Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars10
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
10
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£14.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 May 2009
The Road to WrestleMania is one of the biggest highlights of the year for WWE and its fans. In terms of storylines, it's the hottest period as events and superstars all steamroll towards the biggest wrestling show of all time. It all starts at Royal Rumble, and No Way Out has been a show that continues the traditional saga with superb escalation before it all hits the fan.

In 2008, there was some fantastic stuff going on. Such as the build-up to the inevitable and awesome Undertaker-Edge confrontation, the Career-Threatening Stipulation of Ric Flair's final run, Randy Orton at the top of the WWE throne with Cena and HHH out for retribution and the shocking confrontation between the Big Show and Floyd "Money" Mayweather.

The 2008 edition of No Way Out was something that I was concerned about, though. The latest chapter of the Road to WrestleMania and the long-awaited return of the Elimination Chamber were reasons to watch. But the fact that WWE decided to book TWO of these bouts in ONE night was theoretically quite risky. Nothing like this had been done before and there was the apparent danger of it being overkill for the audience and the viewers at home.

However, thanks to the booking, the format worked brilliantly, and the sheer high-quality of the Elimination Chamber bouts, along with a strong card throughout made No Way Out 2008 an excellent show.

ECW Championship Match
Chavo Guerrero (Champion) vs. CM Punk
Even though I still believe it was a mistake to put the ECW title on Chavo, I don't deny that this is a rather good opener. Doesn't match up to their memorable Gulf of Mexico battle, but both Chavo and CM Punk have very good chemistry here, resulting in a nice contest. It's a shame that they weren't given longer, as they could easily have a hell of a match if given more time. (7/10)

SmackDown! Elimination Chamber Match
Undertaker vs. Batista vs. Finlay vs. Big Daddy V vs. MVP vs. Great Khali
The first chamber bout of the night and an excellent one at that. Sensibly placed early on the card, with fantastic booking from start to finish. Big Daddy V gives a surprisingly good performance and even Khali's presence doesn't hurt the overall result. The superbly talented Finlay and MVP contribute great stuff to the contest also. But it's Taker and Batista who are the stars here, with their godlike feud and amazing chemistry producing yet another winner. The only thing better than this is the Raw Chamber event. (8/10)

Career Threatening Match
Ric Flair vs. Mr. Kennedy
Okay, we ALL knew Flair wasn't going to lose and retire until WrestleMania 24. So the lack of crowd participation and the diminished aura of the high-stakes are understandable. Nevertheless, this is another solid bout, thanks to Mr. Kennedy's brilliant heel mannerisms, his great wrestling and his ability to successfully carry the legend to a good match. Forgettable in the long-term, but still worth watching (7/10)

World Heavyweight Championship Match
Edge (Champion) vs. Rey Mysterio
This couldn't be on a par with their brilliant bout from the Royal Rumble, but that's understandable given Rey's unfortunate bicep injury. The fact that he performed at all is truly admirable but the moves he performs here while grimacing in such pain makes you feel for him, as well as respect and admire him even more. The fact that Edge took good care of him and the two were able to give us a decent match speaks highly of both of them. Understandably short because of the circumstances but I'll give it a pass. (6/10)

Following that...

The Big Show and Floyd Mayweather
This was something I never saw coming. I'd originally thought that the Big Show had retired from wrestling after he departed in 2006, so his surprise return was most welcome indeed. But what happened with Mysterio and Mayweather was truly shocking indeed. A great surprise segment and what a way to hype-up the bout at WrestleMania 24! (8/10)

WWE Championship Match
Randy Orton (Champion) vs. John Cena
Orton and Cena had a great rivalry in 2007 and their SummerSlam bout that year was a fab rollercoaster thrill-ride. This rematch was something I'd keenly anticipated, but watching it made me wonder if Cena came back too soon from his pectoral injury, as he obviously tries to be careful not to re-injure it here. This is quite slow-paced and doesn't have the intensity it should have. It's another solid bout on the show with some good moments, but we all know both these guys are capable of much better. The finish is very cheap, too. (7/10)

Raw Elimination Chamber Match
Triple H vs. Shawn Michaels vs. Jeff Hardy vs. Chris Jericho vs. Umaga vs. JBL
Thanks to the show's excellent booking, the crowd was ready for another Elimination Chamber...and what an event it was! Brilliant stuff from all six men. Shawn and Jericho's wrestling got things off to a cracking start, Umaga gave an absolutely outstanding performance, JBL's chair shots were wicked, Triple H was awesome and deserving of his 2008 title run and Hardy further solidified his main-event status. An all-round fantastic bout, with the final moments being truly electric. Match of the night. (9/10)

As for special features on the DVD, don't expect anything other than an exclusive segment that starts up the run towards the inevitable Flair-HBK showdown at WrestleMania 24. It's okay but ONLY okay. More extras should've been included here.

Still, No Way Out 2008 is a cracking pay-per-view. It's not essential and it is flawed in places, but if you want to complete this particular year's Road to WrestleMania story, then buy it certainly. It is indeed worth paying to see.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
ECW championship - Chavo Guerrero vs CM punk

A good match with good build up. It seems strange to see Punk as a fan favourite but a good energetic match 7/10

World Heavyweight championship - Edge vs Rey Mysterio

As talented as he is it can sometimes be hard to take Mysterio seriously. The build up story to this was rather daft and the fact the match finishes almost carbon copy to the Rumble match sums it up. 5/10

Smackdown elimination chamber

Two of the greatest athletes ever in Batista and Undertaker start off the match and other `superstars' in Finlay, MVP, the great Khali and Big Daddy V enter. Easy to tell who the final to will be but what a finale and oh my word what a fantastic finishing manoeuvre! Just for that this is worth an 8/10

Ric Flair vs Mr Kennedy

Good match, Mr Kennedy (Or Anderson on TNA) is a brilliant mic worker and great athlete and with the prospect that if Flair lost he would retire this boiled some good tension and a great finish. 8/10

WWE championship - John Cena vs Randy Orton

With Cena's big return at the rumble this got the fans excited and a good lengthy match and although I can barely stand Cena he was alright, the ending to this match was so abrupt and funny. 8/10

Raw elimination chamber

With a good array of matches behind it No Way Out boiled down to a sensational last match that did include a roster of all respectable stars in Jeff Hardy, JBL, Y2J, HHH, Umaga and HBK and despite my accidental stumbling on the result, you could not guess who would win this. Fantastic moves, fast and slow paced, bodies hitting steel, a swanton off a pod a bloody collection of bodies, this was easily match of the night. 10/10

A good pay per view, entertaining though not classic but if anything at a cheap price I would buy simply for that last Raw chamber match.
7/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
After a very good Royal Rumble Pay-Per-View, it was now time for the second Pay-Per-View of the year, which was called No Way Out.

This Pay-Per-View was good for several reasons, one of them was the two elimination chamber matches that were performed at the event. Both elimination chamber matches were brutal with the winner of them both getting a well earned world championship match at WrestleMania XXIV (24), which is in fact my second favourite WrestleMania of all time.

The downside to this Pay-Per-View was the two main events involving, John Cena who squared off against Randy Orton for the WWE Championship, which sadly ended in a disqualification. Plus an injured Rey Mysterio had a last opportunity to face Edge for the World Heavyweight Championship, where the match itself wasn't that brill, due to Mysterio having an injured arm.

It was however good to see The Big Show making his shocking return to the WWE, after a one year absence and to return to having a punch up with Floyd Money Maywhether.

Overall WWE No Way Out 2008 was still a good event, that should belong in a WWE collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2008
No Way Out 2008

a highly entertaining pay-per-view with high drama and excitement. I was rather worried however that by the time the Raw elimination chamber match came I would not find it interesting after the previous elimination chamber.

ECW Championship-Chavo Guerrero(c).vs. CM Punk ***

Quite entertaining and quick-paced. However it was a bit short and not exactly a classic. Didn't see the ending coming and I thought Punk lost a bit easily.

Smackdown Elimination Chamber Match ****

WOW! Great match with excitement, drama and another Taker, Batista classic. I did think that the match was let down by the lack of superstars in at one time and no real superstar quality throughout. Ending was fantastic with a must-see counter from Undertaker to win it.

Ric Flair .vs. Mr. Kennedy **

Poor match. It was slow and repetitive. I think I saw about 5 attempts at the figure-4-leglock from both competitors and too much disrespectful mocking from Kennedy. This match was saved by the outcome.

World Heavyweight Championship-Edge(c).vs. Rey Mysterio ***

On paper it should have been edge of your seat stuff. But with the injury to Mysterio it was slow and short. Mysterio put up a great fight with great offence but was unable to follow up his 619 which cost him. The match was over-shadowed by the return of the Big-Show and the involvement of Mayweather Jr. Now that was good.

WWE Championship-Randy Orton(c).vs. John Cena ****

Personally if I'd won the Royal Rumble I would have waited until Wrestlemania but Cena made the gamble and made his title shot at No Way Out. High-paced match with lots of counters and powerful moves and a great finish, but personally I wasn't happy with Orton's actions and Cena was right to be cheesed off.

Raw Elimination Chamber Match *****

By far the best match of the night. As I said earlier I was worried they would not be able to top the previous Chamber Match. This match had everything, All 6 men in the ring at one time, about 4 eliminations in 5 minutes and even all the competitors ganging up on Umaga to finish him off. Classic with a fantastic ending.

Overall:
I think the elimination Chamber matches kind of saved the show with not much happening in the singles matches.
overall Rating: ****
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
ECW Championship
(C) Chavo Guerrero vs CM Punk
Winner & still ECW Champion - Chavo Guerrero

Elimination Chamber Match
Winner gets a shot at the World Heavyweight Championship at Wrestlemania
The Undertaker vs Batista vs The Great Khali vs Big Daddy V vs MVP vs Finlay
Winner - The Undertaker

Career Threatening Match
If Ric Flair loses his career is over
Ric Flair vs Mr. Kennedy
Winner - Ric Flair

World Heavyweight Championship
(C) Edge vs Rey Mysterio
Winner & still World Heavyweight Champion - Edge

WWE Championship
(C) Randy Orton vs John Cena
Winner by DQ - John Cena
Still WWE Champion - Randy Orton

Elimination Chamber Match
Winner gets a shot at the WWE Championship at Wrestlemania
Triple H vs Shawn Michaels vs Chris Jericho vs Jeff Hardy vs JBL vs Umaga
Winner - Triple H
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
After an exciting Royal Rumble at Madison Squares Garden, we head over to Las Vegas to continue the road to Wrestlemania XXIV (24) for No Way Out.

We have two great Elimination Chambers matches guaranteeing the winners of both a WWE and World Heavyweight Championship match at Wrestlemania XXIV. Both Elimination Chamber matches featured the likes of Batista, Undertaker, Triple H, Shawn Michaels just to name a few but all of these talents showed how brutal the Elimination Chamber can be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2010
this no way out brought the elimination chamber gimmick to the ppv no way out the 2 chamber matches were awesome undertaker winning 1 and triple h winning the other 1
8/10 only coz the career theratening match SUCKED!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2008
WWE No Way Out

Chavo Guerrero vs CM Punk- ECW World Championship Match

** Well its been on TV quite a few times and all of those i found fairly boring but this match surprised me, nice paced and a fairly good match

Smackdown/ECW Elimination Chamber Match
Undertaker vs Batista vs Big Daddy V vs Finlay vs The Great Khali vs MVP

**** Well this match really surprised me, i thought it would of been a slow unenjoyable match but i was wrong, it was entertaining all the way though a great match with a amazing ending top stuff!

Ric Flair vs Mr Kennedy- Career Threatening Match

* It was slow and below average, they tried there best but it just wasn't working for me

Edge vs Rey Mysterio- World Heavyweight Championship Match

** Well! Firstly the match itself wasn't very good and it was fairly short because rey injured himself yet again so i gave it 1 Star and the other star is for what happened after!
Big Show returned!! and cut one hell of a Segment and then attacked rey some more it was done brilliantly i thought

Randy Orton vs John Cena- WWE Championship Match

*** Good Title Match, bit of a slow start but then the middle and ending were good, the crowd were hot for this match

Raw Elimination Chamber Match
Triple H vs Jeff Hardy vs Shawn Michaels vs Chris Jericho vs JBL vs Umaga

**** A Very good Entertaining match, brilliant all the way though, The best match of the night in my opinion, Crowd were suprisingly behind hardy the most, a great ending to a good PPV

Well i thought this PPV was very good, the flair vs kennedy match i thought was the only dissapointment, the Title matches were good but the E C Matches stole the show in my opinion 8/10
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
this ppv was very good the best matches were the raw and smackdown elmitnation chambers with triple h and the undertaker picking up the wins
very very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2008
No way out was the last pay per view before mania so some things had to be created to give mania matches that people wanted to see,it all started or continued on from here and no way 2008 serves as a very good event,plenty to talk about and an exciting card before the event even kicked off.
The event started with the ECW championship up for grabs,the holder chavo was pitted against cm punk,this match was very good,energetic and skilled,a botched move decided the outcome to what was a great opening encounter.
Next up,yes the second match of the night was an elimination chamber with smackdown wrestlers competing,the winner would then get a shot at the world heavyweight championship at mania,we had the undertaker,big daddy v,the great khali,MVP,finlay and batista in this unforgiving structure,this match wasnt as bloody as some years and it felt a bit rushed given that the time between each pod getting open was reduced to four as opposed to 5,but this was a great and sometimes glorious match,plenty going on which means that we should have split screen on our dvd releases perhaps,great match.
Ric flair fought mr kennedy in another career threatening match wherein if flair lost he would have to retire,this wasnt that great,flair was suffering from his knee and kennedy saw the knee as a bullseye and went to town on it,flair threw in some good moves after a while but this wasnt that hot overall but it was ok for what it was.
The world heavyweight title was up for grabs next and was hyped up to the heavens,after a decent match between rey mysterio and edge at royal rumble plenty was expected as they went toe to toe again.This match didnt deliver in truth,rey rey seemed to acquire an injury that limited his force and edge was in control for far too long,somewhat of a let down but a superb finish to a match that when you consider the hype and hysteria surrounding it collasped a little.
The WWE championship was up for grabs next as the champ randy orton went up against a man on a mission in john cena,the crowd were superb here really giving the match a high sense of quality and the wrestlers responded brilliantly to create a real firecracker of a contest,this was a brawl,a skilled match,the works dear readers,everything you could want,the ending may not please many but when the option is there to cheat then go for it,a great match,which leaves one final match,oh yes ,another elmination chamber,this time featuring the Raw superstars,the winner getting a chance at their title in wrestlemania 24.
This match featured chris jericho,shawn michaels,triple H,umaga,JBL and jeff hardy and what a match this was,we had a samoan drop performed on two wrestlers at the same time by umaga which was mighty,we had umaga experiencing 4 stars finisher move in sequence ,we had blood,we had sweat ,we had a frantic crowd and a superb winner,this match was blinding,it really was.
The dvd extras in events that arent the main four can still be a bit cheap and here is no exception,we get shawn michaels talking to flair after the event finished and thats all,yes thats all,but this is still a very good event that featured three titles,a career threatening match,no ladies match to grind us to sleep and two elimination chambers,even those who are greedy would have to say that this is superb,a great event.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)