Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood has never been so Good!
I never expected 'much' of this series since a lot of modern takes on medievel history are innaccurate and quite annoying with the humour. My friend raved on about it (and we have very different movie tastes) so I gave in and watched the first episode. To be honest, I thought it was okay and the acion was good but that was it. I persevered though and by the 4/5th episode...
Published 19 months ago by Amazonreview

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars snivelling drivel
corny, PC, cliched and as atmospheric as a wet Wednesday in Budleigh Salterton. my eleven year old son could pen a more powerful period piece.
Published 1 month ago by Julius Salisbury


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood has never been so Good!, 10 Dec 2012
I never expected 'much' of this series since a lot of modern takes on medievel history are innaccurate and quite annoying with the humour. My friend raved on about it (and we have very different movie tastes) so I gave in and watched the first episode. To be honest, I thought it was okay and the acion was good but that was it. I persevered though and by the 4/5th episode I was hooked - I couldn't believe it myself.

This series doesn't need to be a historical reflection - its not a docummentary. The depth in the characters and the captivating storyline had me finish the whole season in just 2 days. Not to mention the music, which has to be some of the best music I have heard for that kind of series. There is a good balance of action and reflection in this, which has truly paid off. Marian is just, well, everything you would want a heroine to be. Although Robin isn't everyones cup of tea, he's very real to life and fits in his role perfectly. He's actually how I would imagine Robin to be like - heroes don't always need to look like your typical expected, stand out figure with all the traits you would expect. Robin has his faults but his good personality shine through.

The suspense and fight scenes just get better and better in my opinion!

I know there are some bad reviews from people who may not have found it their taste but if your thinking the same, GIVE IT A TRY because you might just end up getting a great surprise.

It just gets better in season 2!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars snivelling drivel, 5 Jun 2014
corny, PC, cliched and as atmospheric as a wet Wednesday in Budleigh Salterton. my eleven year old son could pen a more powerful period piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good in the Hood, 9 Nov 2007
The delay in this dvd box set being released in the UK has already been covered in previous reviews; however, I am extremely pleased that this item has become available. The other 'volumes' of Robin Hood had nothing in the way of features at all.

I thoroughly enjoyed the first series of Robin Hood when it was shown on the BBC, but refrained from being any dvds until a box set came out (reason being that I love special features!) The packaging is nice, and the episodes are spread over 4 disks, the fifth being for special features, however there are small extras on the other disks as well, e.g. character profiles on all the main cast (excluding Joe Armstrong a.k.a. Allan A Dale, who doesn't do interviews), as well as commentaries on four episodes: Episode 2: Sheriff Got Your Tongue?, Episode 4: Parent Hood, Episode 8: Tattoo? What Tattoo? and Episode 13: A Clue: No.

The commentaries are highly amusing, and the cast & crew add some interesting and humorous insights to the filming of certain scenes. For example, did you know that Guy of Gisborne's (Richard Armitage) tattoo in the series was originally red instead of black?

There is also a 'Hood Academy' featurette, which shows the training the cast had to do in preparation for filming as well as the thoughts behind the costumes (which I found quite interesting- especially the reasons behind Allan A Dale's costume) as well a 'Designing the Hood' feature, and a 'Making Of', which has some highly amusing clips of Jonas Armstrong (Robin Hood) and Harry Lloyd (Will Scarlett) speaking some quite random Hungarian.

Overall, I am extremely pleased with these DVDs. The series can be light and fun, but there are also undercurrents of sinister evil, which is quite apparent; especially in the later episodes. I've watched each episode numerous times and I've never got bored of them yet.

If you're looking for historical accuracy, maybe this item isn't for you; but if you're looking for something fun and exciting, with a good script and power packed action sequences, this is an item I would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget about the green tights, 18 Jan 2010
I agree that there is much wrong with the BBC's latest re-imagining of Robin Hood - IF all you are worried about is historical accuracy. However, for those that simply expect Saturday teatime family drama to entertain and bring families together, it's pretty darn good. That said, some of the actors are a bit poor - notably the strangely wooden Harry Lloyd as Will Scarlet, and the rather irritating Marian, but these weaknesses are compensated for by plenty of action, lashings of gallows humour, and some sumptuous (okay, ignore the fact that this was filmed in Hungary) English greenwood settings.
Put your brain in neutral, and simply enjoy a slice of highly entertaining BBC action/adventure - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No good, 27 May 2014
Starts off all right. But as soon as you see arrows embedding in quick succession between a thug's fingers... you realise that this TV show is absolute cheese, and no class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great classic which is a great family watch. This has been a favourite with the grandchildren.Even the oldies enjoy too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood Series 1, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really am enjoying watching the episodes.Very good quality DVD. I enjoyed the full three series of Robin Hood.

Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An anachronistic romp through semi-mythological, semi-legendary Britain, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who adored Xena back in the day, I enjoyed Robin Hood in sort of the same way. Sure, it's an anachronism stew and some plot points are a bit wonky, but it tries to be mostly entertaining. The addition of ladies to the boys club isn't new, but I love Djaq so much. This show was also responsible for introducing me to Richard Armitage--never has Guy of Gisborne been so conflicted. (Or looked so good in black leather. Ahem.) Guy's obviously not a very good person at all, but he's not a one-dimensional villain at least. The Sheriff, on the other hand, seems to be doing it for the lulz and Keith Allen basically chomps on the scenery with glee.

Some continuity issues are rather obvious--like Guy's tattoo, the scar of which never shows up again--and the writers seem to make Guy incompetent or competent depending on the demands of each episode, so plot and writing may not be a strong point. They were trying to make some interesting points about soldiers coming back from fighting wars that draw some parallels with current events, but there was not much follow through on that. Some great performances in here and Jonas Armstrong brings in a kind of boyish charm to the legendary outlaw.

Cast commentaries are hilarious~ The added documentaries are a welcome addition too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheeky and enjoyable!, 31 Aug 2013
By 
S. symes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this because of Richard Armitage who is Guy of Gisborn but actually really enjoyed this! It is very light hearted good guys versus bad guys thrown in with quite a bit of tongue in cheek. There is little in the way of historical accuracy - but who cares? The setting is very good and realistic, the costumes are generally modern and up to date (not a pair of green tights in sight!) and the story line is a little repetitive - how may times can Robin get captured by the sheriff?!
I loved the triangle between Robin, Marian and Guy! Tim Allen is very dry and witty as the sheriff. Much is brilliantly played so too are the other characters in Robin's gang. A very good looking, young cast helps - a bit of eye candy! I recommend this as easy, simple watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid first series, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've chosen to go for five stars here, but really I consider it 4 and a half. The approach to Robin Hood here is a meeting of the medieval and the modern, and in general it works wonderfully. The parallels with modern wars and society are drawn clearly, but not spoon fed to the audience. The choice of language is mostly very good, with (despite what some seem to think) a clear old-fashioned style in its lack of contractions and so forth while remaining understandable to all ages today. There are some slips, some over-reliance on contrived catch phrases and glaringly modern phrases - I don't think anyone was impressed at the Sheriff mentioning "pillow talk", let's be honest - but in the grand scheme of things these do not matter. (Unfortunately these minor annoyances are turned up to 11 in series 2, but that's a complaint for another day.) The series remains an immensely fun set of tales, where Robin can win a swordfight with ease and pause to snog a woman before jumping backwards off a roof.

Robin himself is an imperfect leader with a strong sense of good, and that is in-keeping with previous forms of the legend. Marian is a more independent woman than traditionally, which helps highlight the more modern tensions in the story. The enemy figures of the Sheriff and Gisbourne are drawn well, with the former a star of his own pantomime and the latter brooding and troubled. It's an interesting pairing, and makes for some tensions that pay off even more in later series. As for the merry men, as it's hard not to call them, Allan-a-dale is a bit annoying (if he says "I'm not being funny, but" one more time...) and Robin's sidekick Much is a bit too much of a comic butt at times, but the others are very strong and likeable. Little John and his crony Roy (an original creation) are particular favourites of mine, showing what happens to outlaws without a purpose and giving them both a kind of mini-redemption tale within the series. (Their two fellow outlaws randomly disappear between episodes 2 and 3, but it's best to ignore that.)

Unfortunately, after a terrific opening run of episodes the closing stages of the series do not quite deliver. They're not bad, it just feels like all the energy was spent in the earlier episodes and by the rather rushed ending of episode 13 there's little left to give. It's a shame, but doesn't detract from the brilliance that comes before (episodes 1, 2, 4 and 8 are particular stand-outs).

The extras here are extensive, with plenty of behind the scenes looks and character profiles. Some deleted scenes would have been nice, but it's still a good collection. There are two minor issues with what is included, the first being that some sections of interview are duplicated between them leading to some distracting bouts of deja vu. Secondly, the entirety of the behind the scenes filming took place before Anjali Jay joined the cast as Djaq, causing a rather notable omission in the several talks of how the cast dynamic works (and no indication of how and indeed why her character was developed). As the character of Djaq is different from the rest of Robin's gang in many ways, it is a big missed opportunity to provide more insight to the viewer.

All in all, this is a very strong set and well worth a buy. It's a beautifully rendered interpretation of the legend, and the extras make clear the amount of care that went into the production. I look forward to revisiting the other two series through their DVD sets in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Hood: Season One [Blu-ray] [2006] [US Import] [2008]
Used & New from: 19.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews