Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-one does this better!
What a night this must have been. The party started out in the parking lot early in the afternoon and the boys in the band just made it complete. You even get to sit in on a backstage card/dice game too.
Hard to believe that there are just three of them but hey, when you're as good as this, who needs more?
This has to be one of the best 'feel-good' music DVDs...
Published on 13 Jun 2008 by Charlie King

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ZZ Top Rating
Whole concert seemed to have been "staged" (excuse the pun). Gibbon's vocals were too digitized (note first song). Music sounded as if it had already been layered and mixed and the band were playing on top of this. The songs (allowing for variation on the guitar phrasing, no issues there) but they seemed to have lost their edge. For example, there was no comparison...
Published on 12 Jun 2009 by Delta Blues


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No-one does this better!, 13 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Texas [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What a night this must have been. The party started out in the parking lot early in the afternoon and the boys in the band just made it complete. You even get to sit in on a backstage card/dice game too.
Hard to believe that there are just three of them but hey, when you're as good as this, who needs more?
This has to be one of the best 'feel-good' music DVDs ever.
Try it! You'll like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss!!, 16 Jun 2008
This review is from: Live From Texas [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I've been waiting impatiently for a ZZ Top live dvd for years and finally here it is! Rock music fads come and go but what doesn't and will never change is the appeal of bands like this. The opener 'Got Me Under Pressure' took me right back to Donnington 85' when 70,000 jumped as one to that riff! On this evidence The Reverend Billy G is quite possibly the finest blues rock stylist alive today. Certainly he's more unique in his phrasing than anybody else - he wasn't Hendrix's favourite player for nothing! The RBG voice is equally his own, a low rumble like a pristine hotrod that can shift the gears when needed. Jesus Just Left Chicago is maybe the best example: awesome! His partners in crime are also top notch. The ever reliable Dusty Hill is the perfect foil, both rhythmically and vocally. His vocal contributions are a delight, and Beard's drumming spot on throughout. Definitely a good idea to film them in a theatre rather than a larger venu. The transfer is almost HD in quality, and no "fuzzy moments" of arty, tacky filming! Some good extras as well, a good twenty minutes of chat with the boys over a poker game and a shorter docu. 10/10.

You can keep your Coldplay's, U2's and Muses. ZZ Top are the best band in the world :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars < Z Z TOP >HOME TO BOOGIE IT's PARTY TIME, 10 Jun 2008
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live From Texas [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What's to say,these little ole' boys from Texas know how to boogie,and whats more they've let us in on the fun.One night of the 2007 Tour,home state Texas,well in Dallas to be exact (two of the band herald from there,and the other from Houston).Well over an hour of good old honest rock n boogie,the hits pour out,a smattering of newer material as well,brilliant.ZZ fans have been waiting for this type of release from the band and they certainly won't be disappointed.Just get out the air guitar,put on the tea cosy and a cowboy hat in top,maybe even a long flowing beard (getting a little thinner these days though)and get ready to party.A legendary rock band doing what they do better than anyone else on the planet.Well filmed,great sound quality and some pretty good bonus material including an awesome live version of Hendrix Foxey Lady,who taught Billy Gibbons how to play it when Billy was part of a Texas band playing with Hendrix before ZZ were formed.All in all this is an absolutely cracking release that'll really bring the summer barby's to life,and probably get the neighbours joining in as well..five star rockin' get yours now and join the party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 19 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Texas [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Given that the promo videos were so crucial to the Top's breakthough in the UK it's remarkable that we have not had an 'in concert' showing before now.

The quality? Well, the music is fabulous: you know that. The picture? I recently bought a 42" plasma: this and 'Zulu' have convinced me it *was* money well-spent. If I want to demonstrate the benefits of BR to friends, this disc is what I shall show them, whether they are fans or not. There is a lot going on in terms of stage-lighting and it is all captured beautifully by this transfer. If you've ever wondered just how many whiskers Billy and Dusty have, on this I'd swear you can count them.

It sounds marvellous too, and I have yet to get the audio separates I have promised myself. I don't know for *certain* that the mix is different to the CD, which I was playing long before I got this, but I always felt the vocals and lead were slightly 'down' on the CD. No such concerns here.

Now, if only the band would sanction the release of the 'Rockpalast' show from Essen 1980 and the Old Grey Whistle Test appearance from the same year. Oh, and their appearance on 'Later... With Jools Holland' in 1996. Come on, boys: you've already given us 'The Tube'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truth Is Out, 18 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Texas [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
My illusions have been shattered, the ZZ top guys always had a grunge look - as if their clothes had been buried for weeks before putting them on. Now with Blu-Ray, one can see that they have spent 4 hours in make up before getting on stage!

Quality video, fantastic sound. Love the track "waiting for a bus" when the lighting changes to red and they walk up and down in parallel - such a cool move.

I have played this disc to death, usually in the mornings before trotting off to work, a great way to start the day.

I would have liked a few more camera angles but I must admit it is refreshing to have more "stable" footage as it is less tiring.

If you like ZZ Top, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars zz top blu-ray, 27 Sep 2008
This review is from: Live From Texas [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
ZZ Top finally release a proper concert film and it was well worth the wait . The picture (and sound) quality are fantastic . This is just how i like to see a band , pretty much staight ahead and not to many changing cameras . They don't do anything flash they just get on with a great show .
(it's a pity Ac/dc 's No Bull isn't as good as this).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning., 31 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Live From Texas [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
ZZ Top don't mess about on stage. This is a very slick DVD with all the ZZ Top elements. There is something from most of the albums. ZZ Top never really have long solos or chat for ages with the crowd, this concert is no exception (apart from a smooth Rev Billy G introduction). The moves are clearly well choreographed just as you would expect from a group going for 40 years... I have Every ZZ Top Album and DVD, this is Better than the Best of DVD and contains highlights from all the albums of real note.

A hour and 20 minutes of Dolby Digital, my player does not play the concert in 5.1. But it sounds amazing. The picture quality is superb. I am playing this on a 37 inch LCD wall panel in progressive scan wide screen and the quality is sufficient that the smoke and lights don't pixilate like poor quality DVS's do.
The quality of the DVD is proven by the fact its available in Blue-ray. So the master is obviously up to the job.
This is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper concert Blu-ray, 3 Feb 2009
By 
I. Päärni (Espoo, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live From Texas [Blu-ray] [2008] (Blu-ray)
This concert BD is technically as impressive as all Blu-ray concerts should be! The show setup is a basic one as this being recorded "lately" in 2006, so no showgirls or virtually anything extra except hairy Legs guitar and bass of course.
With superb picture quality combined with DTS HD Master Audio soundtrack you can really get a more "I'm present in this concert" feeling. This disc gives you much more than an average concert DVD you don't bother to watch more than once.
Extras are pretty entertaining too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait!, 13 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Live From Texas [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I first sore ZZ TOP at the Monsters of Rock Festival in 1985. I remember it clearly and the show has forever stayed with me. If theres one word to describe them it is COOL! How can now old men be cool!?!? Well after 40 years to hone your skills, playing, writing etc you should be good. As for the DVD the sound is excellent (choose DTS surround in the audio options menu), picture quality suberb. Standout tracks for me are waiting for the bus and jesus just left chicago. My only complaint is I would have liked another 10 songs but that wasnt going to happen. In the age of DJ worship and manufactured pop pap its satisfying to know that good live music is still out there! Watching my kids faces whilst it was playing was an eye opener!! They too thought they were cool!!! Buy and enjoy! The slick choreography between Dusty and Billy during waiting for the bus is worth the price alone!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous!, 30 Sep 2008
By 
J. Bodicoat "Digger" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live From Texas [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Can't say more. Excellent video quality, their performance is brilliant, several friends have gone out and bought this having seen my copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live From Texas [Blu-ray] [2008]
Live From Texas [Blu-ray] [2008] by Zztop (Blu-ray - 2008)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews