on friendship among five women who work/meet in a beauty salon. Women will recognize the embarrassing situations portrayed and chuckle at scenes involving painful beauty treatments that many of us have put up with. But I think both sexes can enjoy this film as longing for love and companionship is not a gender-specific desire.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
This film is great. It is both very entertaining and an insightful women's film. Dynamic characters, excellent mise-en-scene and the plot works. Glad to have it in my DVD collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
A simple premise for a theme which works to provide a warmth of character within. Gentle and enjoyable film!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
I can't say enough good things about this movie-
the director who plays the leading role is very attractive- I keep on asking myself how can she be so good as an actress and direct herself as well.
The story is just simple one that resonates with every woman on the planet.
very happy with buying the DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2008
I watched this farrago with my Lebanese partner, who was even more bored/outraged. "Caramel" is a textbook example of how to make a 'foreign' film for the international market: exotic yet familiar urban locale and people, a series of relationship snaphots to substitute for a story, and veeerrrrry slow moving and obvious, implying a considered profundity. "Caramel" tries the viewer's patience throughout, portentously detailing all the trials and tribulations of being a woman in Beirut, ie you can't book a room in a hotel unless you have proof of marriage; if you're a lesbian better look but don't touch (except the hair); don't try and compete in the glamour stakes with younger women; and if you're an older woman caring for a demented sister you can forget any kind of relationship with an older man. All these cliches and more are exhaustively, exhaustingly detailed in this trifle of a movie, which would never have seen release if made by an English-speaking country. Avoid.
44 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
This is a very nice film, gives u an understanding of the world in Beirut, which I love. I love the beautiful girl and policeman's love. Recommended..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
the movie is in franch and arabic ... there is not english audio track ... it was not clear in the advert
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)