Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual feast
I saw this film at an arts film venue in Bristol and was kept gripped by the plot, characters and filming. The film is faithful to the book and is beautifully crafted with careful attention to details such as the period costumes and with stunning shots of the countryside and landscape throughout the seasons. The nudity and sex is, of course, present, but is very...
Published on 8 Jan 2008 by Nightjar

versus
20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what Lawrence intended..................
This is a brave effort to bring 'John Thomas & Lady Jane' to the screen, but it is significantly flawed in realisation. My problems with the film are listed below:

1. It fails to fully bring out Lawrence's despair over the way he believed that industrialization had destroyed the hopes and dreams of the working man.

2. The gamekeeper is not the lean,...
Published on 11 Mar 2008 by Rik P


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh absolutely the best. Sensually erotic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Chatterley [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
A great DVD well made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect Transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 17 Sep 2014
By 
J. Todd "trewhitt" (northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Chatterley [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
not what I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Chatterley [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A subtle and interesting take on the story, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Chatterley [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
It is difficult to write a review of this as in the last year I have 1) read the 'standard' version of LCL 2) watched the Ken Russell TV adaptation on DVD 3) read the 'second' version of LCL (on which this film is based) and 4) now watched this film. It's difficult to be objective when you are not coming 'fresh' to a film.

I enjoyed both versions of the novel and this film is certainly a unique take; in some ways it is a lot better than Ken Russell's version. It is quite bizarre watching it in French though, especially as I am a French-English translator so I understand the French and tend to get distracted by seeing whether the subtitles are well translated or not... and I missed the dialect.

Anyway, it was beautifully shot and I thought Marina Hands was quite entrancing and showed a range of emotions on her face. But:
1) Parkin did not look English in the slightest, he looked very much like a squat French peasant, and was extremely taciturn and passive. Even in the second version he has more spark to him than he does in this film.
2) Clifford was also portrayed in a very passive way and the relationship between Clifford and Connie was not explored at all.
3) There was not enough dialogue. Hilda had a very minor part, whereas she is quite interesting in the book. There was not much tension about the events that happen to Parkin while Connie is abroad, or the fact of her pregnancy.
4) It's a bit too long [I had to watch it in 3 sittings, I have a busy life!] and I didn't like the voiceover or the "2 weeks later" bits (whatever you call that).

However the sex scenes were very well done, better than Russell's version (no ridiculous music), and I understand why Parkin didn't have to be as rugged and sexy as Sean Bean... but still, he lacked spark. I thought the end was very good - probably because the characters actually started talking to each other, which made it interesting, finally. Then it stopped. The trouble is, I don't know how much you would actually get from this film if you hadn't read any of the books at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Chatterley [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Chatterley [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful to look at, but strangely passionless, 17 Jun 2008
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I enjoyed the film more for the film-makers visual skills than for the way this familiar story has been scripted. The story unfolds at a slow pace and is full of lush scenery that is a delight to the eye and there is a welcome lack of intrusive music to tell one what to feel. It's a bit strange hearing a story, that explores aspects of the English class-system, in French. Like many other French films there are long rather philosophical conversations between the lovers that one cannot imagine happening in real life. Although there is a lot of quite explicit sex and nudity shown on the screen it was somehow rather passionless. The gamekeeper/lover (here called Parkin) has been played as less macho than the cruder character, Mellors, in Lawrence's book. Depicting the gamekeeper as sensitive and caring take away the point about why Connie was attracted to him.

I think one would enjoy the film more if you hadn't read the book and so have preconceived ideas about the central characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Chatterley [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Chatterley [2007] [DVD]
Lady Chatterley [2007] [DVD] by Pascale Ferran (DVD - 2008)
£4.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews