Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weak transfer for one of the seasons best new series
First of all here's what you want to know. This is a three disc set that's region free! Yes, it will play on your UK PS3 or Blu-ray player. This set has subtitles and a few extras. They include some small features, a gag reel and deleted scenes. There's thirteen episodes which are spread across three discs. Seven episodes on disc one and three episodes on disc two...
Published on 9 Nov 2008 by Film Buff

versus
3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not funny...seriously!
There are an awful lot of 5 star reviews for this series, mostly on the basis of "It's side-splittingly funny" (it isn't), or "Yvonne Strahovsky is really hot" ( the picture on the DVD box does her some favours)....but I just can't see it. It's also been described as being as exciting as 24, with comedy thrown in, but I am guessing this is from people who haven't really...
Published on 4 Jun 2011 by C. J. Gornall


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weak transfer for one of the seasons best new series, 9 Nov 2008
By 
Film Buff (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
First of all here's what you want to know. This is a three disc set that's region free! Yes, it will play on your UK PS3 or Blu-ray player. This set has subtitles and a few extras. They include some small features, a gag reel and deleted scenes. There's thirteen episodes which are spread across three discs. Seven episodes on disc one and three episodes on disc two and three. Why didn't they just put four episodes on each disc? The sound is perfectly fine and is upgraded from the standard 2.0 Dolby on televison to 5.1 However the picture isn't great. It's a three star transfer that's hampered with grain throughout. It looks better then the television broadcasts but not as good as other warner releases like Smallville. Some of the scenes stand out and occasionally it felt like I was watching a decent HD picture. But most of the time it's not that much sharper then standard DVD. It's a shame that this transfer isn't in the same league as demo discs like Enchanted and I Robot. But it's worth buying if you're a fan and is the best picture available of the NBC series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure escapist joy!, 8 July 2009
By 
M. Gardner "Afro Matt" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Taking the secret world of the spy and turning it on its head, Chuck (Zachary Levi in a career-making turn) is all about a nerdy sales assistant who one day unwittingly has all of the CIA and NSA's secret files downloaded into his brain. Now a walking database of informative espionage, he must be protected at all costs as he slowly finds himself being dragged further and further into his handlers' (the ever excellent Adam Baldwin and the extremely capable Yvonne Strahovski) world of danger, double crossing and occasional death.

Well there's the blurb out of the way.

This show has everything: humour, action, romance, twists, lies, excitement and things that go boom! Levi is frankly excellent, and in this casting Schwartz has managed not only to nail his demographic, but also make the character of Chuck almost universally likeable. Levi is so endearing that you are constantly rooting for him in life, love and laughs. He is matched by an excellent supporting cast. Adam Baldwin is cranky as ever and Yvonne Strahovski impresses not only on the eyes but also in terms of her character. Sarah, and particularly her relationship with Chuck, proves to be nearly central to everything. Although seen through Chuck's eyes, she is bound up in everything as the agency member increasingly torn between duty and desire. Sarah Lancaster is brilliant as Chuck's concerned sister, and Ryan McPartlin provides ample comic relief as her fiancee. The staff of Chuck's workplace - the Buy More - are all superbly cast, with Joshua Gomez's Morgan working the geek bromance comedy with effortless ease.

The concept is ridiculous, the situations often laughable; but this is the finest piece of escapist television I've seen in a while. The action is good enough to appease set-piece junkies. The comedy, whilst not perhaps always laugh-out-loud, is certainly well timed. The relationships between the characters and the onscreen chemistry is spot on. Slick, well executed and genre-spanning. Chuck is a well worthy addition to your boxset library. Let's just hope Season 2 gets released quickly over here on dvd too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 3 April 2009
This review is from: Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A friend recommended I watch this and lent me the box set. I read the blurb on the back and thought "what a load of crap!" My friend kept nagging me to watch it so after several weeks I put it on. Pure brilliance! I was in stitches with laughter and my neighbour could hear me laughing through the walls.
I couldn't stop watching. I think I managed all the episodes in 3 days.

Adam Baldwin is my favourite. He's brilliant in his role as the snarly NSA agent. All the characters work well together and although the plot lines are a bit whacky, who cares??

If you're unsure, like I was - give it a go and watch it! You will not regret it.

I just wish season 2 would hurry up and get released!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great...fun...clever, 7 July 2008
By 
David (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Escape to Chuck.

No doubt the idea is preposterous, but the human brain is only 18% used - may be it could be used to store more. What makes this great is the script and the characters. The key characters seem to have had lots of fun and are spot on. Even the side characters (Chuck's work mates) are great.

You need to have an inside knowledge of the Star Wars / Sci-fi / Video game generation to spot some of the great one liners.

Adam Baldwin's snarling NSA agent is pure genius.

Look forward to the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Fun, 6 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I'll admit to liking shows about dysfunctional geeks (like The Big Bang Theory). However, I hesitated for quite a while before buying this - after all, the plot premise seemed totally daft (guy accidentally gets super-computer sized intelligence database downloaded into his brain..). But it's this device that sets-up the show's irreverant, tongue-firmly-in-cheek take on the spy/secret agent genre - a great blend of laughs, action and romance.

As others have noted, it's Levi who really makes the show what it is: his Chuck is goofy, likeable, decent, yet vulnerable, and gives us a geek-everyman we can really root for. Strahovski is also very effective as the glamorous, tough-cookie super agent who, despite all expectations, comes to fall for our unassuming hero. Adam Baldwin's po-faced, borderline psycho Casey is a small slice of comic genius, played with a perfect straigh face. The rest of the ensemble are equally good, and keep the show humming along beautifully, even when the focus temporarily moves from Chuck/Sarah/Casey.

I'm now into the second season, and it just seems to get better - go Chuck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT is what IT is, 31 July 2008
By 
Kiba (Belfast, NI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Chuck is what it is. It doesn't warrant a long ranting review about its short-comings and unrealistic plot. It is just a fun, chill out and have a laugh tv series. It isn't supposed to be taken too seriously. A bit of a True Lies meets Jake 2.0.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY & ENJOY!, 18 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Laughter guaranteed all the way through. Zachary Levi hilarious as the nerdy store salesman inadvertently transformed into a human computer. Locked in his mind are the country's top secrets, he now a much sought after commodity. Yvonne Strahovski and Adam Baldwin star as his two rival handlers assigned to protect him from America's enemies and, when necessary, to press him into service. Top notch performances. Hilarious stunts. Serious moments too - as when Chuck discovers the real reason for his expulsion from college. Many moments to treasure - not least the tango! Bonuses too. What more could one want?

Again thanks to fellow reviewers, whose praise alerted me to a series I would otherwise have missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season One, 15 Jan 2010
By 
underthethumb (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I suspect that Chuck is a little like Marmite - you'll either love it or hate it. I sat watching the pilot episode entralled, laughing out loud and thoroughly enjoying it whereas my wife just sat there, walking out half way through muttering about "absolute rubbish". It definitely helps if you have an inner geek to set free while you watch, otherwise you're not likely to find a lot of the humour of behaviour of the characters funny.

Zachary Levi and Yvonne Strahovski are perfectly cast and the on screen chemistry between the two really adds to the series. Sarah Lancaster and Joshua Gomez are also very good in their supporting roles; only Adam Baldwin fails for me as he doesn't convince as an NSA agent.

The series has something for everyone given a chance - action, humour, slow burning romance.

This box set contains all thirteen of episodes of the first season along with plenty of extras including additional scenes, a gag reel, casting sessions and a making of.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It sounds odd, but it's pure genius, 3 Jun 2008
This review is from: Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The idea of a nerd becoming the hero of the world might seem a bit far-fetched, and frankly, it is. But the reason for watching this show is not to be amazed by the plot or suspense but to enjoy a bit of tongue-in-cheek action adventure where the inner child can escape in a world of impossible plots and hot secret agents. Chuck is not meant as anything serious, nor is it meant as an out-and-out comedy. Don't expect either but merely enjoy the spy meets real wrold genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Famtastic series, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Like the characters and the plot. A very good mix of humour, excitement, romance and adventure - with some great twists thrown in :-). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008]
Chuck: Season 1 [DVD] [2008] by Zachary Levi (DVD - 2008)
6.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews